Paula's Choice • RESIST- Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.0(33 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 7/27/2014 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD THE SAMPLE.
This reminded me a lot of 'Cetaphils' cleanser. It was as if they took the traditional 'Cetaphil' cleanser and mixed it with the oily skin type cleanser. This has an elegant feeling and can remove light makeup but for heavier makeup an extra pump would be needed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Musetta1 on 6/15/2014 5:00:00 AM more reviews by Musetta1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Very very impressed with this cleanser- I struggle with cleansers. usually if it removes the oil, then I get dry, irritated skin, with seborrheic dermatitis, and if it does not dry me out, then I breakout. This cleanses nicely and does not dry or clog my skin. Can't believe I've finally found such an effective product!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Athena2 on 4/5/2014 10:45:00 AM more reviews by Athena2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this cleanser for a month now, and I couldn't be happier with it. I have extremely dry, sensitive skin and I wear contact lenses. I have always struggled with a burning sensation when any type of cleansing product gets near my eyes (even though I rinse so much before opening my eyes that my sink area needs to be toweled down when I'm finished), and my skin has always felt dry after cleansing with other products. The PC Resist cleanser has no drying effects and I am thrilled to say that it easily removes my eye makeup without any burning. I do not wear foundation or mascara, so I don't even really need one full pump. I highly recommend it. I tried the CeraVe Hydrating cleanser for a while, but my skin feels even more hydrated with this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Catlove on 3/21/2014 10:07:00 AM more reviews by Catlove

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First let me say I've been a Paula fan for some years now....way back when she recommended Hydrogen peroxide as a toner, cetaphil and baking soda scrubs. Which was way better than Noxema and ten o six for my skin. A
I really hated to write a bad review for this cleanser which worked well for me when I bought my first bottle. Now its too drying and stings...I just do not get it. So I guess I should be blaming my skin and not the product?? What kind of sucks is that I have a full unused bottle of this and I can't use it.
Wish I could because when it worked for me the first bottle it was great. But my skin just doesn't like it now. Let me add also that this sort of thing has happened to me with a lot of products I use for skincare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Northstar5 on 1/31/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by Northstar5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am 45 and have combination skin that breaks out very easily but that gets dehydrated in the winter. I am always either too dehydrated or too oily and breaking out. It's a tough combination. I've used a number of Paula's Choice products with incredible results, and the 2% BHA is usually the staple of my skin care routine. However, now I am dehydrated and am getting little bumps and am 'pink' because of irritation.

I switched to this cleanser and all I can say is wow. What a difference after just one use. It left my skin soft, clean, healthy. Immediately less red and less dehydrated. I've used it all week and it has definitely not broken me out. I follow it with the toner from the same line. I use the combination in the mornings, and at night if I've just been home all day and not worn makeup.

If I wear makeup I swipe it off with Neutrogena wipes first and then wash with Paula's Choice Moisture Boost cleanser, which has a lather and washes makeup off better than the Resist cleanser. No breakouts at all with this routine. In the winter I also switched from her night-time Resist Clear Skin Hydrator (absolutely brilliant for breakout prone skin that is also dehydrated and aging) to the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer, a bit more emollient but never breaks me out. In the morning I still use her Resist SPF 30 daytime lotion, which I use year-round. I precede the moisturizers (day and night) with the Ultra-Light antioxidant serum from the Resist line with a few drops of her Vitamin C serum mixed in, and in the morning I also use the 1% BHA gel and retinol concentrate serum.

So in the morning it's Resist cleanser, toner, BHA gel, antioxidant/Vitamin C serum blend, then finish with moisturizer. At night it's cleanser, toner, antioxidant/Vitamin C blend, retinol concentrate serum, and finish moisturizer. I often add 3 drops argan oil to the moisturizer.

This routine has given me the best skin of my entire life. Now at 45, I have better skin than I did at 25. I kid you not.



7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katwalker on 11/30/2013 1:30:00 AM more reviews by katwalker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my favorite of the PC's cleansers, and I use it every morning (using Neutragena Extra Gentle Cleanser at night because it is so much cheaper but also a very nice, gentle, moisturizing cleanser). My big issue is that a product must not irritate my sensitive rosacea/seborrheic dermatitis/eczema prone skin that also tends towards the dry side. This cleanser meets those criteria for me. For me, the PC's RESIST cleanser felt gentler and more moisturizing than both the PC's Moisture Boost cleanser (which also I didn't like due to ingredients that make it foam, which tend to irritate/dry my skin out) and the Skin Recovery cleanser (which I also didn't like as much as it felt like it left a film on my face).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 inouerinn on 12/2/2012 12:10:00 AM more reviews by inouerinn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Even though this says to be for all skin types, the feel and consistency of this cleanser is best for dry skin. Since I have oily skin, it doesn't really suit me well. I used this on its own and I had minor breakouts.
Because I do not want to waste it, I use this as my pre-cleanser and followed with Earth Sourced cleanser.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lucyem on 11/19/2012 10:46:00 AM more reviews by lucyem

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been using a daily facial cleaner and 2% BHA by PC thanks to reviews on here. My skin looked great. But as I hit midlife I wanted more help with anti aging. So when the resist line came out I was like cool - just what I needed from a skin care company that I love. I used the cleanser for about 6 months. My face deteriorated. More face acne, more little white bumps under the skin, more neck acne. I kept thinking it was my shampoo which is Aveda and something I had used for 10+ years with no issues. One day on vacation I realized - duh maybe my resist cleanser and moisturizer? I went cold turkey on resist. My face cleared up, my neck did as well. I then moved back to my old PC daily cleanser and 2% BHA. My face is worlds better. I feel like an idiot. I just never thought the new cleanser could cause so much acne. As they say "if it aint broke don't fix it".

I am a redhead with sensitive skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 10/17/2012 12:36:00 PM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Me: Normal to dry rosacea skin. Mature with fine lines. Combination in the summer.


I hate to be a dissenter but I hated this cleanser because I found it cleansed NOTHING! It was like rubbing lotion on my face. It didn't remove my makeup, didn't rinse clean and I think it was the cause of some breakouts and a rosacea flare. I did only use twice but that was enough for me to decide I truly did not like this.


Texture is a big thing for me and this was cloyingly heavy like moisturizer or cold cream which is funny because Paula used to go off on other mfrs that would make cleansers that didn't rinse completely. Well times have changed apparently. I am sorry I strayed to buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heather on 10/9/2012 8:13:00 PM more reviews by heather

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Very creamy and effective. I've used four different Paula's Choice cleansers (not counting samples), and all are excellent. This was the creamiest and thickest of the bunch. Takes off makeup in one pass, does not burn my eyes, and leaves my skin soft. No bothersome fragrance. I personally prefer a slightly more milky cleanser, so I probably won't repurchase this, but if I ever develop truly dry skin, this will go back to the top of my list.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Cleansers products