Unlisted Brand • Headkandy Hair Extensions • Hair

rated 3.2(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 wwestmoreland on 7/10/2014 8:12:00 PM more reviews by wwestmoreland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

HeadKandy is definitely the best extension brand around. I have been wearing extensions for 6 years and have tried them all, my opinion:

HeadKandy: The best quality and selection of colors (especially if you're blonde). I wear them everyday -- and I usually have to replace every 4 months or so. However they don't curl as well as I would like - the curls don't stay like they used to. Not sure if this has to do with the takeover by DirtyLooks? I still order the HeadKandy 10 piece set.

Luxy: My second favorite. Hair is good quality, shipping is super fast, I love their customer service - professional and nice. Wish they had more blonde shades though - because I am in between colors. Hair from Luxy seems to last a long time too. doesn't matt or frizz as easily as others.

My Fantasy Hair: Sadly, the worst. Hair was stringy, not Remy hair, really thin at the ends and wouldn't hold a curl. The hair was also strangely dry -- was almost like wispy. I would not buy these again. I attempted to contact customer service and they were very unprofessional - told me to remove my review from Makeup Ally or they would sue me etc. I will not deal with them again. Crappy product and crappier customer service.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SideshowCouture on 6/2/2014 3:26:00 PM more reviews by SideshowCouture

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Here is a video I just made to show them





I got the Bobby Glam quad weft 220g extension set in toasted highlights. They are super soft & thick from top to bottom. Really love them but I have to get a lighter set to match platinum hair. Loving the colors mixed in the set for a natural look for someone with lowlights & highlights. I haven't got to ever wear them but I will when I get my new color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxtinax on 5/18/2014 6:35:00 AM more reviews by xoxtinax

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay so I am obsessed with hair. i always buy hair extensions and i was on the search for some new hair extensions after I bought some poor quality ones online for $90 (I don't remember where). I I wanted to buy 24-26 inches. I soon realized hardly any places have extensions that long. So I ended up looking at Bellami, myfantasy hair, and dirty looks (headkandy). I wanted some that would give me a little tester hair strip since I didn't want to fall into that synthetic hair trap again. So I had to choose between Bellami and Dirty Looks. I saw a TON of reviews on Bellami but I didn't see very many on Dirty Looks, but I ended up choosing them just because i felt like all of Bellami's reviews were all like paid reviews or something. I ordered them. It was like $199. I work hard for my money, i work in healthcare and I wanted to get something nice for myself. I received them in about a week since they come from the UK and i live in California. When i received them, i only opened the tester portion. They were the wrong color. But the hair was silky smooth, super thick and very very real. It did not feel like that synthetic hair. I washed them before i dyed them, the hair did not mat at all. There is hardly any shedding and i even layered them because they are too long. The hair dye took perfectly and now they are the perfect shade of blonde. If you are looking for hair and an honest non-paid opinion, try dirty looks. If u don't like the color, texture, length or whatever about the hair, they give you a tester strip just to see if you like them. You can always return them. I just want to save someone the trouble of buying something they aren't gonna like. :) its happened to me. Trust me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fudgestix on 4/4/2014 11:57:00 AM more reviews by fudgestix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

These were my first set of real hair extensions, ever, so I didn't know what to expect when I got them. I think I bought them in the dyable set they have, in 24inches quad weft and they were absolutely beautiful when I got them. Silky smooth, brushed through easily, kinda had a chemical smell. Wore them, they were fine until about the middle of the day where the hair at the nape of my neck would start tangling. Now I've heard some people say it was a normal thing for extensions on a hot day, so I disregarded that.

Then comes time to wash the extensions for the first time and man did they shed. Hair was no longer shiny after washing, it air dried wavy, which I didn't mind. The hair also became several times frizzier after washing. The ends were breaking off, not a good experience. After that first wash it became difficult to take the extensions out of my hair, I had to kind of rip them out, luckily my own hair is stronger and so it didn't pull out my real hair. Now I know extensions will shed a little bit, but these extensions have thinned out to less than half of what they originally were by 4 months. Every time I brushed the hair, clumps of hair would come out and I'd have to take the hair out of the brush/comb.

