E.L.F. Studio Makeup Mist & Set Spray

3.7

354 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), AMP-Acrylates/Allyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Leaf Juice, Green Tea (Camelia Sinensis) Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vc), Tocophryl Acetate (Ve) Retinyl Acytate (Va), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben.


on 3/27/2015 6:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Smells like rubbing alcohol but works as well as NYXs setting spray so I'll repurchase. Definitely made my foundation look less cakey and last longer.



on 3/25/2015 11:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use this to spray on brush to apply foiled more intense look for eyeshadow. Have also been using it as a primer water and it has been working out great like that as well. It is not sticky so it works well for both purposes. Will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2015 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I only used it as a setting spray and I have to say it was nothing special. Smelled funky (well, it smelled like water) and left my face feeling sticky. I'd tried it both before and after applying my makeup and either way my makeup didn't last any longer than not using it. Might have tried using it like how other reviewers have mentioned, if only I hadn't ended up tossing it.


on 3/6/2015 6:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the first makeup setting spray that I've used, so I've not much to compare it to. However, I will say this is an amazing spray for the price!

PROS:
-super cheap
-makes my makeup last a SIGNIFICANTLY longer time
-lasts in humid, hot temperatures (I've worn this in 100F / 37C weather)

CONS:
-none I can think of!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This was a tough one for me. It doesn't particularly 'set' my make up but it does make it last a little longer. I usually use it to soften up a powdery face.
Does not break me out, but smells like rotten bananas.

the spray is definitely too much, so i spray it on a brush and pat it onto my face.
price point for $3 i would buy it again


on 2/25/2015 5:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Does it mist? of course it does. Does it set? Nope it's kinda like spraying scented water on your face. It actually made my makeup worse. Within 30 minutes of application my face was a mess. Only consolation is the price its super cheap. It doesn't smell bad it Doesn't smell great either. The packaging is okay I guess, it's small and easy to throw in the bag the cap stays on too. Its just a glorified bottle of water really.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 11:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a good inexpensive spray. For me it doesn't increase the longevity of my foundation, but it does take that powdery look away. I use Revlon Colorstay so I'm not looking for a setting spray to increase the longevity of my foundation. I just wanted a spray that would give a more natural finish. That's what the E.L.F spray does. The mist isn't as fine as I would like it to be compared to other sprays. For $3 it's worth it in my opinion though. It doesn't break me out either.


on 2/14/2015 11:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

But please- spray it BEFORE u apply mascara and eyeliner- it WILL run. Lesson learned the hard way.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2015 2:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great stuff! Makes my makeup last longer and works the same as the Urban decay one. It doesn't feel quite as good going on and it takes a little longer to dry but it has the same effect and is WAY cheaper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2015 1:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

You know how some guys are great on paper, but meh in real life and then others surprise you by exceeding all your expectations. Well this spray is like the latter kind of guy. Absolutely stinks as a setting spray but is an HG, work horse multi-tasker I have bought many many times over.

Pros:
- amazing for dampening makeup brushes & much better than water - shadow is more vibrant, shadow also becomes budge proof liner for those with oily kids, powder foundation can be applied with more coverage and staying powder & thick concealers sheer down a bit and resists creasing
- lightly hydrating - I bring this with me when flying - so amazing and refreshing for skin
- sprayed on a qtip - is great at cleaning makeup mistakes
- It will take the powdery look off skin in a pinch (ideally decant to better bottle)
- Small, compact - good for on the go
- $3 people !!!
Cons:
- It's like heavy rain, not a mist, making it terrible as a setting spray

So take a risk. What this spray lacks on paper, it more than makes up for in other, great ways

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
66 Reviews
the sponge
640 Reviews
Mia
1030 Reviews
Baby Foot
26 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
27 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Facial Sprays 101: PART 1 by EnKoreMakeup

Facial Sprays 101: PART 2 by EnKoreMakeup



Back to Top