MAC Matte - Quarry

4.2

116 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/3/2015 2:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This color is not very well pigmented and is very dry. The plum/brown/gray color is very pretty and unique. Similar to Haux, but I MUCH prefer Haux (creamier texture, better pigmentation, nice Satin finish, and the slightly rosier color is more flattering on me). While Haux makes me look awake, Quarry has a bit more purple/grey which makes me look more tired.



on 2/12/2015 2:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Gorgeous, natural, flattering matte shade, no sparkle, just a nice natural shade. A taupe-y shade with hints of mauve, I guess you could say. I am NC20 with blue/grey eyes and light my hair is sort of 'bronde'--light brown with some dark blonde and blonde-ish highlights on the ends, and this is a great shade for me.

Does not crease or settle or flake, goes on like butter and wears nicely throughout the day.

I am also in my 40's now so I appreciate shades like this. I am not a fan of sparkle.

I sometimes wear this all over the lid or pair it with a darker taupe and/or matte brown shade if I feel like 'playing' or putting more time/effort into my eye look...If I am feeling girly and actually want some sparkle, I will add a touch of a pale-pink sparkle shade either in the center or in the tear duct. But again, this is great just all-over the lid on days you want a 'fuss-free' makeup day. Just so many options with this.

Just a nice flattering 'womanly' shade that makes me feel pretty!!

Would recommend, esp if you like mattes, taupes, or very-light-purple shades.
I also do not get 'powder fallout' when I sweep the brush over the shadow, if you know what I mean. And the shadow itself is not powdery nor chalky and again I do not get any fallout or dusting under my eye when I apply this.

Just applies well and behaves well.
Great, great eyshadow!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MAC Quarry is a great shadow. This works great for the crease...looks natural...a bit on the purple side...it's matte...good for older gals like me. At first I thought it would look too much like copperplate, but copperplate is more gray; quarry is more purple. I used it in the crease...used mystery in the outer v. Add blanc type on the mobile lid and as a highlight = done.


on 1/9/2015 10:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a subtle smokey eyeshadow color that wasn't dramatic and heavy... something I could wear everyday even as a natural look. This is the perfect color for that. It's subtle but pigmented just right. The color is so pretty... it's like a grayish/lavender color that looks great on my olive/golden medium skin tone. I sometimes wear this without eyeliner and with just mascara + bold lipstick. Love!


on 8/14/2014 9:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

It's pretty, but not my favorite. I was on the fence on buying it and am still on the fence. I rarely use it. There are better colors in MAC for this type of look.


on 6/8/2014 9:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Such a beautiful matte taupe/grey/violet color, I absolutely love it! I use it for every day smokey eyes as I do not like too dark eye shadows. It looks really nice and soft. It's perfect for day time loook, one of my favorite colors. I combine it with Orb and something like Woodwinked.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2013 5:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Quarry is a rather unique neutral everyday color. These kind of eyeshadows are my favorite. An interesting mix of purple, taupe and grey. Mostly matte but not dull. Enhances nicely my green eyes and I use it as a base or crease color with other purples, grays and neutrals. The color payoff and longevity aren't grat though so I wouldn't repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2013 12:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This works great as a crease color for fair skin. I'm NW10 with freckles and I end up using this color a lot in a blue/purple/gunmetal smokey eye. It's a nice alternative to Soft Brown, I'm not sure it's cool-toned but it certainly works as a neutral/gray counterpart to Soft Brown in the crease. On me it's a plum gray color with a hint of neutral brown.

If you are very fair and want a crease color that works with cool-toned looks, I would highly recommend picking up Quarry.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2013 3:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

In my opinion, an extremely muted greyed plum. This is very displeasing to the eye when I match it with other cooler, warmer, purple or red toned shadows. In fact, it's sickly, makes me look tired, sallow and like I don't know how to apply eyeshadow.

I almost wanted to return this little one, and it still isn't one of my favourites (Despite my love towards MAC's matte neutrals.)
However, mixing this with other warmer eyeshadows, especially ones leaning towards orange, has me enjoying keeping this in my neutral palette of 26.

I enjoy applying this mainly in the crease only, or outer v's, depending on the look I am going for the day. If you want me to namedrop the warmer shades I combine this with, I use MAC's Wedge, Soft Brown, Saddle, Kid, or Woodwinked!


on 2/19/2013 2:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the oddest color but I have to say I like it. It reads lavender/taupe on me with a hint of brown. The third image above, the close up of the color in the pot, is exactly how it looks on me. I used it all over the lid and in the crease and a tiny bit above crease, with lots of black mascara and that's it. The result is sort of a wide eyed, doe eyed look, and that is saying something for me because I have hooded lids and small eyes. I wouldn't say the color makes my green eye color pop but more so makes them look wider. And the weird thing is that I look like I really don't have any eye shadow on. I've been looking for a color like that for ages!


I'm a mom and I also work full time so I need a quick, just throw it on and go type of color that I don't have to mess with, with half a dozen different brushes and layering. With this, I really just put on a good wash of color with my MAC 217 brush and I was done. No fussing in front of the dang mirror to get it just so, because it went on "just so" within a few seconds. I typically like warmer browns on me and stay away from cool purples and taupes, but this color works for me (medium/light skin with pink undertones, green eyes, brown hair).

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top