I heard all the good reviews about these extensions, and apparently the company was bought out or changed the website, I don't really know what happened but supposedly the good reviews were the older reviews from the former company.

In short, would not reccomend, atleast judging from the set I got. (This is coming from a first time extension wearer)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Msbambi on 2/8/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Msbambi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

OMG! I am soooooo disappointed. I have previously ordered from Headkandy.co.uk and I was super impressed. They were soft, silky, the colour matched perfectly and they reflected light in a way the only healthy hair can (I'm a hairstylist - I know healthy hair when I see it!). So anyway the initial length was too long for my hair. I tried them out once - for 5 minutes at home,and then put them away in their original packaging to wear when my hair finally gets long enough. I decided to get a slightly shorter length. Again - perfect quality - this was in June 2013.

Since it was my first set of extensions they obviously took a bit of a beating (trial and error of a first time extension user I suppose). Anyhow I decided to get another set. When I entered the website address into the browser it came up as an unfound domain name or similar. I nearly sheds a tear lol. Googled headkandy and and a "dirtylooks" website popped up. I saw that they had hk extension. I hoped that they were the original headkandy extensions I adored. To be sure I sent them an email asking what's going on. I got a prompt reply telling me that the extensions were exactly the same only that dirty looks now distribute them. I was relieved - I was a FOOL!

So I ordered the exact same set as before, and they arrived yesterday! When I opened the box marked HK I Was surprised to find that there was something slightly off about the packaging. The hair net had a hole and it seemed that some of the hair had been trapped in the seal. It's nothing major but compared to the previous packaging it was definitely substandard. So anyway I opened the test strand. What immediately struck me was the smell. Girls, it was the smell of cheap! You know, the same smell as mass produced clothing etc. how could this be!? I didn't pay for cheap! I paid for top quality! I'm from South Africa the rate of exchange was, at time of purchase 18,89ZAR-1£ and I paid 99,99£. That is the equivalent to minimum wage salary in SA, my friends! It gets worse - they felt awful! Dry as the Sahara desert and I could see they had the potential for matting more than Mary's little lamb! Also some of the hair looked like it had been singed. I doubt whether or not the are even 100% real human hair extensions! I compared them to my previous extensions, the ones I stored - in perfect condition - these are definitely second rate in comparison. No shine. No silky feel. Just broken hair and tangles!

It took me a long time to research the best quality brand of extensions! It's not an easy task either, because anyone can write a false review! So I'm totally lost now - back to the drawing board!
I will definitely be returning these crap extensions! And I'll also definitely be emailing them to have a good rant! I do not take lightly to liars who want to steal my money! I pay extra for quality and that's what I expect!

PS I am a real person with no affiliation to any hair extension company! Consumers need to stick together with regards to phony reviews and bogus promises from money hungry, lying companies! SAVE YOUR MONEY GIRLS - RATHER PAY ONCE FOR QUALITY THAN PAY TWICE FOR INFERIOR, LOW-GRADE PRODUCTS!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatherineSolo on 1/27/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by CatherineSolo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

These are terrible, I won't lie. They smell horrific, synthetic. The colour I ordered was a dark brown, and it actually was a medium brown in person. I had to have my hair coloured to match them, which was MORE money. I tried to dye them, and the dye didn't show up much. They are also NOT SOFT AT ALL. They are coarse and rough, and so tangly I can't really wear them. I shouldn't have bought these. These were my first extensions and I saved up for them, and it was a bad experience. A total waste of money, and they have a terrible return policy (if you open the package, you can't return them).
Next time, I'm going with something less expensive (if I can save the money up again... GRRRRRRRR)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Xzarex on 1/7/2014 7:50:00 PM more reviews by Xzarex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I HATE HATE HATE HATEE these extensions!!! I wish I read the reviews on here before buying them because everywhere else people kept saying how amazing these were. Well they are crap quality. I've had $40 hair extensions that are better quality than these.

The smell:
As another reviewer commented, these smell disgusting. I have to use extremely perfumed shampoo and conditioner to stand wearing these and the smell never goes away fully. I bought mine about a year ago and have only worn them 10-15 times.

The cost:
I bought the Parisian highlights for $210 w/o shipping. You can decide for yourself whether or not that's a reasonable price to pay for a tangled mass

The shipping:
This is the ONLY thing I appreciate from HK, I bought them and a week later they arrived. Amazing shipping considering I'm in Canada and everything takes about 2 weeks to a month to arrive.

