China Glaze • Cracked concrete • Polishes

rated 4.3(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cindi33 on 10/22/2013 5:16:00 PM more reviews by Cindi33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I know the crackle polish is yesterday's news, but it still holds a place in my polished heart. It's easy art. This is also perfect for a Halloween mani and that is just around the corner. I love the way this forms the deep cracks and looks so antiquey and well worn. It looks best when there is a considerable amount of contrast between this color and the base. I got this from a sale bin at Sally's Beauty Supply so I don't know when this was released, but the crackle phase was everywhere a couple of years back. When I opened this bottle and used it for the first time the polish had little lumps in it similar to a texture polish. I have used other brands of shatter polish in the past and they have all been smooth and no different from regular nail enamel. I applied it anyway, and this dried really fast and the cracks were happening right before my eyes! This is the fastest drying crackle polish I have ever used. I like the visual effect and the feeling of this polish. It does leave some texture because of the gaps created in drying and it isn't rough at all, but it gives some dimension to the polish. This dries matte and I did not top coat it. as I wanted the textured effect. I like the look that I got from this when layering it over a pink polish. The gray looks good on me as it isn't as harsh as black with my skin coloring. I really love this old weathered look on my nails and this looks like old cracked paint or tree bark. I liked this China Glaze crackle so much that I returned and bought several other shades from the sale bin too! Yes, Please! I love this effects polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 11/11/2012 7:05:00 AM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the effect of these Crackle nailpolishes but this particular colour should only be used with very bright colours. Otherwise, it just looks like you put messy grey nailpolish on. Also, in spite of putting these in the fridge, they dried out amazingly fast. The non-Crackle shades by China Glaze stay liquid much longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cansal on 7/3/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by cansal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Very expensive product that does not work. I tried it several times with difference nail polishes and it did not crack. A week later the bottle dried up. Should have bought Shatter instead. WILL NOT PURCHASE AGAIN

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sexylovie84 on 1/25/2012 9:21:00 AM more reviews by sexylovie84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this so much more than I thought!! It was even half off at Sally's! It cracks nicely, and over a matte pale pink base looks like a very expensive design :) I love gray stuff and this just makes me so happy!! I will definitely order/buy a backup or two so I always have this :) :) :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 1/14/2012 10:46:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite crackle/shatter polish that I have tried. The color is a lovely dark grey that looks so pretty over pastel colors. The consistency is thick, but it is still easy to use. I just apply one thin coat over any color and let this do its thing. It takes a little while to dry after it is done shattering, but that is probably Cracked Concrete's only downfall. It dries to a semi-matte finish, but a glossy top coat helps make this look like more of a cream, which is my favorite finish. I feel like black shatter polishes look best over bright or neon colors, while this looks the best over muted and pastel shades. I highly recommend to anyone wanting their nails to look amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Martigras on 11/14/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Martigras

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I now own every color that I want to in the the crackling China Glazes. The one metallic I own is the Tarnished Gold, which is an exact match to my jewelry and Coach purse. (much prettier of a shade of gold than SH's)
I also own the White Lightening, Crushed Candy, Black Mesh, and Broken Hearted.
I don't especially like my Broken Hearted and will be gifting my friend with it. It's too bold for me. Most likely my age or something. Not liking it is why I didn't buy the Purple either. Imagine it would be close to the same thing for me.

My DH just lets me go nuts, ordering more and more of these, along with buying lots and lots of new shades of np's. I have so much fun. It's actually relaxing for me. A new hobby.
Especially since I live near GreenBay WI and my hobby of choice of gardening is nearly at an end for the yr.

I do love testing a lot of my crackles with only a base coat or a very light, barely visable base under them and they're beautiful that way too. But always adding a coat or 2 of fast dry top coat too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hermetic on 9/14/2011 3:12:00 PM more reviews by hermetic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

To me, this one is more versatile and makes more interesting combination than plain black crackle, that's why it was my very first crackle polish. Cracks nicely but gets very thick over short amount of time, few usages, 2-3 months later and already needs thinning. And maybe I'm just imagining but it doesn't seem to crack as nicely after thinning. Still, like it a lot, will be using it on all kinds of colors as long as it usable. Will I buy it again? not sure, but I'm gonna be tempted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hodgam8 on 4/3/2011 3:34:00 PM more reviews by hodgam8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love having a gray crackle. The black is great, but gray looks wonderful with pale minty colors! Its less harsh (and really does look like cracked concrete) making a really fun effect

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MOIx2 on 3/21/2011 3:51:00 PM more reviews by MOIx2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best invention EVER!!! I have OPI's Shatter and this works exactly the same. The only difference is the brushes. OPI has a wider brush which makes applying a little easier. This particular color goes very well on top of pastles and neons. On my nails right now is MAC's Peppemint Pati and the combo is so pretty!! I can't wait to try it with pinks and yellow.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theresadactyl on 3/21/2011 1:19:00 AM more reviews by theresadactyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Shake well and you're good to go! Awesome effect, I don't own OPI's version but this one works so well I don't even feel tempted to try it. It dries quickly so you have to do a complete sweep of the nail in a timely manner. I am putting this over almost everything right now.. it looks best with whites/pastels on me. Make sure you close this SUPER tight. It will form globs at the top making it really hard to open. :]

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More China Glaze products

More Polishes products