Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat No 1

3.8

330 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/19/2015 7:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I thought I was going to love this little highlighting/concealing pen.
When I ordered it I was so excited. And then when I finally used it I was extremely disappointed.

First off this will not work as a concealer! I tried it under my eyes and it does nothing at all. Not a thing. I tried it on my blemishes and it doesn't cover it unless it's an incredibly small blemish. If this has any use at all its for perfecting your cat eye look when you mess up. Or for fixing your lipstick mess ups.

Also. This says it is a highlighter. Not if you are pale. It does not have any "highlight" to it. It just looks like a light concealer. So if you put this on your cupids bow, under your eyebrows, or on your cheek bones it will not do anything. I can imagine this would work if you are very tan. Then you might get that brightening effect. But if you are a pale girl like me. DO NOT BUY THIS.

I give this a two because I have used it to touch up my lipstick and cat eye when I mess it up. That's pretty much all its good for.



on 2/18/2015 11:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I never cared for any highlighters before until I was given this for Christmas. I have very dark under eye circles, so I can never use this to conceal my under eyes. I use this as a highlighter on the high points of my face- for my forehead, nose, chin, cupid's bow, on the tops of my cheek bones. It just makes me naturally luminous. No trace of shimmer or glitter, just a very natural luminous glow. Blends seamlessly onto the skin, and you don't need much. It makes all my foundations look 10x better. Makes me look like I have great skin. This is by far the best highlighter I own. I'm NC42 in MAC and use shade 2.5.


on 2/18/2015 10:00:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have never really bothered with YSL beauty products because they are so expensive. I have really bad under eye circles and wanted something to just give me an edge. It was between the MAC highlighter pen and the touche eclat. With the reviews I read and the shades available I went with the touce eclat.

Packaging- I love the gold packaging of the touche eclat, sometimes gold can look tacky, but with this. The packaging is perfect for the product, although I do have to click it a couple of times to get product out and also I think I may of broken mine some how! In any case, YSL packaging tend to me more attractive me.

Wear/Look- I put my foundation on, then go to work on my eyes with this, sometimes if I feel my eyes are really bad, I use MAC pro longwear concealer. I use a thin small brush and draw a triangle under my eye but not directly under, more or less around my dark circles, then I blend it upwards. This ensures that my eyes circles will stay covered, and it will stay put. Of course the concealer doesn't conceal it all as they are really dark so I then use the touche eclat and do the same thing, and i also apply on the cheek bones and then blend it, this draws light to the area, making your eyes look brighter. I also apply the touche eclat too...
- The inner corners of my eyes
- The outer corner of my eyes
- Sometimes below my eyebrow
- Down the middle of my nose
- On my chin
- On my forehead in the middle (like highlighting and contouring)
- To my smile lines
- Cupid bow (the middle of your lips on the top)
I then make sure that I blend it out. You don't need to click for every where you put it. Just click when you need too.
The Touche Eclat and the MAC pro longwear concealer are my dream team for combating under eye circles. The touche eclat does exactly what it says and I love it, I am so happy that I decided to go with this over the mac highlighter pen. This is one of my HG products as is the YSL Luxurious Mascara. For me YSL has had hit the nail on the head. I may try there foundation!

Price- £25 hella expensive, but who cares. If a product works then I am more than happy to pay that.

Overall- I really want to see how long this lasts, that will be a huge factor in whether I will repurchase or not but I more than likley will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2014 8:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't know why I haven't reviewed this yet. It could be because it's been sitting at the bottom of my makeup bag for the last 3-4 years or whenever it was that I purchased it! This (for me) is another massively over-hyped product and does not deliver on all of its promises. Using this anywhere near the eye area only HIGHLIGHTS fine lines, which is not a good thing. As an under eye concealer this is useless and provides little concealing benefits, instead only highlighting the bags, dark circles and fine lines that many of us over the age of 25 have. I even tried to use this on my cupid's bow to make my lips appear fuller, and it disappeared and melted into my skin immediately. Not sure how this product has gained such a cult following.


