Unlisted Brand • Frutique-Papaya Enzyme exfoliating gel • Skincare - Face

rated 4.4(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kiaboo1980 on 5/23/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by kiaboo1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't care what anybody says, I love this product. Believe me, I am very cynical when it comes to products and am not easily fooled. At first, I was a little skeptical when I bought this but even I have to admit that it works. Not all peeling gels are created equal and some are just bottles of junk. However, this one actually works.

This really exfoliates the skin. I've been using it for 6-8 months once or twice a week and have gotten very good results. It's a clear gel that smells of papaya enzymes, which has kind of a bitter scent. I wash my face, wait until it dries, then rub this on my face for about 30 seconds. In that short amount of time it thoroughly exfoliates my skin, believe it or not. Afterwards, my skin is glowing and very smooth. It has never irritated my skin or broken me out.

It's not the product balling up; it's dead skin. How do I know this? Well, I did a little experiment. I tested it on the back of my hand. The skin on my hands was very dry and really needed to be exfoliated. I used one pump on the back of my hands, massaged it in and of course TONS of dead skin came off. Okay, I rinsed, dried and repeated the process. Guess what? No dead skin the second time around! The product didn't "ball" up; it just turned to liquid. If it was the product itself balling up, then why didn't it happen the second time? You see, it only exfoliates DEAD skin cells. You can't over exfoliate with this product and that's why I love it so much. I highly recommend it to anyone, especially those with sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowwgirl on 10/23/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by snowwgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Don't get fooled like I did. This is not exfoliating your dead skin .Got sucked into buying this because of reading reviews on Japanese cleaners. I thought " Wow, day after day, more dead skin off. "Then I looked at Chemists Corner for information about these formulations and how they work. They said its actually the formula ingredients balling up on your skin ( the reaction takes place on skin only, not counters or books or anywhere else you try and rub it) but consumers like to believe its dead skin. Big fail.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lisa1 on 10/23/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by lisa1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

FANTASTIC PRODUCT! Tried it last night. It's a very light watery gel. You put it on dry clean skin and rub in for 30 seconds and it instantly balls up your dead skin cells and takes them away. I rinsed it off very easily (don't know why the comments about it doesnt come off easilyl) and i felt my face. SMOOTHER THAN IT'S EVER BEEN. I have some chin acne and even smoothed that out. I also tried the Apricot Mask afterward. Two very very amazing products. It says to only use twice a week but i'm going to do it every other day and see what happens. My skin is very not sensitive. WOW! RUN OUT AND BUY THIS IMMEDIATELY! !!!!! If i could give this product 100 stars i would! It cost $10 with a coupon at Sally's. Amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lostinbk on 10/16/2013 6:06:00 PM more reviews by lostinbk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my first review, but it was worth writing about. I once used a dead sea mineral exfoliant gel when I worked at the mall and got suckered into buying it. I had 3 part time jobs though and I was a lot younger, so I didn't have a solid skin care routine set up, and I didn't even end up finishing the jar. Lately my skin has been drying up and my pores are large so I looked into getting the Cure cleansing gel from Japan, because that dead sea mineral gel exfoliant worked so well!! It's 30 dollars right now on amazon, and although I've heard for the most part its worth the money, I spent an awful long time looking for a dupe. Someone from MUA pointed me to this from their Cure review. I have sensitive skin that goes between combination and dry, with redness, which is why I have been looking for something without a manual exfoliant. This did not make the redness worse, and it made my skin glow afterward. I use this at night so I don't have to worry about any increased sensitivity to the sun (even with spf care, my pale skin will turn really red in the heat). When I put on products after I use Frutique, they seem to work better, making my skin soft even upon waking. I read some reviews talking about how when the gel balled up, it would stick to hair and was a pain to get off. I didn't have that problem, but I did rinse it off fairly quickly because I read that. However, sometimes my skin will have a bit of tackiness afterward, but it goes away immediately after I put my night cream on my damp face. Hope this helped :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RoCoco on 9/23/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by RoCoco

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I'd been reading up on Japanese skincare recently, and enjoying the results, so I thought I'd give this (cheaper) product a try before buying the Cure stuff others have mentioned.

I got sucked in because Sally's had a buy 1, get 1 on the Frutique line, so I got the cleanser and the exfoliator. Turns out I liked them both so well I got more exfoliator gel and the rest of the line, LOL!

For me, the exfoliating gel is a bit rough for my face, but it's perfect for my elbows and upper arms, my hands, my chest, feet, legs and other bits that need a bit of exfoliating that aren't quite as sensitive.

