Milani • Baked Blush - Rose D'Oro • Blush

rated 4.2(82 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Suddenlii on 10/16/2014 12:35:00 PM more reviews by Suddenlii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

Well, first of all, this is NOT a pink blush. It's orangey peach, so, definitely skip this if you're going for, you know, an actual "rose" blush. That being said, that's actually why I have it, because my sister bought it and then gave it to me when she didn't like the colour. I do love the colour, I have to say...but it's just definitely not pink.

Despite the fact that it IS gorgeous, I have a really hard time applying it. If you use a blush brush, you're going to pick up entirely too much product, and this stuff is pretty pigmented (which, I think, is what you're paying for, because this isn't a cheap product for drugstore makeup.) The only way I've been able to apply it without getting clowny is my stipling brush, and the problem that comes up there is that if you try to buff out the colour, the peachiness gets more sheer, and the glitter gets more prominent. I usually prefer satin-finish blushes, so maybe this product just isn't for me (but hey, I got it for free), but I feel like that glitter thing is hard to get around.

I wish products would stop including that tiny, useless brush. If there was ever a product where you couldn't use that brush, it's this one! You'll end up with an orange stripe on your face.

I'd say this is a decent product. It's a pretty, pigmented colour and you get a decent amount of product. I think the glitter throws it off, so I'll probably use this more for a "night time" blush or for more formal occasions, but I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 6/7/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all, this shade is not what it's called: It's a peach toned blush, not a rose or pink colored one. So the name "Rose D' Oro" which translates to "Rose of Gold" is kind of misleading, because it's not a rosy color! Sorry for all you pink undertoned skin ladies that bought this shade thinking otherwise and didn't work for you. That being said, it's a blush that has as many good traits as bad ones. I have no problems on it being a peach (almost orange hue) color because my skin's undertone is yellow. This really looks good on my light colored skin, I just find it hard to pack on the right amount of pigment just because it has SO MANY golden sparkles!!! I find the more I buff this into my skin, the more glitter I pack onto my cheeks and the less color payoff I get. (Reminds me of Nars - Orgasm). And it's NOT a good look to go out in the middle of the day and have the sun reflecting off your face like a Twilight movie, na-uh! I find this shade is fun for a night out, and if you're young you can pull it off. But I don't think I would buy this again. I feel matte blushes do a lot more for my face than this type of blushes. I bought this in a whim because I ran out of my HG, NYC's Color Wheel in the shade Rose Glow ($4) and apparently it got discontinued and I can't find it anywhere.

Packaging wise, it's bulky. You won't need the mirror and the brush it comes with at all. This blusher looks GORGEOUS in the pan I have to add; It's like a sea of rose (misleading) with golden veins. This is not the cheapest drugstore blush I have to add, it retails for about $10 here in PR, and it has only 0.12 oz worth of product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Crackleball on 3/26/2014 12:37:00 PM more reviews by Crackleball

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Rose D'oro is entirely too orangey for my super pale face. I've tried it more than a handful of times and it always looks like I used a contour on my apples. Not a good look for me! I'll keep trying and maybe try a different brush and application method...

I don't understand how some have said this is matte...far from! there is so much golden shimmery glitter it deposits it all over the compact's edge and your fingers as you're holding it. It can get pretty messy fast if you're not paying attention and touch your clothing or other makeup items.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 serenas87 on 3/15/2014 9:05:00 PM more reviews by serenas87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Everyone in the beauty community seems to rave about milani baked blushes. Of course I had to see what the fuss was about and picked up Rose D'Oro when the store was out of stock of my preferred choice Luminoso.

Now onto my thoughts,; its not an awful product but at the same time I was by no means blown away. I find the texture to be quite gritty and grainy for a baked blush. I just prefer my blushes to be more smoother and softer. The colour seems quite pretty for wearing in the spring and summer seasons.
The major key I realized after playing around with this blush and looking is APPLICATION. I found the best method to be, powder your face (after foundation of course) and then grab a stippling brush, swirl the brush into product and tap off excess, and then lightly stipple the blush onto your face and blend at the end very lightly if need be. If I went in with just your regular blush brush, I would end up looking like a splotchy shimmery clown. It just ends up look muddy and orangey. I also find I like the look of this blush alone without any bronzer or highlighter.
Overall this is a blush I would wear on lazy days, when I don't care too much about my makeup. I don't know if ill be picking up any more of these blushes, but I am really curious to try the line of milani baked matte blushes just released. Those look like they will be more up my alley!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katautumn on 1/25/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by katautumn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this after seeing it mentioned so many times on YouTube. First of all, the price is very reasonable for such a generous size blush. Oftentimes the pan is tiny and it's mostly compact; however, in this case, while there is a mirror/brush compartment underneath, it's still a decent amount of makeup in the pan. The color is utterly gorgeous and highly pigmented. I did, however, deduct one lippy and say I would not purchase again only because the color does not suit my skin tone. While it applies amazingly smooth, gives the slightest bit of shimmer and definition, and has a fantastic texture it read as a bright coral on my cheeks, and I don't pull off corals very well. I do, however, own this same product in Dolce Pink and I adore it.

