Tom Ford • Black Orchid EDP • Fragrances

rated 3.9(90 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Jamilynn90 on 12/3/2014 9:16:00 PM more reviews by Jamilynn90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

When I first tried this perfume on inside Sephora, it almost made me sick. I could not wait to get home and wash it off. Within 5 minutes of leaving the store, I could not believe how great it smelled on my skin. I went back the next day and bought it. This is now my signature scent and I can't imagine going without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CalamityG on 9/24/2014 3:33:00 AM more reviews by CalamityG

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Another reviewer said this smelled like dirt. Spot on. I tried a sample and although it was overpowering at first I gave it the benefit of the doubt.
Ten minutes later I had another tentative sniff and said to my friend "It smells like soil".

The most "Emporors New Clothes" fragrance I've ever come across.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 9/23/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It is very strong, musky scent with some spicy and woody notes in it. I do not feel any citrus or any sweet note. I thought it is a cologne for men. I do not like it on woman, sorry. Just way too arrogant and aggressive scent. I can imagine a well-matched couple where man wears Black Orchid and his lady - Flowerbomb. And I would stay away from them (or get sick).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 8/17/2014 12:46:00 PM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Love it or hate it, you can't argue with the fact that this fragrance is extremely well executed. Though I've heard some say that women under 25 will have a hard time pulling it off, I will gladly step up to the challenge, as I would be happy to wear this museum-piece of a fragrance. It is a balmy and spicy fragrace that also manages to stay close to the skin( and blended surprisingly well with my skin's chemistry). Some notes I smell are patchouli, Gardenia and of course, orchid. And don't even get me started on the bottle- it's elegance would complement just about any vanity.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 2labs on 6/11/2014 2:14:00 AM more reviews by 2labs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Nope. I sprayed some of this on myself and almost gagged. I got the distinct smell of wet dirt and faeces…..with bite. I wasn't willing to leave it on (and offend others in the process) long enough to see whether or not I enjoyed the dry down.

On the positive side, I quite like the bottle.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 6/8/2014 9:52:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've used several samples of this perfume on and off for a few months now. It's a (very) strong, musky scent. It's unique and sexy even, especially for a night out. It may now be appropriate for every day use to the office, etc. because it is quite prominent. It lasts all day and all night, staying strong throughout. Sometimes when I'm wearing it and catch a whiff of it I love it and other times it makes me sick. I find men in general love these strong musky scents on a woman, especially if there's any hint of vanilla within them. However, I haven't really come across many men who like this as it is too strong. I suppose this all comes down to personal preference and what the occasion is, like with any fragrance choice. As far as the strong scents go, I'd go with Burberry Touch or See by Chloe over this one. Not only are those a little more gentle on the senses but also on your wallet!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snkatha on 5/22/2014 10:51:00 AM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This perfume is weird! I used one spritz on my arm & didn't need to move it to my nose to smell it. There's an almost citrusy herbal smell that hits me between the eyes. This juice is strong & has monster sillage. The drydown gets smoother, deeper & the chocolate scent comes through. There's also a mossy, mushroomy scent, it smells like something dank & green in the best way! Then i get the patchouli. Sometimes i get a whif of the dark mushroomy smell, other times the green herby note, other times i get the deep chocolate scent. This perfume is a morpher! I can definitely see why this perfume is so well known & loved almost as much as it's hated. This perfume has a personality with a capital P! The reason i gave it 3 stars is that while it's beautiful, i'm afraid it isn't very me! I love that it isn't very feminine, i can definitely see a guy wearing the heck out of this! Great scent, but not for me.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 su on 5/7/2014 7:20:00 AM more reviews by su

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried it today, I liked it though it seems quite masculine and heavy for summertime. Maybe I'll try this next winter. By the moment, I still prefer Violet Blonde.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 5/6/2014 10:32:00 AM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My review is for migraine sufferers, like me, who may not be able to wear most fragrances due to the propensity to wind up incapacitated from it. I received a broken sample atomizer of this, so I was able to smell it without actually spraying it. It is VERY strong (it got it on my finger and it is still strong after I washed my hands) and masculine, and would thus likely trigger a migraine.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 4/16/2014 9:10:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got a free spray sample of this from Sephora and there is no way I will purchase a full bottle. It is very strong and complex and also long lasting (I can still smell it the next day - and you need to showere to get it off.

I loved the top note(s) initially - with a sweet floral with a gourmand quality but the woodsy/cinnabarish base notes do not work on me at all.

Too heavy, and way too sexy for work.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products