Elizabeth Arden • Pure Finish Tinted Moisturizer • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 ristari on 9/13/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by ristari

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The product I am reviewing is Elizabeth Arden Pure Finish Mineral Tinted Moisturiser.
I was looking for a replacement for my discontinued Clinique tinted moisturiser and read a review on this in a magazine, so I thought I'd give it a try.
I picked the Medium 03 shade which seemed to suit my MAC NW40 tone well. I thought the coverage, while light, was good for a tinted moisturiser.
Unfortunately after a few hours of wear, I found my face started to itch and it ended with me scratching half the moisturiser off (I could see it accumulating under my nails!). I've heard that some people do get itchy from mineral makeup, this is the first mineral makeup I've tried though so I'm not sure if it's me or the product. I also found the product sat on top of my skin instead of being absorbed into it (I applied with my fingertips). In the meantime I have switched to using Maybelline BB cream, which I prefer, and won't be buying this product again.
Pros:-
- SPF20
- good coverage for a tinted moisturiser
Cons:-
- made my face itch after a few hours of wear
- price is a bit expensive
- Was not absorbed into my skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kiwiblue on 9/3/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by Kiwiblue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am really surprised how good this tinted moisturiser is. My skin is combination - oily t-zone mostly - so I thought this would be awful. In fact it gives a good light coverage, more blurring than covering and a nice glow.
I get a little oily at the end of the day but no worse than with my usual moisturiser. I have light 02 which is more a dark medium than a light, looks a little dark on me in the winter but will be perfect in summer.
Overall a very nice product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blueblackwhite on 7/17/2013 5:27:00 AM more reviews by blueblackwhite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think it's a pretty good product. I ordered this tinted moisturizer online, so I wasn't aware how dark the shades were. I got it in shade Light 02 which is great for summer when I'm a bit more tanned because although it's called light, it's still quite dark.

It evens out my skin tone but doensn't cover my acne scars but it's ok because I can use concealer where I need it. I also like that it doesn't make me oily. However, I wish they had better color selection and higher SPF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Iamsheherazade on 5/23/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by Iamsheherazade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I haved used most of the tube (so I guess it's been about two and little more months). At first I thought this was a lovely little tinted mosturizer and still like the feel when I apply it (not too greasy) and the smell (clean). My colour is Fair. In the last couple of weeks I am noticing that it is oxidizing on me. My first clue was when two different people mentioned I was getting such a tan (I do not tan). My second when I remove it at night with a pre-moistened makeup remover cloth, it looks orange/red on the white cloth. So, in the end, it looks like another product fail for me. Today I truly looked sunburnt as it turned red on me. Because of my results I can only give it two lippies. Maybe you will have better luck.


*.-~*´¨*¨`*•~-.¸-Iamsherazade-,.-~*´¨*¨`*•~-.*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FreedomDiva on 3/23/2013 10:48:00 AM more reviews by FreedomDiva

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The exact name of the product I'm reviewing is Pure Finish Mineral Tinted Moisture Cream SPF 15. So a little backround about my skin, I have always struggled with bad skin my whole life, it looks blotchy, very large pores, very prone to clogged pores from new products. I always knew I needed to use foundation to cover my imperfect skin, but most products would break me out, so I went out with bare skin my whole life, until I found out about this!

This comes out as a thickish cream (but not emollient/greasy), it gives a nice radiant look to the face and covers pretty well, I'd say sheer/medium. While it doesn't cover a lot of my acne scars, it still gives a nice slightly glowy finish to the face. I don't use a moisturiser with it as it does moisturize, it has several good skincare ingredients such as sodium hyaluronate, Vit E, A and C and it has SPF 15. I'm just thinking, doesn't that make it similar to a BB cream ?

I am in love with this product, and happy to find a product that I can use daily, it stays on all day and most importantly it does not break me out !! The only thing I have to say is that the colour range is not very good, I have fair/medium skin and I use #02, but could use #01 too. I just think that people with pale skin will probably not find a good colour match with this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 peachy2000 on 3/11/2013 5:38:00 PM more reviews by peachy2000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This great great product. Coverage is very good for a tinted moisturiser, albeit a little matt, I do like a very dewy look rather than matt. The colour 03 is a little pink and light for me so I mix it with the 04 which seems to be better. It feels very nice on the skin and lasts quite well. I will use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 8/12/2012 12:40:00 PM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Needed something sheer that would travel well, not cost an arm and a leg, and match my NW15 complexion well. This tinted moisturizer has just enough coverage for my good skin. In Fair 01, it's a near-perfect match. I don't know about the South Texas gal who reviewed this back in 2010 who also has NW15 skin and found Fair to be too orange; maybe EA reformulated it since then.
Fair disappears on me while giving a bit of coverage where I need it (rosacea on cheeks, for example). I paid $30 for the tube, which was less than any other foundation I looked at. For evening, I can see using this with a dusting of my MAC Studio Fix over it for more coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LIXIVIUM on 4/7/2012 5:46:00 AM more reviews by LIXIVIUM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the lightest colour but it is so dark on me! I look dark and red! Horrible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 conceal4ever on 1/28/2012 1:37:00 PM more reviews by conceal4ever

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for probably 6 years. It used to be called Sheer Lights but has been re-formulated into the Pure Finish line with almost identical packaging.

This is an amazing tinted moisturizer that smooths out the color of your skin without a thick heavy coverage. I have oily combination skin and can't use heavy liquid foundations without my face becoming very oily by the end of the day. This is a perfect alternative for me.

I wear it underneath a pressed powder in the summer and a power foundation in the winter and it's perfect coverage for me. For those of you like me who don't like the heavy liquid foundations, please try this one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crashedandburn on 1/9/2012 9:01:00 AM more reviews by crashedandburn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Love this product. Originally bought it in medium after a wrong recommendation from a clueless sales person, and it was so horribly ORANGE. Like a Anne Hathaway from Bride Wars. Went back and switched it for light.

I have all sorts of skin problems, I have eczema, both dry and oily skin, and am prone to acne, so I have really blotchy, red, flaky and sensitive skin, and am really picky with the stuff I use. This moisturiser helped so much with the dry skin, and there are no more, or very few flakes. No matter how bad my skin might be, I absolutely hate cakey and thick makeup because it looks extremely fake, so I just use this with MAC loose powder, my face looks so much better, and best of all, it looks natural! It's nice and light, does not clog my pores, and is long lasting! I also live in an extremely humid tropical country, and this does not make my face oily or uncomfortable. However, if you like heavier coverage, this is not for you.
Also, you don't have to use much for the entire face, so it is worth the price.

The only problem I have with this is that even after switching it to light, it's still slightly orange if I put just a little too much! I already have warm, Asian skin, so imagine how orange this actually is. Just be careful in buying the right shade for your face!

EDIT: Though I still think this is a good product, but I've switched to Laura Mercier's TM, which matches my skin tone. I will not purchase this product again, simply because I've found something better.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Tinted Moisturizer products