Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balm - Hibiscus

4.0

84 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 2/16/2015 3:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am asian with light to mid-toned skin and pretty pigmented lips.
I am always in search of that pinky nude, coral lip and this comes pretty close.
The lip balm feels really good. I have dry chapped lips most of the time and usually need to apply vaseline underneath any lip product. This is a true tinted lip balm, and doesn't need anything underneath.
The colour is very pretty on me. A peachy pink - a MYLBB.
It feels more slippery than waxy.
That's my gripe with this product. I really like it, but it really doesn't last because it's so slippery. If you eat or drink anything it's totally gone.
Seeing as this is $7.99 CDN, it's pretty expensive for wearing only an hour before it's gone.
However, this at least looks good while it's on, and has more natural ingredients.
Not sure if I would repurchase, but don't regret buying this (does that make sense?)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The cardboard packaging is super cute,once you open it it revels a normal lipbalm container.The product doesn't have an overpowering scent,Color wise it is more like a stain but it can be built up.This color in particular is more on the orangy side,and it washes all the color out of my pale face,I believe people with slight tanned complexions will adore this shade .As far as moisturizing wise I recomend you wear another lipbalm underneath this one as it is not the most hydrating formula.Overall I would repurchase. I curently own two tubes of this stuff in the shades "Hibiscus" and "Pink blossom" which is my favorite of the two.


on 10/21/2014 1:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product is great for my beige lips that is in dire need of color. I am an NC 42 for reference and I have been on the hunt for a MLBB that doesn't pull neither too pink nor too nude. I would like the illusion of the just bitten, juicy reddish lips.

I bought this color after trying out and enjoying Tiger Lily. Though Tiger Lily pulls more peachy nude, I was hoping Hibiscus was the color that would do the trick. I expected Hibiscus to lean more pink as it is labeled with the other pinks in the line. Pleasantly surprised, it swatched a reddish coral color and on my lips, it gives this amazing reddish pink color, everything that I've hoped for in a color. And of course, it's a plus that the balm gives amazing moisture and it keeps my lips moist after the color washes off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2014 4:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

So even though I looked at a ton of pictures of swatches of these tinted lip balms online, I still was a little disappointed that the color hibiscus didn't match my expectations. Even though it is grouped under the pink category in their marketing, it's definitely a brown peach on me, and that's not what I was after.

On a lot of pictures I saw it looked like a great balanced blend of warms and pinks--a perfect shade for no makeup makeup if you will--and it may well show up that way on people with different coloring from mine. But on my pale but olive-y skin it's mostly a tawny peach. It's not a bad color for fall, and it's a plus that it shows up on lips and blends well, but still wasn't what i had hoped for. I guess I should have ordered the Rose shade, but I was afraid Rose would be too red and that's not what I wanted either. Besides, Hibiscus was on sale for $5.49, whereas the other ones were full price, around $7 I think.

The formula: quite thick, full of plant butters and waxes. I like that aspect, but I see some reviewers think it's too heavy. It's something to keep in mind--it's heavier than their lip balms, such as the pomegranate and mango ones.

I noticed a peculiar smell the first several applications, which I don't notice anymore. It's kind of jasminy but waxy at the same time, probably the plant waxes as they were exposed to oxygen. It was different, but I didn't mind the scent, and, as i said, I don't notice it anymore.

Will I repurchase? I'm so torn on this one. I like the heavy formula for fall and winter with the added bonus of color, but I'm still mad that the color was so different from expectation. It makes me wonder if it skews brown because of the kinds of pigments they use, and whether it would be an issue in the other colors. So I vote no for now, but I may change my mind if they come out with more colors and if I find them with a discount, and I still haven't found that elusive everyday moisturizing natural lip enhancing color.


on 9/29/2014 2:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love tinted lip balms to wear around the house or when I'm just going out shopping. I also love the idea of natural products and so when I saw this at the grocery store I was definitely interested in trying it. We'll start with the color; I picked this color thinking it would wear like a raspberry pink but what I ended up with is more of a deep nude with a hint of coral and red. My lips aren't very pigmented so I'd say the color is pretty far off from what it looked like on it's packaging.

The color being incorrect was certainly a disappointment but had I liked the formula I would have simply purchased a different color. That said the product did nothing for my dry lips and in fact only enhanced their dry appearance; on top of that it had quite poor staying power. One thing I do like about this lip balm is the scent; it's very subtle and sweet compared to the overpowering floral or mint scents used in other lip products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2014 5:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this recently and I think it's a really great product. It's very moisturising, treats my sensitive lips well, is easy to carry around and comes in a practical lip balm tube that makes it very easy to apply. I think Burt's Bees have really perfected the concentration of colour with this range - I also own the Rose shade and with both colours they give a perfectly sheer and subtle tint, which can be intensified with multiple applications. I personally prefer rose, but then I do naturally have quite pinkish lips so the colour payoff is just better for me with that tone rather than hibiscus - although having said that hibiscus still gives a lovely pink tint that works with the yellow undertones of my skin (I had another tinted lip balm that was just too pink for my colouring before). Overall it's my new HG lip product, although I prefer rose and this can be kind of expensive although usually you can find it at a decent price (I got 2 for 10AUD recently at priceline)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/8/2014 4:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great tinted lip balm.

I really liked the colour which gives a subtle rosy finish to the lips. This is exactly what I want a tinted lip balm to be- the colurs should be visible but not overbearing so that you can wear them when you are wearing almost no makeup or when you donīt want to bother with lipstick.

Itīs colour looks very natural with fair skin and blonde hair.
It is more of a reddish nude that a brown/beige nude which I like very much as I have a lot of products in the latter colour range.

It is also very moisturizing. And when I say very moisturizing I mean it REALLY is. It contains precious oils that make it very soft and creamy and it is an organic product.

The only thing that could be improved is the staying power but that is a very common problem in tinted lip balms so Iīll still give this product 5 lipsticks.




on 5/13/2014 9:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this color--it's my lips but rosier! I've been reaching for this lip product more than anything else lately. I just love how Hibiscus brightens my face. Usually pinks look too orange on me, but this one is just right. It's a perfect spring/summer shade. It also feels very moisturizing and doesn't fade too quickly. I am very sensitive to scents, and I find this one to be quite subtle, which is great. This does accentuate dryness on the lips--a bummer--so make sure you only wear this on days when your lips are feeling smooth and moisturized. I agree with everyone else about the packaging--why the cardboard tube? Overall, I love this super easy to wear lip balm.


on 3/30/2014 5:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This lip balm is decent. Not my favorite, but also not horrible.

The color is alright a sheer peachy rose that on my pigmented lips is a lovely MLBB color. I've also not noticed it settling into any lines or cracks in my lips.

The tube of lip balm is the standard size and shape. I like the understated, sleek look of the label. The cardboard tube it comes in seems a bit excessive? I don't really see why it's needed at all. When I first saw these years ago I actually thought the lip balm was closer to the size of the tube!

It does its job as a lip balm in moisturizing my lips. For the price, I probably wouldn't repurchase unless I absolutely fall in love with a specific color.


on 3/17/2014 3:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This tinted lip balm isn't awful and it's not amazing, it's just OK. It moisturizes (but not as much as my Fresh tinted lip balms), has a hint of colour as promised, and has the lasting power of a lip balm, not a lip stick. It does what it promises. I just prefer my Fresh tinted lip balms more. They're more expensive, but I prefer the amount of moisture and colour they give over these. I got these on sale, but if they weren't on sale I would find them too expensive at almost $10 at Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1524 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3603 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top