I rub it on before I get in the shower, then rinse and rub gently with a puff to get it off, then get on with the rest of my shower.

The main thing I notice is that the product tends to ball up around strands of hair, so if you've got a peach-fuzzy face like me, it might be a bit of a hassle. (Most of the hair on my face is translucent, pretty much invisible unless you look REALLY closely in the mirror. Hard to see, but there.) I think, for me, the irritation from the product is related to all the hair pulling that seems to be an inevitable result of removing the little balls of product. I could be wrong, and as I say, I'll mostly be using this on parts of my body that aren't quite so prone to redness, so it won't really be an issue.

Another thing: Do NOT get this stuff in your hair! Mine's pretty long, and when I got a bit of product on it, it was kind of hard to remove, in fact, I had to work pretty hard to rinse it away. Definitely not something I want to repeat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lyfegoes on 5/17/2013 3:45:00 PM more reviews by lyfegoes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I initially really liked this product. The first 2/3 times it was great! My skin was smooth, glowing and soft to touch. After using it for about 2 weeks my OILY skin was becoming dry and tight =( I was using this 2/3 time a week.

This product does last a long time, and the packaging is easy to use nice pump bottle however it is just too harsh for my skin and is not all that natural. I think this would be good for people that don't have sensitive skin. You certainly get exfoliation, a little too much! I switched over to a actual natural product. Indian Glow-ubtan( see my review on Indian Glow Face and Body Exfoliator- Ubtan) This is a few dollars more but works wonders as if u were getting professional facials every week.

Bottom line: This is a good exfoilator, but if you have sensitive skin I would not recommended because it exfoliates too much and it's a bit harsh. If your skin is not as sensitive I think this is a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattiekins05 on 4/20/2013 3:41:00 AM more reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

what a cool ptoduct. i bought this yesterday at sallys after asking the sales associate for a good exfoliator for my face. I ended up buying it, bringing it home and using it right away to see what all the hype was about. I loved it! it got rid of dead skin i was convinced i didnt even have- sering as though just shortly before i washed my fave with an exfoliating cleaner and i used my nutregena wave. Found out there was a whole lot more dead skin still there... was amzing how the product worked. Afterward, my skin was glowing, and it was extremely soft. I am giving this product 4and lippies because trying to get all the dead skin shedding off your face is more work than what it seems. i had to take an exfoliating sponge to get it all off- some of the skin was ultra stuburn to get off... and it took longer than what i would normally take for another exfoliant. overall its a great product and i would highly recommend it to other viewers! <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nirvarna0 on 4/7/2013 10:43:00 PM more reviews by Nirvarna0

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a dupe for the Japanese product Cure. After searching for about a year for a product that works like Cure (without the $40 price tag), I read some reviews that pointed me to Frutique. I just bought it today for about $14 and I can say that it does work the same. The only difference I can tell is that it very sticky. I have to wash my face again after using this. But totally worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 3/21/2013 10:10:00 AM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff soo much. I use Retin a so I still after months am getting dry patches and flaking around my chin area.(thanks winter) A while ago I went to Sally's and picked up some Frutique products but not this for some reason. The SA was raving about it and how it just removes dead skin. I didn't believe it till I tried it. All I can say is wow!! The dead skin comes off gently I use about 1 and 1/2 pumps and that seems to do the job well. I concentrate on the areas that need the most exfoliation and I am just so happy. I have oily/dry aka combo skin and I think this product could be used on all skin types. The price under 12 bucks is very reasonable and it really works!! Plus it lasts such a long time,

I kid you not and it takes a lot in a skincare product for it to impress me. I had no problems rinsing off the skin I just use cooler water. I wash with a gentle cleanser before hand, towel dry the go to town with this. Now the results I had blackheads around my nose area they are all cleaned out. No matter what I did I couldn't get rid of them till this. I think this product actually goes into the pore to remove the crud lol. I love it and will buy this over and over again. I especially recommend it for people using retinoids because you know how much peeling you get. You get a lot of product and it's all stuff that is good for your skin.

Frutique has become one of my favorite skin care lines! they do what they say and I luv that I also have not had any bad reactions at all from these products. This I will say is my HG product for exfoliating. Love this stuff! Highly recommended!!

EDIT: B/c it's so hard to get off no joke I us a gentle scrub after or a good washcloth to get the dead skin off it's a total biotch. I have noticed a difference in my skin so to me it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JoleenBounds on 1/27/2013 11:04:00 AM more reviews by JoleenBounds

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Does anybody know which of the ingredients in the Frutique gel that makes the dead skin come off?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products