Physicians Formula Eye Booster 2-in-1 Lash Boosting Eyeliner + Serum

4.4

407 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

WATER. ETHYLHEXYL ACRYLATE/METHYL METHACRYLATE COPOLYMER. BUTYLENE GLYCOL. SD ALCOHOL 40. BEHENETH-30. AMMONIUM ACRYLATES/METHYL STYRENE/STYRENE COPOLYMER. GLYCERIN. MYRISTOYL PENTAPEPTIDE-17. 1,2-HEXANEDIOL. ACRYLATES/OCTYLACRYLAMIDE COPOLYMER. CAPRYLYL GLYCOL. ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN. PENTYLENE GLYCOL. POLYGLYCERYL-3 DISILOXANE DIMETHICONE. PHENOXYETHANOL. SODIUM HYDROXIDE. DISODIUM EDTA. BLACK 2.


on 7/26/2015 1:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Great for oily lids, lasts a long time and doesn't irritate the eyes.

Just bought a new one and there was a small hole on the bottom of the pen. Is this normal in new ones, because all of my previous ones had a smooth, flat bottom?

Anyone else experience this?



on 7/25/2015 11:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this eyeliner after seeing all the positive results. (I didn't really buy it for the lash properties though) I'm still looking for my HG eyeliner, but this is still nice! :)

Packaging- I like the packaging to this eyeliner. It has a spring at the end to secure the lid so it doesn't run out as fast.

Pigmentation- The pigmentation is not pitch black, even when layered. However, it isn't horrible. I bought this in "ultra black", so I'm scared of how bad the pigmentation of just "black" will be.

Formula/Lasting power- I don't think that the eyeliner is too watery or dry. The lasting power falls short for me though. After 8 hours of wear, it was still visible, but a majority had faded or flaked off. I have very oily lids (my eyes also tend to water.) With a primer, it had only flaked a tiny bit! (It still looked practically the same.) It is not waterproof!

I like the brush tip, it isn't too stiff or too bendy for me. It also temporarily dries if you take too long to apply eyeliner. Like most liquid eyeliners, they run out very quick, so I suggest keeping them tip down when you store them.

Overall- It's the best drugstore eyeliner I've ever tried! I would totally recommend if you don't mind it being not 100% black and if you usually apply primer.


on 7/14/2015 6:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

****Update: so I've now used this product a few more times and I love it! I had to shake the eyeliner really well before application and a little bit in between strokes but it came out super black and pigmented - much different than before! Maybe it says to shake it prior? It didn't say on the eyeliner and I unfortunately already threw out the packaging so maybe that was just me being stupid and not reading directions. I definitely rate this 5/5 now since I love the feeling this gives on my eyes as it is so hydrating yet stays put all day even without a primer and I have oily eyelids. Will repurchase and recommend but just remember to shake it well first! ********

Old Review: Okay so as of now I have a love/hate relationship with this product. I love how nice it feels on my eyes and I really do think that it helps with eyelash growth personally but the only beef I have with this is the colour pay off! This is so light of a black it almost appears grey? Maybe it was just the eyeshadow I had on though (I had quite dark eyeshadow), and that could've had an affect? I'm not sure. I will be trying this product some more to see if I still give this a 3/5 and if it does improve I will be sure to change the rating. I really did want to like this product though cause it just feels so lovely and I absolutely adore the Physicians Formula makeup brand as a whole. Hope this works out better than the first couple applications!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2015 2:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Liquid eyeliner skills have never been in my back pocket, so to speak. I spent several years fumbling with different products and scouring tutorials only to create drunken Black Swan Halloween makeup and pooling my eyeballs full of burning black liquid. I usually just gave up.

People recommended the Kat Von D liner to me but the price was too steep for an item I wasn't sure I had the ability to even use. I thought the price of this was fair for the same type of product.

This brush tip pen is nearly perfect. It offers control, even application, a nice color (Ultra Black), and lasts without being impossible to correct/remove. I do find that if I put it too far into my inner corners, it feathers and smears. This may be just a consequence of my eye shape. I usually tightline with a pencil so it's no problem.

The packaging is great and the cap is nice. No bending the fibers, no mess.

