Sally Hansen • salon effects • Polishes

rated 3.6(255 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blairXwitch on 1/24/2015 7:16:00 PM more reviews by blairXwitch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

These have become my absolute favorite "nail polish", they are all I've been wearing for the past 2 months or so.
My favorite is Bling it On, a very shimmery pink that sparkles in certain lights at night, but looks pretty natural and not overdone.
They are very easy to put on, you just pick the strips that you think best fit your nails, peel and apply. I wear my nails short-ish, so I can easily use one strip for the matching fingers on both hands. One word of caution: they do dry up, so you can't keep an open package too long because you won't be able to use the strips. I'm sure this can be fixed by taping the little packet with the remaining strips shut, but I'm too lazy to do this - my fault.

I can't successfully wear nail polish because the bad texture of my own nails shows through, you can see the ridges and discoloration (thank you Shellac!), so these strips are a godsend, because they hide the texture very well.

They last a really long time, my last install lasted me almost 2 weeks! I only had to remove them because of the growth at the base of the nail, otherwise they still looked pretty good. They do rub off a bit at the tips, but especially with this color, it's unnoticeable.

The price is high, the cheapest I've found is Walmart - almost $9 - but I heard some people find them at the Dollar store...I did find them there once at $2, but the design was ugly as they were made for Halloween lol.

I also have the Lace ? (I forgot the name) ones, they are cute too, but the strip of polish is thicker than Bling it on, and more fragile, it doesn't last more than 5 days on me.

I will try other designs too, because I truly like these.
I will keep buying these, I absolutely love them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 WMUblueeyes89 on 1/20/2015 10:08:00 AM more reviews by WMUblueeyes89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really, really wanted to love these. I purchased my first box (Sweet Marble Floret) at Target, it was about $10. I went home, followed the box directions and applied. It looked nice, but I was wary when the box said it would last 7-10 days. I noticed by day 2 there were chips on 3 nails. By day 4 every nail was chipped to the point that it looked awkward and kind of trashy. The box states you can use polish remover to take them off. Ummm... I spent a good 30 minutes alternating soaking my nails in remover then scrubbing them with a cotton ball. Soak, scrub, soak, scrub. It barely came off and it left gooey globs of the strips all over my fingers. Those stayed for 2 days.
My friend swore by these things and couldn't believe my bad experience so she bought me another box (Bling it on). Again, followed the directions, applied, I didn't even make it a day and it was chipping off. Trying to get that glitter coated strip off my nails was harder than recovering from surgery. It's been 3 days and I still have glitter residue all over my nails and fingers. I look like an out of work stripper. Maybe my nails aren't suited for these, I think it's a nice concept but based off 2 failed attempts I won't be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nailizz on 1/15/2015 3:26:00 AM more reviews by nailizz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love. These. They are adorable, perfect for doing nails in a hurry, no dry time, stay for almost 2 weeks, and they have so many choices.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 11/8/2014 7:41:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first brand of polish strips I have used. I have been very happy with them and I continue to purchase more because they work so well. I have found I can get two uses out of one box. I found this mentioned on a review/to do video and found it very helpful. I apply a strip and then cut with scissors the excess and use it to apply to the same nail on the next hand. Then I file the ends down. The only time I cannot do it is to my thumbs. I find I can get more then 5 days out of each application. My nails grow very fast so I have some nail showing through. Otherwise I could probably get the application to last longer. I will only purchase these if I find them at Dollar Tree because I think they are overpriced for how many uses I can get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cinimini15 on 10/29/2014 7:18:00 PM more reviews by cinimini15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ok I LOVE these. I find I have to put clear nail polish on first then put the sticker down and file away they extra then seal them with clear polish. I find that the packages don't keep the unused strips very well. I only get one set of strips out of the box. Which at 10$ a box is a lot. HOWEVER, when I find them at Dollar Tree, I buy all of them! At a dollar a box it cant be beat. Look at dollar tree first!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 slavetoshopping on 10/3/2014 11:10:00 PM more reviews by slavetoshopping

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love these, super easy to apply, long lasting. I have one complaint: once the pack is opened, the strips dry out and can't be used later on. I like using the patterns on only a few nails and doing a solid coordinating colour on the other nails. I'm bummed out that the leftover strips can't be saved.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilmissmay on 9/17/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by lilmissmay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got these Sally Hansen nail strips on sale for $2.50. They're usually in the $10 range so i've never used them before because I'm addicted to painting my nails. So being so cheap, i thought "why not"
I'm not sure what they were called but they were a shiny black with a few sparkles. I love black nail polish so I was really excited to use them.
I took off my polish, filed my nails, and then buffed them out a bit. I followed the instructions %100, and ended up only being able to use 5 of the strips. The rest of them were all stuck to the plastic piece that you're supposed to peel off, and it was impossible to peel it off of the plastic. I don't know if maybe my hands were too warm or what, but I only managed to do one hand and then I ran out of usable strips. I went back to the drugstore to get another box and they had none left of the kind I used. I am very disappointed. I also found it very hard to properly place them on my nails, I have very long nails so getting the strips to be even on both sides of my nails was extremely difficult. I can't see myself buying these again, even on sale. I'll stick to painting my nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OvaryUp on 9/10/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by OvaryUp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Here's how I use these awesome polish strips: I put down a coat of Orly Bonder before applying and a top coat after. I love to use these as accent nails or tip with polish (try Kitty Kitty with a vampy red, or I Love Lacey with a black tip!). Also, I can use one set for a manicure and pedicure because I have small nails and cut them in half (or thirds for toes).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 debdebarge on 8/27/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by debdebarge

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have been using the French Mani w/ light pink tint. They last 2 wks on me. They are shiny, easy to apply, & I've had compliments. I keep nails pretty sporty/short. And I apply a Shiny Top coat. Love

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DinaD5 on 7/9/2014 1:06:00 AM more reviews by DinaD5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought a few packs of these for friends & my sister as gift fillers this year because they looked so cute. On my way back from a road trip, I decided to treat myself to some for a change and bought the It Girl pink. FYI, I have good nails & followed all instructions to a T. They barely held on (the stick ons) & were very awkward to shape. The ones I managed to get on looked crinkled and like stickers. I'll try a patterned one in the future but defo not the matte colours! I ruined my manicure for nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products