The Body Shop • Cucumber Refreshening Water • Toners

rated 2.7(9 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 MissJexie on 8/17/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by MissJexie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this toner because it seems like something that would be gentle, and effective on my skin. This looks very refreshing and smells like fresh cut cucumbers. Upon applying the toner it doesn't burn or tingle like a typical toner, but does feel more like water. however, as the product started to dry, my skin began to burn pretty intensely. I do not have sensitive skin, so I assumed it was just a "tingle" that a toner was supposed to give. When I looked into the mirror my face was VERY red. It was almost a bit scary because that has never happened to me before. You could actually see the line around my eye area of where I applied/didn't apply the product. For a product that APPEARS to be gentle (I mean, "cucumber refreshening water" just SOUNDS natural and gentle) it has irritated my non-sensitive skin like nothing I've ever put on my face before. While it smells nice and I really wanted to love this, I will be throwing it away and I would definitely not recommend or repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pinkidea on 7/14/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by pinkidea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was attracted by it's clear packing, fresh smell and affordable price. However, i won't buy it again, cos it is too irritate for my sensitive skin . It made me like a tomato.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 emigyaru on 2/5/2012 2:30:00 AM more reviews by emigyaru

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I read many good reviews about this product before purchasing it; but I can't understand the hype. I don't like the sticky feeling I get after I use it. And it does absolutely nothing for my skin. ;[ But I do like the refreshing scent. Therefore, not wanting to waste this product - I transferred it over to a small spray bottle and bring it with me when I work our and spritz it on my face a few times to cool down and feel "refreshed". It also doesn't feel as sticky this way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 1/23/2012 1:21:00 AM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Overpriced for what it's worth. I like the gentle soothing nature of this toner, but I hated the sticky residue it leaves behind on my skin. It smells fresh/clean and I can see what it picks up on a cotton pad afterwards. It's very cooling on the skin and luckily didn't irritate (like some toners can). Won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jiafwang on 9/6/2011 8:27:00 PM more reviews by jiafwang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just received my package from the body shop and was very excited to try this product. I took a shower and put the toner on my face. I have oily skin so this product works great for me. I don't have sensitive skin so I can't tell if it irritates people with sensitive skin. However, after I use this product, out of curiosity, I peeled off the sticker on the side and try to look up the ingredients. I was so shocked to discovered that this product contains not only one, but four ingredients belong to a class of chemical called paraben. In case you wonder why some of the skin care products you saw in the market state "paraben free," you might want to google it to find out how paraben is linked to breast cancer.
Before I made my purchase, I was looking at the ingredients and thought they are pretty natural. What I didn't know is the body shop website just simply erase the non-safe ingredients, what a shame :-( After a few google, I am able to find the full list of ingredients from other website. As you can see, the last four ingredients are parabens.

Ingredients:
Water (Solvent/Diluent), Rosa Centifolia Flower Water (Natural Additive), Polysorbate 20 (Emulsifier), Sodium PCA (Humectant), Alcohol Denat. (Solvent/Diluent), Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Cucumber (Cucumis Sativus) Juice (Natural Additive), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Fragrance (Fragrance), Hexyl Cinnamal (Fragrance Ingredient), Glycerin (Humectant), Citric Acid (pH Adjuster), Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract (Natural Additive), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Geraniol (Fragrance Ingredient), Methylparaben (Preservative), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Ingredient), Butylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Isobutylparaben (Preservative), Propylparaben (Preservative).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NewWave on 9/1/2011 2:05:00 AM more reviews by NewWave

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this after reading good reviews about this toner being mild and non-drying. Since I ran out of my favourite toner (Cleansing water Decleor) I decided to give it a try since it was so much cheaper and Body Shop had it on sale at the time.I regret I didn't read the ingredients list while still in a shop. It does contain alcohol and therefore seemed to be drying for my sensitive skin with some dry patches on my chin. Toner smells nice and all but I had to give it to my boyfriend to finish the bottle. He managed to use it up, but didn't like it that much because of the sticky residue it leaves on the skin surface. Won't repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peacencarrots on 6/24/2011 9:20:00 PM more reviews by peacencarrots

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to include a toner into my skincare regime, but the one my mom gave me smelled wayyyyy too much like alcohol and left my skin feeling tight and dry.
This cucumber water smells SOOOO nice, it doesn't smell like alcohol at all, and it smells refreshing and cool.
When I used it after I washed my face, my skin did feel refreshed, and it did feel nice and clean, but so would a nice spritz of regular cool water. My point is, I don't actually know how effective or good for your skin this toner is.
But my skin didn't feel tight or dry, it felt nice and moist (but also a bit sticky - but not too sticky!)
I would recommend this because it does seem like a very natural product, and it's definitely mild enough yet not too weak for my skin :)
It's usually $5.99 but try to catch the Body Shop on a sale! It'll be so worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summerrain1994 on 4/21/2011 11:53:00 PM more reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this solely for the reason that it doesn't smell horribly like alcohol (or at all). It smelled really fresh - basically like crisp cucumbers and water!
I purchased this for around $6 and really like it as a toner. It doesn't really do too much - it removes off any excess make-up you left behind in cleansing and makes my skin feel smooth and moist. Other than that, it doesn't reduce acne or scarring (it doesn't claim to do that, though)
However, it's really nice and gentle on the skin, and that's why I really like it and would repurchase. Unfortunately, my Body Shop (Canada) doesn't seem to carry it anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dea2407 on 4/4/2011 8:01:00 AM more reviews by dea2407

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the Body Shop's classics, which was relaunched in 2010 (in Europe). They also added Community Trade Aloe Vera to the formula. Contains cucumber extract, witch hazel and rose water.
This may not be the cheapest toner, but it really works great! The smell is delicious and soft. It works perfect for my combination skin - removes the oiliness and doesn't dry out at the same time. (I use it after my cleanser two times a day!) I'm very satisfied with it and I will buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More The Body Shop products

More Toners products