I'm excited, I finally have the ability to make neat cat eyes, sharp lines, etc. The more I practice the better it will be. Highly recommended!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2015 3:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am on to my 3rd or 4th PF eye booster already. It is my everyday eyeliner, easy to apply, looks very natural, doesn't smudge, and stays on most of the day. CVS / Walgreens often does discount on PF products. I always stock up whenever I can. As for the lash serum benefit, perhaps it helps keep my lashes to stay the same volume. Honestly can't tell.


on 7/7/2015 6:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am one of those people who obsessively researches makeup before I buy. I am relatively new to makeup and have tried many different types of liners: pencil, gel pencil, felt tip, liquid brush, gel pot, etc. etc. I decided a pen-type would be the best, and narrowed my choices down to three top-rated ones: Stila Stay All Day, Kat Von D Tattoo Liner, and this PF 2-in-1 Eye Booster Eyeliner and Serum. I've swatched the first two in Sephora and they are pretty nice. But since they are pricey, I thought I'd try the PF one first since it's drugstore. When I uncapped the pen (which is a beautiful, elegant, slim silver), I gasped a little because I did not expect such a fine, precise brush tip. Looked just like the high end ones. The package says to shake a little before applying, which I did, and then set about doing a wing. I was so shocked that it drew such a black, solid, thin, thin line. No skipping, no dragging. The perfect amount of product comes out. I did my wings in about 30 seconds for each eye. Wham bam. I have not had the experience others say they have had with the pen drying up after the first eye. I applied at about 10 a.m. and by 10 p.m., it still looked exactly the same. Maybe a tiny bit of fading at the outermost corners because of my eyes tearing or whatnot. But not very noticeable unless I pull up my lids and go inspecting with a magnifying glass, which no one except yourself would! Also drew a swatch on the back of my hand, let it dry, and it took several rounds of hand washing before it finally came off. I didn't have a problem removing with Sonia Kashuk eye makeup remover. My waterproof mascara gives me a harder time with removal than this PF eyeliner. Don't know if I ever will get around to trying the high end ones because this one fulfills all my needs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2015 2:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have oily hooded eyelids and this eyeliner is one of the few that can handle the wear. I tested this without an eye primer and this eyeliner still managed to hang on without giving me raccoon eyes.

CONS:
price is much more expensive compared to other drugstore brands
black is not the blackest

PROS:
long lasting
thin and precise applicator
smear proof


on 7/2/2015 10:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Bought this liner after reading all the rave reviews. I was new to makeup at the time and found it really easy to use.When I started out I just did ultra thin liner, which the pen did really well. It can make really precise lines if you want it to. This liner was really black and pigmented, UNTIL i used it on my mother's very oily lids and it stopped working, I had to run it back and forth on the back of my hand to get it working again. I personally havent had this problem though.

It doesn't smudge or transfer which is a godsend for my hooded eyes. It does flake a teeny bit, and I find that the color fades at the end of the day. It removes really easily too. I would not buy it again just because I am looking for something more long lasting and flake/fade proof. Still, it's a great liner from the drugstore and very easy to use.


on 7/2/2015 11:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot say how many of these I have purchased. I always have a backup or two- whenever there is a sale at Ulta or something I will pick one of these up. My favorite color is ultra black. I've tried all three colors and brown was my least favorite; it was not a blackened brown but a true medium brown. Definitely not dark enough for my liking. I wear contacts and these do not run into my eyes and create that oily film, which is a huge issue with me with eye makeup in general (mostly with liners). I love the packaging and I love the tip and I love the formula. It is by far the easiest liner to draw a precise thin line or do a wing easily. When I first started using this I was not using any lash growth products and this liner alone, used consistently over a period of about a month really did make a difference in my lashes. It wasn't as dramatic as the results I got with actual lash growth serums but there was a noticeable improvement.


on 7/2/2015 10:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Only bought it because I wanted a hypoallergenic eyeliner but it's the best eyeliner I've ever used, easy to apply, the tip doesn't dry out easily and it's easy to draw neat flicks. Most importantly for me, I'm allergic to most eyeliners but I can wear this one all day no problems, no redness, itching, nothing.


Back to Top