Too Faced Shadow Insurance - Candlelight

3.7

43 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/17/2015 11:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm having to re-write this review as time has gone on and despite my best efforts with this product, it just isn't great. It's quite thick, so it's difficult to blend out. If it goes on thickly it looks terrible on its own- a pale yellow shimmer is how I'd describe it. This colour just is not flattering, so wearing it alone is not an option for me. The shimmer has a tendency to highlight crepey areas on the eyelid if you are not careful. If you carefully apply a tiny amount of product to avoid a shimmer overload, then it is not enough to keep the eyeshadow fixed, and I've ended up with melting in the crease - which is what I was looking to avoid, of course. I prefer to use it under matte shadows as it is super shimmery under an already shimmery eyeshadow, and not so flattering on me. So already this rules out half my eyeshadows - not value for money. It works well enough to keep shadow from melting as long as you are not skimping with the application, but would be best for fans of shimmer.



on 1/7/2015 10:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I just love the Too Faced eye primers so when I saw this one I just had to have it. Initially I purchased this to wear as a base to intensify eye shadows and give them a bit more va-voom as well as an added gold shimmer...

So this does do a great job of staying put and keeping eye shadows crease free all day. I find I need to give it a little time to settle before applying shadows, if I start applying the shadows when the primer is still a little tacky they tend to drag and stick.

It does also help to intensify (some) eye shadow shades. But I don't get any gold shimmer coming through the shadows as I thought may be possible - shimmers and mattes once applied seem to wipe out the gold shimmer effect. Unless its a gold shade then it really comes into its own by adding extra definition. I have not tried wearing this on its own yet, it could look quite nice, I'm not sure if I will as I'm all about eye shadow palettes and look forward to daily eye looks with more than one shade :)

I'm happy with the primer and can see myself re-purchasing this along with the other TFSI formulas I love.


on 11/30/2014 5:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Yuck! This makes my eyelids look old and wrinkly. The glitter in this is just too much. Its like a glittery yellowish cream shadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2014 2:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been using it for a year now and it is a product that I really like.
Disadvantages: It is a bit difficult spreading it with the fingers because it's a little thick. I am 54 old and it's a bit bright for my age, because it stands out wrinkles. for that reason I use very little of it.
Advantages: I must say that the shadows last me hours intact. And I love the colour!

I definitely would buy it again.


on 3/1/2014 8:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am so disappointed. I love the regular Shadow Insurance and got this because it's just a gorgeous light golden/champagne color. It creased after 4 hours. No idea what happened but I never had this issue with the original.

Not only was my shadow creased badly but my liner was up to my brow bone...it literally appeared as if the primer made everything shift. I will not purchase this again and I am highly bummed about this primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2013 1:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm on a roll reviewing my favorite, must-have beauty products, and this Too Faced Shadow Insurance in Candlelight definitely goes on the HG list!

Application is simple - squeeze a tiny bit of the product out onto your fingertip, apply all over the eyelid from lash to brow and voilá - one's eyes are beautifully illuminated! This product is wonderful because it works alone to impart a nice, subtle highlight but also serves as a fantastic eyeshadow base. When I layer other shadows over it (typically powder), Shadow Insurance extends the staying power of any shadow by hours, it's really that good!

Candlelight gives a nice, golden glow that is a perfect natural highlighter for girls with medium-warm skintones. The other option (Glitter Glue?) looks like it might be a bit too much shine for daytime. Candlelight gives a really nice, subtle effect that is perfect for day or night.

The only downside of this product would be the price point. $20 for 0.35 oz seems a bit steep, but I have to say that a little goes a long way. I bought a tube over a year ago and I'm not even halfway through it, with moderate use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2013 4:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm really disapointed in this. I've been using it for a long time now, it lasts forever and I hate to waste it. I thought the color was pretty when I bought it, but maybe the texture's changed a little since then?? I put it on my lid then smooth it up to my brow. I have to apply my shadow carefully to cover all the primer, because it just doesn't look good. It's a little clumpy and difficult to work with. I don't like the tube it comes in.

It does help with shadow stay power/creasing.
I won't repurchase, but my sister loves the glitter glue one. She uses it every day. I had her try my candlelight (I wanted to give it away), but she didn't want it because hers is way better. haha


on 6/4/2013 8:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I would call this prettiness in a tube.... :) Women like getting dolled up but we dont want to put in effort. This is a primer AND pretty gold shimmery eyeshadow all in one. Because it is formulated as a primer, it will stay on ALL day, and I have the OILIEST eyelids ever. When I wear this alone, it gives me dimension in my eyes, but the shimmer isnt obvious at all. It just make my eyelids lit like a candlelight which was exactly what I was looking for. It is DEFINITELY NOT frosty, but just a light wash of gold shimmer color which is fantastic for summer, for the beach, on a warm day and you dont have to worry about it coming off. I love this product so much. It works REALLy well on warm asian skintones like mine, you will love it! :)


on 5/11/2013 6:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got this as part of the Natural Flirt collection. I don't wear makeup often but whenever I wear eyeshadow I use this. It took me a while to work out the best way to apply this - I use a tiny amount and massage it between my ring fingers. I then use one finger for each eye, gently patting the product across my eyelid and then blending it up to the browbone. There are soft shimmers in this product that look beautiful, making this product great for an effortless natural glow over the eyes. My eyelids are a little oily but not too bad and after a long day my eyeshadows may be slightly creased. Not so bad that it looks terrible but easily fixable by blending the little creased eyeshadows together with my ring finger - this gives me eyeshadow another few hours of life. I've found it lasts about 10 hours on me, depending on the level of activity I've been through in the day, before I need to check on it. However, I do think for the price there are better products out there so once I'm done with this I will be testing the UDPP and comparing it to the Etude House Eye 10 Primer which is a fraction of these high end products' prices.


on 5/1/2013 8:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love the original Shadow Insurance by Too Faced so I thought I would give the Candlelight version a try since it just looks so pretty to have on the lids as it peeks through your shadow. Big mistake. I don't understand why it does this but it creases so badly on me! the original did not crease even after 12 hours, while candlelight creased within a few hours of application. Returning and never buying it again.


Back to Top