NARS Pore Refining Primer - Oil Free

2.8

46 reviews

36% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Isododecane, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Silica, Dimethicone, Poly(Glycol Adipate)/Bis-Hydroxyethoxypropyl Dimethicone Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate Se, Dipropylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Lens Esculenta [Lens Esculenta (Lentil) Seed Extract], Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Potassium Hydroxide, Xanthan Gum, Lavandula Angustifolia [Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract], Carbomer, Retinyl Palmitate, Petasites Japonicus (Petasites Japonicus Root Extract), Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbic Acid, Trisodium Edta, Vp/Va Copolymer, Bisabolol, Niacinamide, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Amodimethicone, Potassium Sorbate, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide)


on 4/12/2015 4:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm surprised at the relatively low rating this product has on here, because I think I've found my HG primer.

Holy smokes it's done wonders for my make-up! I've been using this with NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation and while ADLWF in itself is already a great base, using this primer under that elevated the whole finish. It made the foundation much more easier to work with and minimized any caking tendencies. My pores are blurred and I get smooth but still realistic-looking skin.

I only have a sample right now but I will definitely get a proper tube when I run out.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As a whole, I like this primer. I don't really have any real problems with my pores, so I didn't fixate on its "pore-refining" promise when I used this. I don't think this is a new HG, but I was not disappointed.
Generally, I've had good luck in the past with face primers; the Pro Prime worked very similar to the others that I've tried; Laura Geller's Spackle and bareMinerals Prime Time come to mind. It was definitely the priciest that I've bought; so I was expecting it to work at least decently. As aforementioned, I generally have good pores; however, the other reviewers are right when they say that it hardly does anything for them. In my opinion, it's because of the texture; it's very liquidy, which allows it to settle into pores. Cream primers (if those exist!) probably would work better for pores.
It's a white-ish primer which goes on clear. I appreciated the lack of annoying, fine sparkles. The texture is, indeed, very liquidy. It's easy to make a little bit go a long way, so it does live out its $30 price tag. This tube lasted me a solid 5 months! As for its performance, I wasn't disappointed. It cooperated well with my foundations; it also prolonged their life on my face. I have oily skin, so I was grateful for the oil-free formula. Sometimes, though, I find the formula a bit drying; so, I still need to use lotion on my face before I put on this primer. I actually like the scent- I find it pleasant and a nice distinguishing factor from the other primers.
Basically, I didn't find anything disappointing with this primer. The black tube is, also, very nice and convenient. Like I said, it's a bit pricey, but I thought it was worth the $30. I'd recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2015 3:57:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I believe this was my first Nars purchase. The description says it uses minerals to refine the appearance of skin and control oil but it isn't thick enough to make a smooth base for my foundation. I tried (for a year) to make it work by putting it under moisturizer, over moisturizer or along with another primer. I so hate to toss it because I think Nars has a great idea which just didn't work for my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2014 4:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I didn't see any difference in my pores using this primer. My makeup did stay on longer than without using a primer, but I would hope that being a primer this would be a given. For the price - it really isn't worth it. I don't have exaggerated pores but I was hoping it would smooth out the appearance of my pores and skin for a more seamless look with foundation over the top. Disappointing because the NARS products I have used have overall been fantastic.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2014 5:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I normally wear a full face of makeup and lately I've not been happy with my results, I felt my makeup looked a bit faded by the end of the day and not really as polished as I'd like. Also, I'm more conscious of the products I use as I haven't changed my routine in years (now 30). I got the primer for 25% off (ASOS), and while it's pricey it does work incredibly well. I put my face on before work and I find it lasts till evening without any touch ups, even my trouble zones (nose, under eye). I like this better than the Lancome one I've sampled in the past and I haven't had any issues with breaking out, though I am fastidious about removing my makeup at night. Lets see how long the bottle lasts, but even if it's a few months I'll be happy.

Edit: have used for a month or two now and have knocked off one lippie as I do feel as though it hasn't really sorted the greasiness around my nose, and in order to not have an oily nose I have to powder like a demon. In terms of how long my makeup lasts though it stays at 5 lippies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2014 12:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

The only redeeming factor about this primer is that the formula is nice and feels smooth gliding on - after that it's all downhill! I don't notice any difference in pore reduction and the longevity of my make-up wear is not extended beyond the normal wear I would get not having this primer on at all.

So save your $$$ and give it a miss.

However my sister does vouch for the Nars SPF30 primer that comes in a similar tube. She is a cyclist / runner and finds the SPF primer paired with a tinted moisturiser or BB is good.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 5:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was really disappointed in the quality of this product. Nars has pretty good makeup but this was just terrible. A primer is supposed to leave you matte right ? Now why does this primer cause my skin to get oily within one hour. This product didn't do much of anything for me. I do not recommend It at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Well, this was a bit disappointment. It is my first NARS product and it makes me sad that it's not as good as I've expected. I use it for the areas on my face that tend to be oily and therefore my make up does not stay in the place for a very long time. Well, foundation and powder last longer with this primer, but it's not that glorious as I have expected - would buy the Benefit one for pores next time.
The packaging is not very good as the lid always stays messy and once also wastes the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2014 10:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This product was a little disappointing as I love Nars products and expected more from them. I bought it because of the company name and because it was oil free, not wanting to have the potential for breakouts. I haven't broken out, but it also doesn't do much to hide pores. You need to be careful when dispensing the product as a lot can come flowing out of the tube if you squeeze a little too hard. Also, you get a very small amount of product in what appears to be a fairly large tube, only 30 mL--2 tablespoons.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2014 12:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Thought I would try a nars primer after using nars sheer glow / matte for a million years now. This was rubbish. Makes it hard to blend foundation over, doesn't prolong any foundation & DOESNT refine my pores AT ALL. So sad I wasted $70 NZD on this. Will be trying porefessional next. Only thing I likes was the packaging & the texture / application of the product. Not worth the money :(


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top