How they deal with dye:
They don't. Say good bye to wearable bad quality hair extensions and hello to shed mania.

The clips:
They suck. I mean, they're not the worst but for $210 I would expect these to never fall out of my hair... Which they do.

The hair:
Is NOT human hair and if it actually is then they must process it to hell. After a couple washes the hair kept matting and I would have to brush it every 1-2 hours to keep it looking natural.

Over all:
Just don't buy hair extensions online, go to your local salon or Sally's and buy a brand from there. I bought my second pair of Euronext hair extensions from Sally's not too long ago and I can say that they are soo much better (and cheaper) than HK. I'm still kinda shocked people are selling this low quality hair for $210 and people keep buying them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Highdee25 on 12/6/2013 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Highdee25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought these extensions about a year+ ago, although I'm not positive on the exact color, I know they were black. First off, the packaging was great! Super cute and well packaged and the shipping was FAST! when I first got them they were SO Nice! Soft, silky and thick! HOWEVER, the smell was so gross!!! I bought the 24-26 inch extensions and at first they were too long so I Did end up trimming them so that they wouldn't look so fake...OK, back to the smell, they smelled so bad and full of chemicals that I had to wash them at least 3 times before wearing them so that I wouldn't feel self cautious due to the smell...BIG MISTAKE. Once I washed them they went to crap! They matted and tangled really bad while in my hair, I was literally ripping them out of my hair! Needless to say, the smell never really went away; I recently found them stored away in their original packaging and when I went to open it, the smell was JUST AS BAD as the first time I got them. I honestly did only wear them 2-3 times and I regret spending $200 of my birthday money on these low quality hair extensions - that claim to be real.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rose1204 on 9/14/2013 5:53:00 PM more reviews by Rose1204

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Before I buy something I always want to read reviews on the product. So that's what I did... I searched for YouTube reviews and the majority of the videos were a thumbs up on the hair extensions and I got super excited! Buuutttt.... I then searched for reviews on google for more info on these extensions, and the majority of the reviews I was reading were BAD! Sooo I was having doubts on them. I still decided to order them. I mean if you don't try a product out for yourself then you'll NEVER know... Right?

I ordered them on a Friday for I think $200, maybe a little over because of the shipping. I ordered my hair extensions in the color "MANHATTAN HIGHLIGHTED BLONDE" and 24-26 inches.
Okayy... Thursday of next week I got them! SUPER FAST SHIPPING, which is a PLUS!!! (I live in the US.) They came all wrapped up and cute in a purple box. I couldn't wait to wear them! But I had to dye my hair first of all to match them. (I had a light brown color but wanted the manhattan highlighted blonde color for my hair)

After I got my hair matched with the extensions I started wearing them. Although I noticed they were shedding A LOT!!! When I would put my fingers through them some strands of hair would tag a long with my fingers and also tangle easily!! Though, I didn't pay much attention at that TIME because I didn't want to HATE them... LOL.. because they were such a pretty color and long. ANYWAYSS... soo once I washed them a month later or so... they TANGLEDD SOOO MUCH after that. Now here I am 3-4 months later and enough was enough! I took care of them as much as possible and I might not be a professional with hair extensions but when you have worn extensions for 4 years now.. of course you can totally tell what kind of hair is REAL. I am not saying HEADKANDY hair extensions TOTALLY SUCKS... I just know they are NOT 100% REAL HUMAN HAIR.
I guess you just get lucky if you do get Headkandy hair extensions that are worth it.
I will DEFINITLY NEVER order from this company EVER EVER again..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kbry on 8/18/2013 5:37:00 PM more reviews by kbry

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Okay, I bought these two different times. The first time, I loved the extensions. I bought a volumizer weft and then a track to go with it. They lasted a good while and were very thick. I never noticed anything about them that wasn't great. Then, I bought some others and there were fly away hairs and I didn't like the texture at all. I couldn't really get them to look right because they were to fly away. Overall, I would say these are good but I was a little worried when I recently bought the two wefts. I think the hair quality is pretty good though. I think you would be okay with this brand more than most.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products