John Frieda • Go Blonder Lightening Spray • Hair Treatments

rated 2.6(153 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 JamieRayn on 6/23/2014 12:11:00 PM more reviews by JamieRayn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay… So I've been using this product and till now I've been quite happy with it. I have naturally dark blonde hair that has pretty highlights in the sunlight but i wanted it a bit lighter. NOT a platinum blonde but a medium gold blonde. So I've been using this every other week or so and blow drying it. No dramatic lightening effect and afterwards friends have always told me that my hair smells nice. So Positive i guess…

So just out of interest i looked it up here today. And I saw all of the damn bad reviews here. And now I'm worried. Like REALLY REALLY REALLY worried. You see, i live in germany and next year I'm going to California for an exchange year and I'm pretty excited. Now I'm really worried that by the time I'm there my hair will look like SHIT!

So many of you have been writing that their hair fell out… And now that i think about it mine might have been too. I've noticed it sure but i thought that it was due to the fact that i lack iron in my blood. Well, MAYBE ITS BECAUSE OF THIS SHITTY PRODUCT. Also my hair used to be glossy and wavy and people always told me how pretty and thick my hair was… Now i don't know if I'm imagining it or if my hair's getting thinner. I will start taking iron pills again and throw the damn thing in the garbage. Wait, let me get up right now and do it.

Ok so its in the garbage now. NEVER EVER EVER gonna color my hair again… Except with chamomile tea or something.

So please trust everyone here and don't ever ever even look at it in the shop!

Emma <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 imme101 on 6/19/2014 4:26:00 AM more reviews by imme101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This. Product. Is. Terrible.
Do not buy!!!
So last year i desperately wanted to die my hair a lighter blonde as my blonde hair was starting to go brown however my mum insisted that i didn't. She then bought me this spray in December for my birthday to help lighten my hair instead of dying it. It gradually became lighter and lighter and i could see the results so i was very excited! I used it every time i washed my hair for the whole summer holidays, totally in love with the product. At this time, the last time i had gotten my hair cut was eight months ago and it was fine without any split ends up until that point. My hair suddenly became dry and brittle and i lost my beautiful shiny waves which instead became limp and frizzy. I then reluctantly got it cut (i lost three inches - my hair went from a couple of inches above my butt then instead to just above my boobs). I told myself i would never use that disgusting spray again...until i suddenly got terrible dark blonde regrowth. I then had to continue to use it which caused my hair to die further. At this point my hair was so short and frizzy i had to straighten it every day - of course leading to further damage! It has now been two months since i got my hair cut and i am going to have to get about another inch taken off. I am so furious. My hair went from being long, soft, wavy and gorgeous to being dry, limp, frizzy and a weird blonde with terrible regrowth. No matter what hair masks or treatments i use, my hair is dead. DO NOT BUY EVER.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mariaa13 on 5/10/2014 2:48:00 AM more reviews by mariaa13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

i honestly LOVE this stuff. it makes my hair so much lighter and its so easy to use all i really have to do is remember to spray it in my hair after i wash it and then iron my hair as usual. also i dont know if its just me but i feel like after i use this my hair looks a bit shinier ¿ it is pretty drying but not as much as other lightening sprays i have used. overall i absolutely love this and will continue to buy it until i no longer want light hair :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Snoowhite on 4/8/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by Snoowhite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It's very simple. Only use this if you have natural blonde hair. Don't be silly and think that this contains no peroxide because it does! How else could it lighten so much without it? Read the ingredients before you use this product, again it's not rocket science! There's nothing wrong with this product it's great! Use it properly with the shampoo and conditioner and you'll have no problems. Be smart people! I love this stuff :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GeorgiaArnold on 3/2/2014 2:28:00 PM more reviews by GeorgiaArnold

