Paula's Choice Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish

4.0

42 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Methyl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, PEG-100 Stearate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Glyceryl Stearate, Myristyl Myristate, Ceteareth-20, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Jesus Maria, this stuff actually works. It works SO WELL, I am worried I may finally begin to age. I always credited excess oil production for freezing my forehead and brow in time. I am an absolute oil slick. A shiny wonder. I could solve the energy crisis with my t-zone. I have much natural resource. You get the idea.

This keeps my t-zone dry and matte for hours. I do not mess with "blotting papers" because I can find "napkins" everywhere, and they all remove or rearrange your makeup, I find, no matter the marketing claim. This product is a light cream with MICROSPONGE TECHNOLOGY (so you know this happened in a laboratory filled with geniuses) and you use a little bit and TAP it gently on your sebaceous areas AFTER applying makeup. The cream is white but it turns out to look like nothing after you tap it on (but I am already white, so....).

I don't know what else to say because it is extremely simple to use, complicates nothing in your universe, and works. It is quite expensive, but you can do like me and order a bunch of samples.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 4/5/2015 10:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This primer did a great job of mattifying my oily and always shiny skin, probably better than any other primer that I've tried. It has a powdery, almost chalky finish. Unfortunately, when I tried to layer BB cream or foundation over it, I was left with a cakey mess. I tried several types of applications...fingers, brush, sponge...with the same results. I've never had this issue with any other primers. If you have fantastic skin that doesn't require foundation or BB cream, and just need something to control shine, this might be ideal for you. Otherwise, not recommended.


on 1/28/2015 11:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really liked this product, but it ended up breaking me out. :(

I bought some (very cheap!) samples of it from the Paula's Choice website and used it the way it is recommended - by patting it over top of your foundation, not underneath. I stippled it on with an ELF foundation brush. The first time I used it I put it underneath my foundation and it did not work well at all, so I recommend sticking to the instructions.

If it wasn't for the fact that it caused me to break out, I would give this product 5 stars because it worked GREAT. My skin is disgustingly oily, but this kept me totally matte (like, almost TOO matte - we're talking "just got done applying my makeup" matte) for 7-8 hours and it was only by the end of my 9-hour work day that my skin had the slightest bit of sheen (but like, a normal-human sheen, not an oil-slick sheen like I would usually have). I was really loving this until the 3rd day I was using it I noticed I had a little cluster of bumps on the apple of my cheek (normally don't get acne there). The next day one of them had become a huge red cystic zit and that's when I decided to stop using it.

This product has dimethicone, which isn't usually good for acne-prone skin. I was trying to be optimistic but ultimately no matter how well a product works, if it breaks me out I'm not going to keep using it :/. This could be great for someone with less acne-prone skin, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2015 12:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've just finished up the sample and I've ordered a whole tube. The secret to this is to use a SMALL pea-sized amount and "tap" it OVERTOP of your foundation/tinted moisturizer. It might feel like you're putting almost nothing on, but it dries to a powdery feeling finish and has kept my grease-monkey oil slick face soft and matte all day - better than any powder. I'm impressed! (it doesn't work if you use it under your foundation - it has to be the last step)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/20/2014 12:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've bought probably five samples of this and I'm waiting for a sale to give in a buy the full size. I have VERY oily skin. As in, five minutes after I wash my face my skin is oily. I'll put on a full face of makeup and half an hour later it'll be oily. Five hours later and my makeup is starting to dissolve. The shine stopper doesn't completely stop the oil--frankly I'm pretty sure that's impossible. But it does buy me a few more hours, enough that (with a touch up) I can make it through a full day.

It also does something else--with the shine stopper on first, and my elf mineral primer ($6!) on top, my large pores disappear! Seriously, the potholes on my nose and cheeks just vanish! It'd be worth it just for that.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/28/2014 3:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Love. I was a slave to blotting sheets and touch-up powder before using this magical stuff! I layer it under whatever foundation I'm using. The fliud is so smooth, light and invisible. It really works. I was using Laura Mercier's mattifier before, which did not work nearly as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 11:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very oily skin -- Persian Gulf oily. I have tried Smashbox, MUFE, UD, Black Radiance, and Murad primers. I have tried the Wayne Goss method. I have spent days on the internet researching primers and spent unspeakable amounts of money trying to make my makeup last for more than two hours. Nothing really worked and the products that did the best job of making my makeup last longer inevitably caused breakouts. Then came my savior, Paula Begouin.

Like King Arthur receiving Excalibur from the Lady of the Lake, Paula bestowed upon me her Paula's Choice Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish. This miraculous product must be applied on top of your makeup, after it has had a chance to set. My face routine consists of EltaMD Physical (the tinted one) and a Laura Mercier foundation. After doing my whole face and waiting for a few minutes for it to set, I stipple a small amount of the PC Shine Stopper over my oily areas, i.e. my whole face. It leaves a nice, matte finish and lasts for hours. On a regular work day, I will blot at about 2PM. Prior to finding this product, I would start blotting at 9:30 or 10AM. This product has been a game changer.

The product comes in a nice tube that has a small enough opening to easily dispense the right amount. It is silky and has a texture that is similar to the Murad primer. Just be sure to wait for your makeup to set before stippling the product on your oily areas. If you don't do that, it does not work as well. Like other PC products, this is not an inexpensive product. The tube does, however, last a long time. I find it to be a better value and more effective than Smahbox, MUFE, and Murad.

Fellow oily MUAs, consider this product. PC has samples for sale on the website. Good luck and godspeed.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 10:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I HAVE USED MULTIPLE SAMPLES.
I tried this once before and did not think much of it but it was okay. My second time trying this I loved it. I would give it five stars but there are some qualms that I need to put out in this review.
At first for oily skin this may not feel comftorable because it goes on as a lotion. After a few minutes though it turns to a dry velvety touch on the skin. Unfortanutely it has no state of the art ingredients and if you live somewhere where the summer is really brutal and your forehead sweats easily it must be applied every 2-3 hours to achieve that dry finish. I don't know if this could correct oily skin in the long run.
I didn't know what the label meant by :'Micro-sponge technology' and I couldn't find out anywhere via her website or the product. If you're curious about what it means I will post a link below.
http://www.amcolhpc.com/Product/SkinCare/MDS/Microsponge.aspx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2014 1:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It works. I get really oily cheeks and I have large pores on my cheeks. I take just a tad of this stuff and pat it on my cheeks and chin and it leaves me matte, without spoiling my makeup, for about 5 hours. The tube lasts forever. I had mine for about 2 or 3 years before I decided I should throw it away and buy a new one. I never even used up the entire thing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2013 2:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

- I have combination skin, and my T zone gets v shiny by the end of the day
- I have been using this under foundation on my T zone only, and I think it helps control my shininess by about 70% - not bad!
- My shininess is further reduced if I set with MUFE setting powder.
- I tried this over foundation as the product packaging suggests I might, and it made my foundation ball up and rub off, it looked terrible. Definitely an under the foundation product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top