Urban Decay • Urbanglow Cream Highlight • Highlighters

rated 3.5(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 plumblush on 1/21/2013 8:47:00 PM more reviews by plumblush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product is one of those things that I look at and think, "Now why did I buy that?" Despite the fact that I am super duper pale, I purchased a bronzy brown color called Brown Sugar. But really, my gripe isn't with the color. That's my own fault. Rather, I find the formulation to be a majorly greasy. It's slippery to the point of feeling sort of gross. I have very dry skin, so I don't typically mind products that feel oily. But this one feels off even to me. I swatched it in the store on my hand, and the color really is beautiful--sheer and shimmery. But, it won't stay put because it's too dang slippery--even when I'm wearing setting spray. Maybe I'll figure out a better way to use this and edit this review. But for now, I wouldn't repurchase this.

EDIT: Ok, I did figure out how to use this with the help of the youtube gurus. What I now do is use a blush brush to pick up the product and lay it down on my cheekbones and 1/2 onto the apples of my cheeks as I would a blush. Then, I take a fluffy powder brush and buff as though my life depends on it. (Seriously, it requires a lot of buffing.) I finish with a bit of shimmeryish powder so I don't mattify it entirely. Goal! It looks lovely after that--not too muddy or glittery.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AngelWingsXOXO on 11/29/2012 10:50:00 AM more reviews by AngelWingsXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have this in the shade Moonshine. It's in a cute purple compact with a skull on the lid. It gives a soft glowy sheen and the texture of it is perfect. It glides right on. The color is a white base with a pink/coral/peachy sheen. It's not full of glitter or sparkles at all, just teeny tiny bits of shimmer. I would repurchase it, I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RunawayGirl on 11/10/2012 1:24:00 AM more reviews by RunawayGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Sin and I am medium skin tone. I really wanted to like this. It's so unfortunate that this product doesn't fit to my needs of a cream highlighter. When I placed it on my cheeks it comes on as a lovely shimmer but when you blend it, the glowiess disappears and you're left with speckles of glitter and sparkle. I barely try to blend it so it wouldn't be less pigmented but the color would fade nontheless. I even packed on more of it which turned out badly into a greasey mess ball. I might be asking for a little bit too much but I wanted to have that Kim Kardashian glow in every room I walk in but it would only show it in direct florescent light, and don't get me started on direct sunlight. 5 words: Edward-Cullens-The-Twinkle-Fairy.
This was a little above 30 bucks Canadian.
I rate two lippies for color and packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shirohanamaru on 10/26/2012 2:28:00 PM more reviews by shirohanamaru

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have Urbanglow in Wicked, which is a pale shimmering pink champagne color. I love the formula on this product and the compact-style packaging, which is very sturdy and has a mirror included. The formula is like a thin, slippery cream, but stops short of feeling oily. The color blends great with my super-pale skin, and I can use it all over my face and collarbone without breaking out. I have used it over bare skin and mineral foundation and it lasts for about 6-8 hours.

Although I love the compact because it is so easy to travel with, the designs on it wore off fairly easily. That is the only complaint about the product, but I do wish that UD would come out with more shades, because Wicked can get overly glittery/shimmery very quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mauvellous on 7/7/2012 7:59:00 PM more reviews by mauvellous

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I bought Sin because I was looking for a gold highlighter. It's greasy, and some of the glitter remains on your skin after the highlighter fades (which is usually in a few hours).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amycarter on 7/5/2012 2:55:00 PM more reviews by amycarter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried this in both "sin" and "moonshine"

Moonshine: WORST highlighter I have ever tried. Ever. I gave this two lippies for the "sin" colour. Moonshine gets no lippies. It is pink and awful on the cheekbones. As the girl below said, it looks like pink eyeshadow on your cheekbones. I got this through a swap and would never re-purchase. Even with blending it looks glittery and pink

Sin: Better colour than moonshine, but has TONS of micro-glitter in it. You will have less of a 'glow' and more of a 'sparkle' if you use this. I was looking for something more like my Smash-box 2-in-1 primer and highlighter (because it is discontinued)...but this is just not it. NOT worth the money you pay for it...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 manateehj on 5/13/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by manateehj

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I put this on in moonshine and my friend thought that i was wearing pink eye shadow on my cheekbones! the packaging is much smaller than i expected and i will not repurchase. For the same price, Benefit High Beam would be a much better option.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkchopstix13 on 4/27/2012 11:03:00 AM more reviews by pinkchopstix13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Moonshine and overall Iím pleased but itís not the best highlighter I have used or anything like that. This shade has a kind of weird multicolor sheen to it at first but it does look pretty on my cheekbones. The compact is small enough and easy carry on the go but I do not like this style because it feels unhygienic wiping my fingers in it all of the time. Also, my skin runs a little dry so the formula feels nice on me but this might be too greasy for people with oilier complexions.

I got this for a crazy cheap price on Hautelook so I didn't expect too much but I'm enjoying it so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 notfalling028 on 4/21/2012 4:53:00 PM more reviews by notfalling028

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My main issue with Urbanglow is that it feels too greasy on my face and the finish looks very unnatural and over the top, although I've tried two different shades. Overall, there are much better options available from other brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* christi4200 on 3/2/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by christi4200

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very pretty highlighter. It's not the best one I have, which is why I didn't give it a 5, but it's definitely gorgeous. I prefer a subtle (but not TOO subtle if that makes sense) highlighter that is not glittery, but is shimmery and iridescent.. .that being said, this does have some glitter in it, but not enough to make me hate it. It definitely can be toned down. If a little bit is used, it can subtly highlight your cheekbones, browbones, cupid's bow, etc.

I have the shade Sin, which is a pearly, champagne color, great for light to medium skintones, warm or cool toned I'd imagine. I'm NC30-40 (depending on the season) and it's a good color for me. The formula is creamy, but once blended in turns more powdery. I wouldn't necessarily call this a classic cream to powder texture tho, it's more creamy than anything else. You can use your fingers to blend this, or a synthetic brush. I like to use my highlighting/contour brush from Real Techniques, which is a small egg shaped brush, and is absolutely fantastic for highlighting! I must say as a side note, to anyone looking for affordable, quality brushes, Real Techniques are amazing!!

Anyway, I think if you're looking for a pretty cream highlighter, you probably won't be disappointed with this. It comes in 4 shades I think, so you'll definitely be able to find something to flatter your skintone. If you want something extremely subtle, this probably isn't for you, altho, like I said, you can totally tone it down or amp it up depending on the look you're going for. Definitely go into Sephora and try it out first! It's $24 for 5 grams, which actually isn't bad compared to a lot of other brands. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Highlighters products