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD long natural medium brown hair. I used this product for 2 week in summer and i LOVED the results. I also thought that this would be just a temporary colour that would fade rather quickly until my roots started showing!
I didn't mind the roots at the start. Once i got a bit bored with the blonde hair i decided to go to my hairdressing salon and asked for them to dye it back to brown. The lady cut off a sample of my hair and tested the strip first and called me back later in the week with the results. She gave me bad news and told me that the brown hair dye had reacted badly with the John Frieda product and had turned my hair PINK! not only was the sample pink, it was also very BRITTLE and prone to BREAKAGE!
I had to grow out all the blonde that had been created by this product which took me 3 YEARS to get it just past shoulder length. I then decided to go back to the hair salon and got them to bleach my hair blonde because i was just fed up with how my hair was!
WILL NEVER BUY OR USE THIS PRODUCT EVER AGAIN! NOR WILL I EVER BUY ANY TYPE OF SUN-IN SPRAY SIMILAR TO THIS! THIS TREATMENT IS LIKE THE DEVIL IN THE BOTTLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hatejohnfireda on 2/17/2014 6:14:00 AM more reviews by hatejohnfireda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

So i am one of them who was wery impressed with the this stuff 2 years ago when i started using it. I was naturally dark blonde and one year of using it got me to platinum blonde all over. The colour was pretty good. So one summer day i woke up with my top hair broken off all around my head from 1-2 inch length. So i had one part of my hair with length to half of my back and the top of my hair only 1-2 inches long... it was pretty ugly. BUT i did not stop using it, because i liked the blonde and i thought it was still better than using bleaches or real hair colours (HOW dumb was i)? So i continued to use it... So afterr 2 years I FINALLY realized that it was really bad for my hair..

So to this point my hair was:
-gummy
-ALL of my top hair broken off in random places
-really dry
-porous
-felt and looked like it had burned
-the damaged short hair on top was fluffy and looked really bad
-much thinner than before using this s**t

So i finally i have stopped using it, but i have lost so much of my hair and it is in a terrible condition... I have tried so many products (nothing makes it better) and i have been to the hairdresser so many times for a cut, but the ends are still so bad. I would have to cut it to the length of 1 inch if i would want to get rid of all the damage..

So i just have to wait about 5 years to restore healthy hair because ofhorrile John Frieda product..

I also wrote a review on John Frieda homepage, but they did not accept the review, because obviously it was too bad for them...





3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 taryne721 on 2/4/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by taryne721

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Compeletly fried off my hair, someone asked me if I had cut bangs around my entire head. Its that bad, STAY AWAY!!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annaliiiisa on 1/16/2014 4:38:00 PM more reviews by annaliiiisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

With my bleached blonde hair it works well. Every now and then when i feel like renewing my root colour it helps to light and make the overall look more even and fresh. Even my hairdresser was impressed by the results!
But i wouldnt use it on a daily basis, cos i always feel my hair tend to get more frizzy and unruly, the texture changes cos of the peroxide. All and all the product works for what its made for just to be careful to use it not often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 1/9/2014 6:00:00 PM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine, thin naturally blonde hair with the underside of my hair naturally darker and this stuff really worked for me. It didn't leave it greasy or weighed down. The big thing was after 2 weeks my hair was noticeably blonder, I began getting compliments on the gorgeous color of blonde my hair turned into. My hair dresser couldn't get over the beautiful color of blonde my hair became. I stopped using it after 2 weeks since my hair had lightened to the shade I had wanted it at and after I stopped using it my hair for the past month has remained that same shade of blonde.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 brightonblonde on 11/25/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by brightonblonde

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

i can't be 100% sure but I think this has caused hair loss - NOT breakage as I've only used it every 2 months with good conditioning in between but my hair was much thicker at the start of the year and has been falling out from roots. I think this may have happened in the past too with other lightening products but it's hard to tell as it's not instant. Has anyone else suffered hair loss FROM ROOTS (not breakage lots of reviews say that but that's completely different) Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Treatments products