NARS Illuminator in Copacabana

4.1

73 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/1/2015 5:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this because of the "Strobing" make-up technique that I have been seeing some of my favourite mua's do. I didn't like how subtle the other Nars Illuminators were and daringly purchase this Illuminator for so-called 'lighter complexions'.

I disagree with the reviews saying the Copacobana Illuminator suits only shades of fairer complexions. On behalf of all the tan/olive skin-toned people, when applied sparingly (and especially in the places where the strobing technique suggests e.g. Cheekbones, Bridge of the Nose, Cupid's Bow, the middle of the Forehead and Brow Bone), it looks INCREDIBLE.

It may come out opaquely pearlescent, like liquid pixie dust but it's true when they say a little goes a long way in creating a stunning shimmer on the face. The few flaws is that it can highlight your pores and for me stays on for a max of 4 hrs - although, I guess it has been a hot summer and I've been sweating a bit!

I love the minimalist packaging nars has but when I opened the box, the product only filled just over half of the bottle which is disappointing considering the price i paid for it. I'm just hoping there was actually 30ml in there! (Although I've seen some other photos of people's illuminators and some of them look like that too)



on 6/24/2015 6:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

When I first swiped this on the back of my hand I thought it would be too intense for me. It was a dense, intensely shimmery streak of pale lilac white, and much stronger of a highlight effect than Copacabana The Multiple. But after playing around with it I realized how versatile it is, and how easy it is to adjust the intensity depending on how I use it. It's a lovely product and I've been using it in one way or another since I bought it. The color itself is beautiful on my N10 skin, and I haven't experienced any irritation or sensitivity while using it.

Some ways I use it:
*Tapped on as a traditional highlighter on top of foundation. Just a tiny bit blended with fingers on the top of cheekbones, brow bone, cupids bow, and collar bones. This way gives the most subtle effect, and looks glowy rather than outright shimmery.
*Mixed in with a tinted moisturizer or liquid foundation. I use a drop the size of about two rice grains and mix directly into the foundation with a brush, then apply all over. It's an easy way to make a satin or matte foundation look a little dewy without a lot of fuss or having to use an illuminating primer beneath.
*Mixed in with facial sunscreen. A drop or two of this mixed with my facial sunscreen is perfect when I need a little extra something at the beach or hiking. I never wear makeup during those times but sometimes want my skin to look more polished so this is a great option.
*Mixed in with body lotion or body sunscreen. Same thing.... just a few drops in the palm of my hand mixed with lotion or sunscreen and my skin looks healthier and has a pretty glow.

The texture is thin, lightweight, silky, and dries quickly. No stickiness or film, and it doesn't transfer everywhere. A little goes a very long way, but I do like that I have the option of going more intense if needed. It's easy to build up for a super shimmery look. I've even tapped it on under lipgloss just when playing around with it and it's a nice effect.

Packaging is great, I love a simple tube style packaging. It's sanitary, secures well, and travels well too. I want to try Laguna for when I have a faux St. Tropez tan, and maybe Orgasm too. I never expected to enjoy this so much but I even bought one for my cousin as a gift and she's almost gone through her tube faster than me. Great product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2015 3:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Absolutely gorgeous product. Definitely worth $30.


on 5/6/2015 12:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently got this product and already love it a lot! Now if you are scared of its pigmentation, don't worry - it actually is quite subtle on the skin as opposed to a heavier in-store hand swatch.

There are many ways to use this product, my favorite is to use it instead of a cream highlighter. I find that a little goes a long way and the glow is fantastic!

I think this is a great product for anyone who has a light/medium complexion. If you have a deeper complexion, you might want to go for Laguna illuminator (inspired by their bronzer of the same name).

