Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush - Exposed

4.2

228 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Zinc Stearate, Tricaprylin, Polyethylene, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cera Alba, PEG-150 Distearate, Lanolin, Laureth-4, Tocopherol, Polysorbate 20, Tetrasodium EDTA, Potassium Sorbate, Chlorphenesin, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Kaolin, Tin Oxide, Mica, Carmine (CI 75470). (+/-): Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Red 6 And Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090).


on 8/19/2015 5:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I received a deluxe sample of Exposed as part of a Tarte 500 pt. perk at Sephora and I'm so glad because I never would have expected a blush that is described as "nude" on Sephora's website and looked so mauve in the pan to be such a flattering dusty rose on my skin. Exposed is a beautiful matte blush that makes my face look more sculpted when I apply it to my cheekbones and looks incredible when paired with pink and nude lipsticks. It's also a great understated blush for when you want to do a bold lip or eye. In terms of quality, I'd put this blush on par with NARS. It's finely milled, and long lasting -- although, I wouldn't say it quite lives up to its 12-hour claim. I just finished my deluxe sample of Exposed, and will probably repurchase the full size as it has become a staple. I'm also excited to try other colors in the Amazonian Clay line.

Along with the blush, I also received the Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder and a Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara in my 500 pt perk set. I'm still using the finishing powder to set my concealer and have repurchased the full size mascara ten times. I find Tarte's packaging kind of tacky, and would never have explored the brand on my own, but I've been so consistently impressed by all the samples I've received that I've slowly become a fan. I also appreciate the fact that Tarte is a vegan and cruelty free brand. The ingredients are generally excellent and the quality of the makeup is totally on par with non vegan products.



on 6/29/2015 7:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the only Tarte blush I have. The color is very flattering, but it is so tightly pressed that it is hard to pick up product with my brush. I use the Real Techniques Multi Task brush, because my regular blush brushes are too soft.

For me, the compact is a little hard to get into, but I like how the color of it corresponds with the actual product.

Lasts alright on me, but not 12 hours.


on 6/27/2015 5:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I tried another tarte blush and was impressed, and when I wanted a more natural and neutral color, I went back for this color. This blush is matte (which I prefer so I can layer a highlight in summer or go matte for other seasons), has great wear time, is pigmented, and has lasted me a long time. The color can be built up, and although it is pigmented, it would be hard to overdo it unless you picked up a ton of powder and kept brushing your cheeks with it. I find it to be easy to work with and provides consistent and beautiful results. It doesn't cake up and melts into my foundation with wear, leaving me with a great natural look instead of s typical powder blush look. This also wears well on bare skin and provides a natural wash of color. This specific color is a mauvey pink on me, and extremely natural looking. Like a "my cheecks, but better" color. The price is steep, but considering this will last me a year or more, it's worth it. Another big plus is it travels well and does not show any signs of being susceptible to chipping or cracking. Overall worth it. Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2015 3:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I am a very yellow nc25. Like super yellow (half Asian).

I just bought this blush in Exposed because I wanted a natural, flushed look that would go with most of my nude lipsticks. I had read that this color is very similar to MAC's Blushbaby and that is very true, however on me this color was slightly more reddy-pink than Blushbaby, which shows up more plummy brown. A lot of other bloggers say the opposite, but I think because I have extremely yellow skin my coloring absorbs all the warmth from everything I put on, leaving only the cooler tones visible.

The formulation of this blush is fantastic. I can't speak to the longevity as I've only had it on for a few hours, but it applied well with my Mac blush brush and blended like a dream.

Personally, I prefer Blushbaby over Exposed because it's closer to my natural lip color and therefore closer to my natural "flush". I don't think most people would notice the difference but I like the idea that I only have to wear a clear gloss for my lips to match my cheeks.

In conclusion, Exposed is a fabulous blush if you are not extremely yellow, and fortunately most of the population fits in this category. I will be returning it though since I have something similar that works better for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

One of my favorite blushes. This is a beautiful dusty-nude that I think will compliment many skin tones. The formula of course is great, silky smooth, blendable, and long-wearing. What else would you expect from Tarte? This is great for everyday, as well as pairing with a bold eye or lip because it is very natural looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 6:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I own about 40 blushes (I know I'll never use them all up, but I'm a blush fanatic) and Tarte Exposed is my most-used, everyday blush. It gives a perfect natural-looking flush to my NC20 skin, and because of its brown undertones, it helps to make my cheekbones look sculpted. It really does last all day (maybe not quite 12 hours on me, but 9-10, which is impressive given my oily complexion). I will run out to repurchase it in a heartbeat once I'm done with my current pan.

The only reason I'm giving it 4 lippies instead of 5 is that the texture of the powder is kind of... hard. You really have to swirl your brush around to pick up color, which means you end up using a lot more product compared to a softer, more pigmented blush.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 6:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

RUN, don't walk, out and buy this blush. The color is to blush as MAC spice is to liner, just divine. It will suit many shades of skin. The deepest shades may find this light but I think it is very buildable. I absolutely love this a) on it's own to add a light flush that doesn't compete with a smokey eye b) on its own for a natural look c) under a brighter blush for a sweep of natural color under a bright pop (a la BB's technique). It has great staying power and is fairly priced as well, esp with a ULTA coupon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2015 12:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i really like this. seems to last long. i need to use a lot of product though. i think its because its a close ish colour to my skin tone? im not sure (im nc25/30). but its very natural looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2015 5:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is great! Its a mid tone pink blush. One of the noticeable thing about this is the lasting power. It lasts all day for me. When I want a matte blush, I go for this one. Use a dense brush though because this powder is pressed very hard!


on 5/4/2015 11:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this blush, it's an amazing neutral brown-rose color and is perfect for adding a dimension of contour when applying blush to the cheeks. It really helps to lift the entire complexion and cheeks.
This and tarte blissful are my favourite blushes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush Review! by OMGigi



Back to Top