NYX • Studio Liquid Liner Extreme Black • Eyeliner

rated 2.9(13 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 MollieS on 3/29/2014 11:58:00 AM more reviews by MollieS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

While the color is amazing, this color doesn't dry fast and therefore smudges easily. I am also not a big fan of the brush. It was frayed out when I bought it and when I trimmed it, it was like trying to draw a line on my eye with a wet mop. I cannot recommend this liner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Xillabub on 10/28/2013 10:51:00 AM more reviews by Xillabub

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Just don't bother with this eyeliner. The brush applicator gives you zilch control and i could barely draw a straight, solid line with this. So much better eyeliners out there you can get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OMGURTEEF on 8/27/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by OMGURTEEF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this liner. I enjoy brush applicators - especially super-fine ones like this, and the pigmentation for me was fantastic.
But ladies, this is NOT a liner for those of us with sensitive eyes or skin. This stuff caused my eyes to burn like crazy - even my eyelids where it was applied! It was so uncomfortable!
The burning tapered off after it dried, and once it did dry (which takes longer than one might prefer), it set to a great, "piano black" style color with a water-resistant finish. Performance and application of this liner were terrific for me, but unfortunately, it has to be tossed because it really felt like I was applying battery acid to my freakin' eyelids. What on Earth are they putting in this stuff?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaeaster on 8/14/2013 1:51:00 PM more reviews by ninaeaster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was one of the messiest liquid liners I have ever used. The applicator makes the product hard to apply. This is not for those who have a shaky hand with liquid liners. It is very a very pigmented black that does not flake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 terrifictina on 7/28/2013 4:45:00 PM more reviews by terrifictina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This liquid liner goes on very smoothly and comes with a very fine applicator, but it's comes off into messy pieces and has gooey looking and feeling ink on the applicator and when wet it easily gets on your skin. The price isn't worth it either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vaigai on 6/10/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by vaigai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Weird to see glowing reviews on here.. I received this product in a luxe-box and I love liquid liner so I was eager to try it out. I'm also a veteran liquid liner user and wear it almost everyday - this stuff SUCKED. The product was goopy and thick and applied well in short (<1 cm) lines on the back of your hand but when you try to apply it to your eyelid it starts drying ON THE BRUSH. It is somehow dry and dense but simultaneously offers horrible coverage with patchy spots. The brush was too pliable and while it let you make a fine enough line.. it was hard to build.

Basically, I've never really heard of NYX before but based on this product it seems like a horribly cheap and awful drugstore line...something they would sell in a dollar store. Would not buy again. Ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahhjosephinee on 6/5/2012 1:51:00 PM more reviews by sarahhjosephinee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this liner! It makes it really easy to get a precise line and is very dark.
I am not great at eyeliner but this makes it so simple even mine turn out okay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 danger_kitty on 6/5/2012 8:48:00 AM more reviews by danger_kitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been wanting the black version of this since I already have it in purple and blue (which I love). I can't say this product works as well as the others. First, it's goopy. I couldn't find one that wasn't. Second, it takes a while to dry (I knew that) but with the goo I was more prone to make the mistake of opening my eye too wide before it dries, thus getting it on eyeshadow or having bits of my eyelids stick together. It's a pain in the butt to use.

The few good things about this product was it's price and the color is like patent leather black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 4/16/2012 7:31:00 PM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this liquid liner! This is my go-to black liner when I go bold, it beats the other liquid liners and most of the eyeliner pens I've tried. For the price and color payoff, it can't be beat! As for the waterproof power, it's not perfect, but it's better than all the other non-waterproof and some waterproof liners I've liked.

Now, the brush annoys me. It's SO long that it's difficult to handle. That said, I can still make a thin line, but it takes longer than if I had a manageable brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cailee on 2/25/2012 11:31:00 PM more reviews by Cailee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Whoa, three glowing reviews. I must have gotten a bad batch, because my Extreme Black EXTREMEly SUCKS monkey butt. I thought it was the fault of application at first, that maybe it wasn't applying evenly because the applicator had too much 'give' to it, but no, the problem lies in the product itself. It's goopy, thick, and so little of the liquid grabs onto the tip, that you have to keep dipping it back in multiple times to get more product to even get ONE eye finished. Draw tiny line, dip, draw tiny line, dip again. It's quite annoying, because I don't want to have to spend 10 minutes doing something that should only take 1 or 2.
I actually recommend the Wet n Wild liquid liner over this one ANY day. Heck, I'll go as far to say even ELF is better! With this NYX one, sure it's a nice, true jet black, it's pigmented, it swatches nice on the back of your hand, but it falls wayyyy short on performance. I like the applicator because it's ideal for a thin, precise line, and I appreciate having the option. It's not a felt-tip applicator, which I also like. I'm not going to bash the entire NYX line of liquid liners, because I have a couple others that are at least 10x better than this one. My advice is to skip this one, ladies.
I'll buy again to try in other colors, because I DO enjoy the performance, quality, and longevity of the others I have. But this one is probably going in the trash.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eyeliner products