The only thing I don't like about it - is its price tag. But overall it will last you a very long time!
If you want to read a better in-depth review on this product, simply click on the link below. Hope it helps

http://www.partyparrotblog.com/#!Getting-Ready-For-Summer-With-Nars/cmbz/55473bf50cf2836c88149568


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Copacabana Illuminator is one of those products that I truly can’t imagine anyone *not* liking, unless the color match is off, or they can’t get the simple application down—but every skin, applicator and skill is different, so who knows. If you’re looking for a *shimmery* highlighter, this is a really beautiful product. For my pale, pink skin: it’s a super light, very pale, almost white, blush pink. I imagine this would look frosty white on anyone with even the slightest bit of tan or color unless it’s very sheerly applied and artfully blended to perfection. I find this illuminator far easier to work with and producing a better result than the multiple (I hate the multiples though). Plus, you get *so much* for the price…even though a tube seems slightly pricey to begin with ($30 for 1.1 oz)…per ounce, it’s actually less expensive than say, Benefit’s High Beam, plus, there’s so much in the NARS tube that you’ll have this for years.

The trick is to start off with a small amount, work quickly, and really blend it in for a truly natural, glow. You can add more as desired. You can also blend it away to almost nothing if you try, which is really wonderful for my mid-thirties self. I just use my fingers and a large pin-head sized amount and dot along the tops of my nonexistent cheek bones, starting from the apple to going to the temple. Additionally, if mixed with foundation (I use Estee Lauder DoubleWear Light and add in a small drop of Copacabana, then I apply with a Beauty Blender), holy wow, gorgeousness for a night out.

The formula is sort of a pearly gel, with what looks like densely packed shimmer. I’m not real sure where people are getting “glitter” from…if anything, when I apply Copacabana too heavily, it looks frosty metallic. But glitter?—where? I need a primer to smooth out my cheeks under Copacabana otherwise my usually not-that-visible pores are highlighted, especially around the temple and apple area. I also love this on my poofy lids as a sheer, shimmery wash peeking though a lot of thick, black lashes.

I do find that this wears off faster than I’d like…but I think that’s because I touch my face so much (I can make it through a standard eight hour day, but much beyond that, forget it). If I can manage to keep my hands away from my face (*never*), it seems like this illuminator would last as long as the foundation or primer underneath.

The packaging is lovely, simple and alluring to the touch and eye and the small, flat tube can stand on it’s cap.

So needless to say, I'm really happy with this product and highly recommend those with pale, pink skin to give it a shot. I never thought a highlighter would be a makeup necessity for me, but Copacabana Illuminator has changed my mind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2015 9:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

Pale pink shimmery liquid highlighter. It lasts all day and applies nice and smooth. It truly does illuminate my face and eyes. I always feel pretty wearing it!


on 4/1/2015 4:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It's $30 which is hella expensive for a college student, but I bought it on a Treat Yo Self day and it is 100% worth it. It's easily mixed with foundation/moisturizer/whatever liquid you put on your face for a glowy look and you can also just pat/blend it on your cheekbones with your fingers for extreme shine, which is my preferred look (I heart glitter). It's probably better for paler skin tones because it is really shimmery and pigmented. Darker skin tones would probably find that this is too opaque. It stays relatively well which is nice, much better than my powder highlighter.

The packaging is excellent, the little cap lets you get out only the tiniest amount (which you only need, using a lot will turn you into a disco ball) and there is so much product it'll probably last me the rest of my natural life.


on 3/31/2015 2:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Brilliant for mixing with foundation to create a natural glow, and I love how prominent the highlight looks from the side above my cheekbones. Beautiful.


on 3/29/2015 9:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I was looking for a good illuminator and i was recommended this one by the sales assistant. At first I was a bit disappointed because it is very pigmented and I was constantly overdoing the shimmer, making my face look pretty wierd! BUT I kept on reducing the amount I used, and it looks fantastic! All you need is the tinniest dab, and blend well.
Its also great for highlight the under-brow, cheeks and even my decolletage. Its very bendable and while it is expensive you don't need to use alot so it will last a long long time.


on 3/22/2015 10:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Lovely shimmer, although if you're going for the natural, glowy look it can be a bit much. usually use it if I'm going out! The cap is great and allows you to squeeze out as little or as much as you need, and a little bit goes a long way!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Jungle Red

61 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top