Essie • French Affair • Polishes

rated 3.4(33 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 5/25/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

French Affair is a cool-toned pink with a lavender undertone. It's one of those classic pinks, and looks absolutely amazing with a layer of Kisses and Bises over the top. It's very similar to 'Mod About You' by OPI, but the latter has more of a white undertone to it, so they're not the same. Still, you can't have too many pinks! Application is okay, 2 coats and you're good to go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SavageGirl87 on 4/13/2013 9:57:00 PM more reviews by SavageGirl87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my go-to polish right now, very work-appropriate and classic. It goes on okay, and is just a great color. I think it will stay as a go-to color for a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CheekyBo on 10/24/2012 3:39:00 PM more reviews by CheekyBo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is my absolute favorite Nail color ever! It is a milky pink with a undertone of lavender. It takes about 2 coats for it to become opaque. I just LOVE this color so much.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kurls315 on 10/10/2012 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Kurls315

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Beautiful milky pink color, but it stops there. It's very streaky, even after second coat. You will need at least 3 coats for opaque coverage. Takes long to dry. A bit disappointing to say the least.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 10/3/2012 9:59:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Considering I usually love Essie pastels, this is a big disappointment. It tries to be an opaque, milky lavender-pink, but it's very very streaky and doesn't cover evenly even after two coats. I also don't like the opaque, milky finish.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jaymemarie on 8/5/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by jaymemarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

French Affair is a cool, bubblegum pink cream polish. It's super cute and girly on my nails but I have such a love-hate relationship with it, mostly because of the formula issues.

The polish applies very streaky and typically takes 4 costs to even out. It also has an unusually long dry time and tends to bubble because of the awkward formula consistency. The polish itself is very thin and tends to pool on the edges of my nail. Because it requires so many coats, this results in really thick layers of polish on the sides and a lot of peeling. It is a nice opaque color but I don't have to patience to deal with French Affair. For a $7 polish, Essie dissapointed me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dizzielittlerascal on 5/20/2012 9:03:00 AM more reviews by dizzielittlerascal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

G'ah! Normally I love Essie polishes, but not this one. The colour is like bright strawberry bonbons! It takes at least 3 coats to get a colour similar to what's in the bottle but the results are not good. Uneven, streaky and generally messy. Why cant Essie be more consistent with their polishes?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 demmer on 4/2/2012 8:45:00 AM more reviews by demmer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

The formulation of this nail polish is rubbish, it's thin and thus floods my cuticles no matter how lightly I load the brush and it's still streaky after three coats, regardless of how thick/thin I make the layers.

Im very disappointed because the cool toned pink, almost bubblegum, colour is so cute and fun for Spring/Summer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 uponbluemoon on 3/24/2012 2:49:00 PM more reviews by uponbluemoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very cool-toned cotton candy pink. Color-wise, i'm not in love, especially on my slightly warm skin tone. Application was a bit streaky, I applied 2 coats very carefully for opacity. Overall, I wouldn't buy this again, not very flattering on me, and the color is too Barbie-esque.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissRaffix3 on 3/21/2012 2:06:00 PM more reviews by MissRaffix3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this color. A very pretty light pink. And even though Essie is a salon brand, I find this nail polish frustrating to apply. If you apply it thin, it often leaves streaks... even with two coats. But if you apply it a bit thicker, it takes a long time to dry and smudges easily. So for about $8 a bottle, it's not the best. I've used inexpensive brands and gotten better results.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products