E.L.F. • Studio Matte Lip Color • Lipstick

rated 3.6(133 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sage4dylan on 8/4/2014 9:39:00 AM more reviews by sage4dylan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the Rich Red color. I have been looking for a red lipstick that I can wear that is RED but doesnt make me look all crazy. This color matches my skin tone perfectly. Its a matte, which I really like. It goes on smooth and does dry after a while. It didnt hold up to me eating but I havent found many lipsticks that will. It holds up fine to general wear which is what i wanted. I looked at the other colors and really wish they had more selection. The rest of them look washed out. I would buy more if they had more. Anyway, overall, for 3$ this was a good deal for me and I will repurchase it again. Even if I want this look with a more glossy look, I have a gloss the same color red from LA Colors that goes over it great. I love MOST elf products and this one was a win for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/4/2014 1:57:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was just ok.
If you have chapped lips this is not for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brelig on 8/2/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in the shade coral, which was a terrible color for me. I won't base my review on the color though, since a bad shade match can happen with any brand at any price point. What I will base my review on was the poor quality of the product. This had the strangest texture. It's so difficult to describe, but it was a bit like applying a dry paste to my lips. This particular shade emphasized every single crease and crevasse on my lips, and I definitely do not have dry lips or any lip issues at all. If I could have gotten over the weird texture, I definitely couldn't get over the taste. I really dislike flavored lip products, but this just might take the cake. It was weird and sweet and sort of chemically. The packaging looks nice, but the lipstick nub felt unstable in the tube. I was enthusiastic about the small size of the lipstick for precise application, but I'm afraid I won't be purchasing this in any other shades that might be a better match. Nope, this product failed on too many points for me. I wouldn't recommend this when there are so many other great drugstore options available.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 upinspace on 7/31/2014 2:50:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure what shade I got since it was promptly thrown out, but it was a nude.

First off, I don't have an issue with the packaging other than the fact the product sits loose inside. That's annoying, but I can deal.

Anyways, this product tastes strange. No idea how to describe, just really disgusting especially during application.

The formula is VERY dry and patchy. It looks very caked up and that chalky appearance on my lips. Not cute.

Elf as a brand is just so disappointing...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MasksOffMasksOn on 7/28/2014 6:11:00 PM more reviews by MasksOffMasksOn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have it in "Rich Red"-
Great Lip product! It's very rich in texture, I love the deep snow white red color, perfect for winer! It's matte so it will dry your lips after a while. It's also very easy to apply. I find it to be long lasting, but only with no drinks or food. Totally buying this again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 macabremakeup on 7/23/2014 5:18:00 PM more reviews by macabremakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a fan of matte lipsticks. I decided to try this even though I had read mixed reviews on since it is only a few bucks. The packaging is nice and sleek. I like the lip pencil type applicaton that every line seems to be releasing right now. I find that that makes lipsticks and balms easier to apply rather than the traditional lipstick shape. However I only like the look of one of the shades that this comes in and that would be "natural". Natural is my, my lips but better shade. The formula can be a little drying, so I usually apply a lip balm a couple of minutes before I apply this. Also make sure to exfoliate your lips as any lines/texture in your lips can be accentuated after applying this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nancyplayfoot on 7/9/2014 11:06:00 PM more reviews by Nancyplayfoot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in nearly nude. It's just ok. I wasn't overly impressed but I didn't hate it. I like the color but it has little staying power

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sarahvelly on 6/18/2014 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Sarahvelly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in the red color and at first I liked it but with what I find with most Eyes Lips Face products they go bad really quickly. The product was very hard to apply and got everywhere. The color what very intense and not what I was expecting. I will not be buying this again because to me this product was not good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BrittAm95 on 6/16/2014 1:46:00 AM more reviews by BrittAm95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm conflicted on this product. I bought this in the red color and Nearly Nude. The red was beautiful. Nice and bright and truly matte. The nude was a terrible color though, and it made me look washed out. It also seemed like it didn't apply as well as the red. The red stayed on for a good while, but it rubs off on ANYTHING you come near. The packaging was cheaply made; both the bullets broke after a few uses. I will probably go back ad get another of the reds, but the nude was not worth my time or money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 5/31/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like e.l.f. Studio Matte Lip Color a lot because when I wasn't confident enough to wear "real" lipstick, this is what I started with. You remember Darlene from the show Roseanne? That was me until I was 19. Anyway, $3 is a good price for these good quality lipstick pencils. The matte this lipstick provides is a hardcore matte & t it is drying so I suggest moisturizing your lips & then blotting maybe half of it off before applying this product.

Let me start by saying the colour variety isn't good; there's Coral, Natural, Tea Rose, Praline, Nearly Nude, & Rich Red. They're ALL basically natural/nude colours, with the obvious exception being Rich Red. I think all the other colours are too light for me & wash my out completely. Matte Lip Colour doesn't provide a nude colour for people with dark/black skin. I have two tubes: Nearly Nude & Rich Red. Nearly Nude is disgusting on my skin tone, but Rich Red is a gorgeous. As with any matte lipstick, be sure you exfoliate & moisturize your lips before applying this!

For those of you who haven't noticed, there actually is a sharpener at the bottom of the lipstick. The section at the bottom of the the tube that's the colour of the lipstick - pull that off! It's a sharpener! I really like & appreciate that e.l.f. included that because we all know what a pain it is to use a lipstick/pencil that has dulled. I enjoy these lipsticks, but after I finish up Rich Red I won't buy another until a wider range of colours becomes available.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Lipstick products