Hourglass • Film Noir Full Spectrum • Mascara

rated 4.2(45 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 xpudding on 1/21/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by xpudding

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this mascara! I'm a contact lens wearer, and my eyes get irritated very easily. No issues with fallout or eye irritation with this mascara, and I love how long, thick, lifted, and soft it makes your lashes look (no crunchy, spidery, cakey lashes!). I only gave it a 4 rather than a 5 because I do find that it dries out faster than some of my other mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StretchyElephant on 9/14/2013 5:03:00 PM more reviews by StretchyElephant

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Absolutely love this mascara! I like full thick separated lashes, no clumpy spider lashes for me! This mascara gave me exactly that, and it was nice and black. Every lash was intensified, and even when I first opened the tube the formula was never too wet or gooky. I've never had such great results with a mascara. My lashes are dark and long-ish already but really nothing to write home about...this mascara gave me extra-beautiful fluttery lashes that everyone noticed!
I'd love to say that it's my HG but it's far too expensive for me to purchase on the regular, but just know that it's COMPLETELY worth it if you're thinking of splurging. I used this mascara for as long as I possibly could; even when it was finally too dried out I washed and still use the brush. I used the mascara by itself and in tandem with some of my other favorites (Jordana Best Lash Extreme, Clinique High Impact Mascara, Buxom Lash) as well as with mascaras I hated and the results were always beautiful. I agree that drugstore mascaras can of course give you big beautiful lashes, but this blew every mascara I've used out of the water and definitely justified the expense. When I can I WILL repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilahtov1 on 6/24/2013 9:52:00 AM more reviews by lilahtov1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this mascara. Does everything you want--volumizes, lengthens without clumps or hardening your lashes. My only complaint is its performance lessens with time. This is a mascara that you'll have to replace after a few months, not necessarily after you've used it up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mexpert on 6/20/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by mexpert

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Love this mascara! Doesn't smudge on my Asian eyes! Holds a curl, dries very black, and gives a ton of volume and length!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gurlypowa on 6/19/2013 11:47:00 PM more reviews by gurlypowa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this mascara. the best thing about it is that it does not leave your eyelashes crunchy. it doesn't clump either. it is very volumizing, and lengthening. i used to use Dior Show mascara, but I found it to be too crunchy. this one is perfect.

I found that when I first used it, it was a little too thin in consistency, so I had to layer it on 3 times, but couple weeks later, it thickened up (but did not produce clumps).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 claratea on 6/19/2013 2:08:00 PM more reviews by claratea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My HG mascara, finally after so long I found a mascara that is dramatic but still defines each lash. Doesn't flake or smudge at all and I wear contacts and constantly touch my eye so usually all my eye makeup is smeared by the end of the day. Not this stuff!

Love the weightly feel of the packaging too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DrMH on 5/21/2013 6:32:00 PM more reviews by DrMH

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I am on my third tube of this product. It is priced at $52.00 (NZ) here in New Zealand so its a higher end product ( I buy from Mecca Cosmetica at Kirkcaldie and Stains). It is an excellent mascara. Not a particularly lengthening product, but it makes my lashes thick and lush, no clumping and best of all no smudging, smearing or wear. And I have tried more than a 100 mascaras on the market over a number of years (as I have problems with smearing and smudging) and this is the only mascara that has stayed put on my lashes instead of my face! I will continue to buy it. It doesn't dry out quickly in the tube, and with every day wear a tube lasts me about 2 months. One small thing is that it takes some doing to get off. I use good old petroleum jelly (Vaseline) and that does the trick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AngelaywHo on 4/11/2013 5:30:00 AM more reviews by AngelaywHo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I had such high hope on this mascara but it let me down I have to say..

It gives good length, holds the curl and defined my lashes but it smears after couple of hours, so it is a no for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 buttons723 on 2/23/2013 7:04:00 PM more reviews by buttons723

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite mascara that I've tried so far. I love that the brush is not too big and it separates your lashes beautifully. It works great on the top and bottom lashes. The formula is slightly dry, but I enjoy this aspect since it helps keep your lashes separate and it's almost impossible to make them clumpy. This gives me a very natural look with 1-2 coats, or I can build it up slightly for a made-up (but still not dramatic) look. It stays put for the most part, though sometimes if I'm outside a long time it'll smudge under my lash line a little (I have very oily skin though).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edgexofxdesire on 2/2/2013 11:17:00 PM more reviews by edgexofxdesire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm usually very hesitant to try out a high end mascara because I feel like the drugstore mascaras are just as good as anything in Sephora for 1/4 of the price. But I'd never seen so many people rave about a mascara before I came across the Hourglass Film Noir, so I had to give it a try. This mascara is 100% worth the hype. Like all high end mascaras the Hourglass Film Noir is grossly overpriced, but the product itself is lovely. The color is rich and black without being sooty or greasy looking. The formula is perfect--not too wet, not at all dry--and the brush is amazing. Again, I was hesitant at first because I've never had an hourglass shaped brush and I was unsure of how my lashes would react. But the brush is the perfect size and shape to coat, separate and define every single eyelash. On top of that, I haven't had to worry at all about mascara getting onto my eyelid or my browbone as I'm applying this, and I've never experienced any flaking or smudging throughout the day. I did take one lippie away because Hourglass claims that this will add volume, which is something I haven't seen at all. Other than that (and the price), this is a top notch mascara that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Mascara products