Tarte Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Tinted Moisturizer

4.1

62 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

All shades contain:
5% Titanium Dioxide , 5% Zinc Oxide. Other Ingredients: Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Stearic Acid, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Saccharum Offcinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Root Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Leaf Extract, Phytantriol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Tretrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Boron Nitride, Palmitic Acid, Dextrin Palmitate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol. (+/-): Iron Oxides, Mica, Ultramarines (From Sephora's Ingredient List)


on 9/30/2014 5:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

After hearing all the raving about Tarte make up,I decided to give this product a shot since I couldn't stand my old powder anymore (wrong colour,chalky look).
Even though it's on the pricey side,you need quite little product to cover the whole face. It is super easy to apply using fingers or a foundation brush. Gives a natural,healthy and glowing skin look.
Excellent if you have dry patched on your face or acne spots healing and redness,this moisturizer covered my problem zones very well,I would say that 80% of the issue was gone & setting it up with some powder wasn't necessary.
I put Tarte moisturizer on at 15 o'clock,went out,got home at 2 at night and my make up still looked very neat,but since I have oily skin,my face needed a bit of blotting,I am sure that setting this moisturizer with some powder would help to control the oiliness.
Overall,I am very happy I gave it a shot. Well done,Tarte!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/15/2014 1:34:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I found this on my shelf because I forgot I had bought it during a tarte sale. I had thrown away the box so I had no idea what it does or is supposed to do. I squeezed it and a bit of yellow oil came out and also some stuff that looked like foundation. I figured it had separated a little and it smelled fine so I used it on my face. Well, hello dewey finish! It evened out my skintone a bit and had a very fresh natural look, so I assume it's tinted moisturizer. I welcomed its bit of moisturizing because I had been testing out this new Lancome Visionnaire foundation (expensive and drying but nice finish and thin buildable coverage) which had created several dry patchy areas. With this tinted moisturizer my skin looks luminous and it doesn't get caught in the fine lines that also had been acting up due to the dryness of the Lancome. So I just look fresh. Still needs concealer and is NOT full coverage or even medium coverage. Nice for what it is and does look illuminated. I wouldn't call it a BB though. I'm using a Korean BB cream and it is quite different in look.


on 6/19/2014 11:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this under the impression that it was full coverage, which made me disappointed at first because it barely covers my blemishes. I kept it anyway because it works so well as a moisturizer. It has sunscreen added in it as well which is a plus. I tend to wear it to the beach because I can put it on once and it lasts all day. I brought it on my vacation and my face didn't burn or dry out at all. As for the shades, there isn't much of a selection. I was given the light shade (agent 06) by the person at Ulta which I was a surprised at since I'm pretty pale. However, the website says ivory (agent 02) has pink undertones and the light has yellow undertones so I understand why I wasn't given ivory. It is a bit too yellow in the winter when I'm not outside all the time but ivory wouldn't look right either. Still a good product, even though it is expensive, one tube can last a long time. I'd buy it again unless I find something better.


on 5/24/2014 1:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i really loved this ugghh. The finish is beautiful and natural, the coverage is natural and light, it can easily be applied with fingers and looks wonderful, never needs a primer,it feels and goes on like a light lotion (does not emphasize dry patches, perfect amount of moisterizing for my skin so that it looks luminous but never greasy)its beautifulll!!! BUT after two and a half weeks of using this i broke out alittle (not a lot but i got a few small blemishes) which i really don't tolerate. it did break me out a lot less then eveything i've ever tried though. i can still use it withought breaking out as long as i don't use it too consistently which i love since i can use it on the weekends and such. of course my skin is ultra sensitive and acne prone so it might not break out others..


on 1/15/2014 9:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Black

I would comment this product is highly recommended for people who are looking for a light coverage foundation as it does not cover pimple scars, at same time, it moisturize the skin with a flawless look. Additionally it does not clog my pores even a long day wear of this tarte tinted moisturizer. Love it! I have med fair skin to fair skin with yellow undertone however I bought a tone lighter (ivory, formerly agent 02) as it will oxidize after a whole day out as I am in an asia humid country. It would compliment if you use a primer before application so the foundation can last whole day without any touch up! Definitely will purchase again as the price is almost same as laurier mercier.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2013 12:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Just got this last week and I must say I love it! I usually go for a full coverage foundation but wanted to try something a little "lighter" for my skin. I have fair skin with pink undertones and agent 00 is a perfect match. I always moisturize before applying and LOVE how it feels on my skin, doesn't feel cakey or heavy whatsoever, and I haven't noticed any breakouts. I apply it with a flat kabuki and blend it outward. Still have to use a concealer to cover blemishes but overall highly recommend this product if your looking for a lighter coverage, and another bonus is that it's beneficial for your skin!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2013 3:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I liked this tinted moisturizer because it was gentle on my skin and did not look chalky or fake. It goes on smoothly and has modest color, but you will not be able to actively covers blemishes with this product. This moisturizer is great for girls with oily or normal skin, but I believe those with dry skin (or who are undergoing an acne regiment) should use and additional moisturizer underneath. What is strange about this product is that it appears that different shades have different quantities of pigment. I have both Agent 00 and Agent 02, but it appears that Agent 02 is more intensely pigmented and offers more coverage. I do not know why this is. Overall, I enjoyed this product and I would purchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2013 5:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

okay, so i got the small version of this and at first i was amazed at the results. then i learned what a real bb was suppose to do and this does barley any of that. i started to loose respect for it then one day, i squeezed some on my hand, but a yellow liquid came out, i was so scared. i don't know what it was, all i know is that it isn't suppose to be there. anyone else notice this?


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been on the hunt for a new foundation, and this product ends my search! It's hard for me to find products fair enought for my pale skin, but both shades 00 and 02 are light enough for me. I have never used a tinted moisturizer before, but I love how natural the finish is on this. It doesn't feel like you are wearing anything. It doesn't cover acne, so you will still need concealer. I still get a bit oily halfway through the day, but less so than with other foundations I've tried. The price is a bit expensive at $38, but it should last me quite a while and it's definitely worth it. Overall I highly reccomend this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2013 12:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have sensitive, combination skin that is relatively clear and I don't like wearing a lot of makeup so I wanted to give this a try since it's very natural. I have olive skin with yellow undertones and the color Veil is perfect for me. It does give buildable coverage and lasted about 4-5 hours on me without a primer. I really like the dewy finish it gives and it doesn't make me too shiny or oily. There is a tad bit of shimmer in it but it's not noticeable really. I would definitely recommend for those who don't need much coverage and like a more natural look. It did not make my skin break out at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top