For someone with warmer undertones I would recommend this shade in a heartbeat.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rachel1234 on 12/19/2013 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Rachel1234

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Holy moly this is pigmented! I have to apply very lightly with a skunk brush, and still be careful! I have very fair skin, so that is a factor, but this blush is so pigmented, it could go on strong on ANY skin color if not careful, honestly. That being said ..... Gorgeous color! On me, a very light dusting across my cheeks produces a pretty Rose-Coral color, with a subtle coppery glow. No over-the-top glitter, shimmer or frost. Just a pretty glow. Of course, I don't use a lot and cannot imagine that anyone could. But really sooo pretty! And using such a tiny amount means this one compact will probably last me 10 years! LOL! But I deducted 2 lippies because in the end, it is a very difficult blush to use - the lightest hand needs to be used, and even a touch too much makes me look like a circus clown. Then I have to somehow use pressed powder to try and tone it down ... Then my cheeks get all powdery and cakey .... not good. So ..... To sum up, beautiful color, but hard to use. 3 lippies.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifeisaparadox on 12/19/2013 12:08:00 AM more reviews by lifeisaparadox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Rose D'oro is a great color. This and Luminoso are my two top colors and most used from Milani. I really like Milani baked blushes overall, as they're very pigmented and long-lasting... WAY worth it for $7-something! However it's a little more shimmery than Luminoso so I think those who like matte blushes would hate this. When applied, the shimmer seems to lessen a lot but I think it gives me bit of a glowy look haha.

I'm a NC30-35 depending on the season and I find this fits me year round. However, this color is a bit 'stronger' than Luminoso so it can easily be too dark since it's very pigmented. I however still love it once you learn how to gently use it and build up from there if necessary. It's one of the blush brands and color I recommend to people who are looking for blushes.

I would definitely repurhcase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chckenoverlord on 11/21/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by Chckenoverlord

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE milani bronzes and blushes, and this is no exception! It is VERY pigmented, so use a light hand. I'm one of those "no makeup makeup" gals, and this is great for that or getting my glitz on for nighttime. It's very smooth, and blends like a dream. It looks like a Cullen in the sunlight when you look at it in the pan, but the glitter doesn't show up much, and what does is easily buffed out. It's a gorgeous rosey coral color, with a gorgeous gold sheen. I really love this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmberMardina on 9/12/2013 9:05:00 AM more reviews by AmberMardina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I actually bought this because I have been looking for a rose gold eye shadow and couldn't find anything that really fit my ideal. I actually squealed when I saw this. It's such a beautiful color, and extremely pigmented. I used it over my primer and set it with VS Make It Last, and it stayed creaseless and stunning all day. I swiped a little on my cheeks too, but because of the shimmer, I used it as more of a highlighter for my cheeks only. If I ever run out, I'll be getting this again. I also plan on getting the rest of the colors.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anm10 on 7/30/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by anm10

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At my age I definetly shy away from anything glittery, especially blushes. I have fairly large pores and again skin so I don't want to sugarcoat my face with sparkles.

I also have fair skin with freckles so its hard to find a nice matte blush that doesn't fade into my freckles nor darken them, or look all together completely unnatural.

However, after hearing so much about Luminoso and that its a fairly cheap product I decided it wouldn't hurt to try.

WOW! I've never been wowed by a blush before or even felt they didn't anything to enhance my makeup routine until Luminoso. Its more pigmented then a similar MAC shade I have and it gives the perfect peachy glow that I imagine would work on most skin tones and types. The glitter looks like a bit much in the pan but it gives a perfect sheen on the face without large flecks.

If you are considering trying this out, stop considering and just try it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Milani products

More Blush products