Josie Maran Cosmetics • Matchmaker • Foundations

rated 3.3(99 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 1/17/2015 5:00:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my "no makeup day" foundation. I feel its more of a highly tinted moisturizer. This will not cover blemishes, but easily evens out complexions. Must use a separate concealer for under eyes and blemishes if I'm looking for flawless finish.

First I am totally on the OIL for hair and skin care wagon. I swear by JMC argan oil. So I wanted something that I can slap on my face along with some mascara and lip balm: aka my "no makeup face".

First this stuff comes out white with little dark spheres in it. As it is rubbed in, it takes a color...I figure the pigment is in the spheres. I use Fair Light. (Reference I wear Fair in Smashbox BB cream, Fairly light in MAC's BB cream and N1 in MAC face and body) I'm fair with pink undertones, and Fair Light works well. It dries to a satin like finish, not true matte but not dewy. (I'd love it more if it was a little dewy, but a just add a drop of argan oil to it) Blends easily. A little goes a long way, don't over do it..that's why I think some reviewers thought it was chalky. I only use 1 pump, and I have to rub my palms to "activate" the color then apply to my face. I find this technique works well. I don't like to apply with a brush, and DON"T use a beauty blender....took forever to clean it out of my beauty blender. (Gunked up my BB sponge pretty badly) Fingers work best for this foundation.

Smells great, I don't think I have ever commented on how a foundation smells but I love this stuff.

Wear time (with a primer) lasts all day. Without a primer, my nose gets shiny after 8 hour of wear without any powder touch up. Also did not oxidize as some other "match your skin product can do over time)

Moisturizing and doesn't make any scales (healing blemishes) stand out.

If you are looking for a full coverage foundation don't try this product. But if all you need is a light coverage this is a great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 K20602D on 12/20/2014 1:44:00 AM more reviews by K20602D

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great foundation - I have a golden coloring with red undertones so I wear dark. I love that the foundation adjusts to match my coloring perfectly. Two pumps is enough to cover my entire face and down my neck. Very moisturizing so it can be a bit shiny during summer months but it's great for Fall/Winter. I may give the powder a try next summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 9/1/2014 2:34:00 AM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I was actually very impressed with this foundation. I have large pores, and issues with foundation settling into, or highlighting them, but this foundation went on super smooth and did not highlight lines or pores. My skin looked tight, moisturized and healthy. There was no cakeyness, even in areas where I built up coverage. It is light, but it still covers problem areas nicely. The color (the fair/light) blended right in, and did not oxidize. After wearing this most of the day, my skin looked even, healthy, and smooth. I like that it has ingredients that benefit your skin while you wear it. I have dry skin, and this added moisture, and was totally comfortable to wear. No setting powder or primer was necessary, and the other products in the Josie Maran line, like the argan oil blush, work well together. I'm impressed, and will recommend this, and probably purchase other Josie Maran items.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pulidobl on 8/13/2014 7:02:00 PM more reviews by pulidobl

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this foundation! I suggest if you are light, check what undertone you are. If you're pink/cool, go with fair/light, if you're warm or neutral, go with the light/medium shade. I am nc20-25 and light/medium is PERFECT!. I dont need a moisurizer or serum underneath it - I just apply to my bare face. Goes on sheer to medium depending on how much you use. I like applying with my fingers better than a brush. The only complaint I have is the bottle's pump does not work that great all the time and for $42.00 a bottle it should have a stellar pump!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JLB2005 on 8/1/2014 3:09:00 PM more reviews by JLB2005

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have tan-coloured, medium skin. This is nice and light. Actually gives less coverage than the JM tinted moisturizer. This is good if you have even skin. My sister has deep spots of hyperpigmentation and all this does is match them, too. She had to return. For me, I was going to repurchase but after sampling her TM, I will stick with that. Try both!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jrmanor on 7/31/2014 7:31:00 PM more reviews by jrmanor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to like this! I love the texture and the coverage--it feels like a moisturizer in terms of texture and the coverage is very light, which is what I was looking for. Something just a step above a BB cream. However, the colors are awful. I have very medium/beige middle of the road neutral skin and I never have a hard time matching it. There are only 3 shades to choose from and they all start out white-ish because it's supposed to match your skin as you blend it out. I tried both the light and medium shades, and they were SO orange. The color was fine when it was still a little white, but as I blended it out it just turned more and more orange. Truly horrible! It's like this foundation was made solely for people who fake tan because I really can't see it matching anyone's natural skin tone. Really disappointed in this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 6/20/2014 10:42:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation comes out very orange for my pale complexion. I also do not like how there appears to be some chunky bits in the foundation. I saw that in the sample one at Sephora and assumed that it was an old bottle, but apparently my bottle has the same weird grainy pieces. This could be a whole lot better if it were not a color changing foundation. I cannot recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lylaura on 5/25/2014 4:05:00 PM more reviews by lylaura

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample with my AO light, which I love btw.

This tinted moisturizer was drying and felt grainy, and looked cakey. It didn't cover at all. I just washed it right off after a few minutes, couldn't stand grainy texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 suzbcskin on 4/13/2014 10:18:00 AM more reviews by suzbcskin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really thought I would like this product but did not. It looked cakey on my skin. Her shades are way too dark. I got the light shade and it was a weird coloring, not at all light.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mistressaryann on 4/11/2014 12:15:00 AM more reviews by mistressaryann

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For reference i have normal to dry and sometimes combination skin, with a few spots from previous breakouts. I have this in medium-dark.
PRICE: $42

COVERAGE: This foundation is sheer/light foundation. It comes out white and becomes your "perfect" shade once blended in to the skin. There is argan oil infused with this foundation which makes my skin happy because there's no scary ingredients that cause my adolescent skin to break out~ although this foundation is sheer in coverage it does this magic trick where it blurs your imperfections but not completely cover it c: lightweight + blurs your imperfections + no cake face = natural and radiant complexion

LASTING POWER: On my normal/dry skin this lasts an entire school day (7-8 hours- i set with powder and setting spray) but during really humid days (Hawaii has the most unpredictable weather pattern) it fades just a teenie bit on my nose but doesn't become a messy disaster.

PACKAGING: Comes in an amber glass bottle to preserve the argan oil's benefits and comes with a pump that needs a little getting used to. At first it was being funky with me but now it's very functional and a lot better than unscrewing it and scraping out the product.

APPLICATION: I feel that the best way to apply this foundation is with your fingers or a standard foundation brush, but i prefer using my fingers to make sure i blend out the color.

As far as how it sat on my skin, it did not accentuate any of my dry patches (probably because of the moisture the argan oil provides) I didn't have weird rashes or come up with spots at the end of the day, it did not break me out. It is an ideal everyday foundation for me, if i wanted more coverage for my spots i could always use concealer. I can't really say anything bad about it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Foundations products