Kerastase Elixir Ultime

3.8

143 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol, Zea Mays / Corn Germ Oil, Argania Spinosa Oil / Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Camellia Kissi / Camellia Kissi Seed Oil, Pentaclethra Macroloba Oil / Pentaclethra Macroloba Seed Oil, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Limonene, Coumarine, Benzyl Alcohol, Parfum / Fragrance.


on 3/25/2015 5:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This time I asked my hairdresser to use it on my hair, just to see how it will feel. And It felt right.
Then I bought it.
Right now it is one of my favourite products as it leaves my frizzy thick hair soft and easier to manage.
How I use it:
- I wash my hair, I towel dry and then I apply a small amount and work it through my hair.
- then I blowdry and I feel it helps with the drying process also.
It does not weight down my hair, it doesn't affect the time between washings. It works just great.
I like the consistency and the bottle will last for a very long time, until I will get bored with it or it will expire.

As with every leave in product, one should be careful and not apply too much. It's better to just add some more if we find it's not enough, that to end up with a disaster.



on 3/6/2015 5:40:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I believe Kerastase is part of L'Oreal. Personally I find similar types of each of these brands work VERY similarly. I always buy the L'Oreal version because it's a lot less expensive.


on 3/6/2015 2:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my first Kerastase purchase and sadly I wasn't really WOW'd by this product. I have less expensive products that do more for my hair than this. I have medium thickness, ombre dyed, shoulder length hair. My ends have been feeling a bit dry ever since I dyed it, but I've been using Davines Oi conditioner and oil which has done wonders...perhaps more so than the Kerastase. Buuut I do use the Kerastase as a pre-shampoo hair mask (2 pumps along ends) and then one pump as a leave in product. I find that this does not help the frizzies, nor does it add any shine. I do appreciate the fact that it doesn't weigh down my hair, but it is just so expensive for doing not a lot for my hair. Not to mention I HATE the scent of this...it's a weird overpowering sweet/floral/powdery horribleness that just assaults my nose.


on 2/25/2015 8:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I like that this serum does not weigh down my fine frizzy highlighted damaged hair: I tried it as a pre shampoo treatment and it was very hard to wash out had to use ALOT of shampoo. Then I tried it on damp hair letting it air dry and it left my hair limp and frizzy I also tried it on dry hair after styling. I was underwhelmed. I think this product gave most noticeable results on dry hair making it feel softer and a little bit shinier and healthier but to me it just coated my hair and didnt feel like it penetrated into the hair. For the price of this product there are other options out there that do the same thing at half the price. I wont repurchase this. The smell is also not pleasant to me. I do however love lkerastases green line for my damaged hair its amazing, the mask and ciment thermique in particular

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2015 2:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I know this is silly but the Loreal Extraordinary Oil works better on my hair.. both in winter and summer...


on 1/17/2015 5:31:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I normally love Kerastase products and find them to be top quality, but this one for me didn't fit. The texture was too heavy for my fine shoulder length hair, and the scent was unbearable--very strong, suntan oil-like smell and overbearing with no dissipation--I adore the scents in some of their other products (Cristalliste, Fluidissime), so I was very surprised. Some people might like this, but as personal preference, I will not repurchase.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I see so many people compared this Elixir ultime hair oil with Oleo relax serum, which I think a totally different product. I bought both products though (which cost a lot x'D) First of all, this hair oil and serum is not the same, therefore, of course, works differently. I have fine, natural dark brown, straight, virgin, bra strap-long hair, quite oily on the roots, and no split ends..
my hair is not frizzy yet I love to try hair products, lol.
Oleo Relax serum is made for people with frizzy and unmanageable hair, I applied this serum on damp hair, and it makes my hair really soft and frizzy-less, it also did not weight my hair down. however, this product makes my hair color slightly lighter (idk why) and my hair becomes a bit more oily on the night.
The elixir ultime hair oil in gold, tend to give more moisture to my hair (of course more oily) I love this product more as it gives the soft glossy healthy look, i use this right after styling my hair with a straightener, remember, apply only adequate amount, as if you apply more, your hair will be weighed down and terribly oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2014 11:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am a long time user of the Oleo-Relax and because of the reviews, looked into this. It has additional oil elements and that is a good thing but it failed in performance. The difference between this and Oleo-Relax is that this is greasier and if you have a heavy hand in using products, like myself, this product will not work for you. After several minutes, Oleo-Relax disappears and goes in the texture of the hair. This one sits on top.


on 11/6/2014 3:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Nope, this didn't do anything for me at all. I have a history of bleaching my shoulder-length hair and some heat damage, and this did not do anything more to my hair than any drug store oil would do. It kinda coated my hair, but for the price I expected a lot better results. Smell is average too. Honestly considering selling my bottle after only a few uses, because I switched back to Moroccan oil which is a lot more effective. Do not recommend

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have dry, thick , and frizzy hair and it's really unruly! :( I bought this ready to give up on all types of oils as I have tried tons of oils.... that work for a couple of hours and then my hair gets oily or frizzy again.
As soon as put the drop of oil in my hair NO JOKE it changed in an instant...!! like magic! from dry and frizzy to smooth and really shiny! Im not too crazy about the coconut-ish scent, but because of the results I'll let it pass.
My mom who has FRIED and damaged hair tried a couple of drops and was shocked to see the amazing results! It was smooth and shiny like hair! She was ilke "this is amazing!, i must buy a bottle for myself!"

I would purchase this product again without a doubt!! It's amazing!!


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
47 Reviews


Top Rated Kerastase Products

image

Ciment Thermique

267 reviews
image

Nectar Thermique

130 reviews
image

Oleo-Relax Serum

313 reviews
Back to Top