on 8/25/2014 12:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this as my under eye concealer. Love it!
No scent, no milia (those tiny white bumps that some products create on my sensitive skin), no clumping or creasing in the lower lid creases. Covers darkness very well!
In my experience, an under eye cream should be used first-or a primer. That gives it the best staying power.
I don't like the high price or the brush applicator. I use 2 clicks and apply to inner ring finger then tap under eye. 1 click might be fine, too.
Lasts about a year for me. I do like the fact that this type of applicator doesn't let air back in hence, its long wear. It doesn't dry out in tube. I use an alcohol wipe occasionally to keep tip/brush clean. Brush doesn't get stiff if cap is snapped on tightly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/20/2014 7:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product it makes my skin look radiant and my face look structured i also love the design of the pen its so elegant and classy its also such an easy product to use and it doesn't take much room up in my make up bag i swear by this pen i truly adore it


on 8/2/2014 11:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I think because this is such a hyped product I expected it to be nothing short of amazing and for me it's not, but it could have been had I not discovered Guerlain Precious Light which I am in love with so much more as the consistency is much finer and the colour in (01) much better suited to my NC15 pale skin. Its probably pretty criminal that 2.5 mls of product from both brands can cost this much as well.

Touche Eclat in (01) Rose is a bit too pink for me but workable, as I don't have very dark under eye circles I tend to use this both as a concealer and high lighter around the eye area. less is definately more with this product, I find a few small dots over the undereye orbital bone is plenty enough and its easily blended in with a small foundation brush or other similar brush. I find this works under or over foundation just fine and as long as you don't use too much it doesn't go cakey and does impart a lighter glow to your skin where applied.


on 6/27/2014 5:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've tried this product out a couple of times. My friend owns it and swears by it. I really wanted to like it, but this product doesn't seem to apply right on my skin.

I'm not sure if it's the colouring or the consistency that isn't right for me. I feel it could be much creamier and find the consistency quite thick and hard to blend as when I apply it, it does seem to pile up a little bit on my face. I don't notice the difference in colour when I apply to the highlight-zones. I think this could be because I have not been matched the right colour- and maybe should opt for some shades lighter.

I don't think I would use this as a concealer. I've used better ones for the fraction of the price.

My go to undereye concealer is from a german brand called Alverde Naturkosmetik made with natural ingredients and costs about €4. It applies really creamy and like a dream, lasts all day and with a good eye primer barely creases on the lid and if it does you can blend it in again.

A highligher+concealer that it very similar to the touche eclat is Rimmer London's Match Perfection 2-in-1 concealer and highlighter. While the colour range on this could be better it blends better than the Yves for me while still being very similar to the consistency.

I've yet to find a good highlighter that will work for me.


on 6/18/2014 8:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the best selling #1 highlight for 20 years for a reason! It's so cool how this product came to be. Apparently models were coming to work with dark circles so Yves wanted something that would paint light onto their skin, and bam Touché Éclat came to be. When used correctly as a highlight this is amazing and nothing compares to it IMHO. I like to use this down my nose, in my smile line area, under the eye but only in the inner eye where you can see the discoloration. I do not do the reverse panda with this! You only need the smallest amount for me 2 clicks work for everywhere I want to highlight.

My favorite places to use this is my lips, eyebrows, inner hollow of the eye, and nose. For me I'm a chronic insomniac and this definitely gives me a well rested look. Thank goodness! I'm very fair NW15-20,N1, Monte Blanc in NARS very cool undertones for reference. This pen is amazing and honestly I have Givenchy Mister Light, the Maybelline one, and a Cargo one and nothing compares to the Touché Éclat. I use this for special occasions and when my eyes look dead etc,.

It is just amazing IMO and it lasts on my skin way longer than the other brands I have tried. Really this is a special product to me and now that I have it, it's worth the splurge every now and then to have this. The packaging is fab I just wish you could see how much product you have. It's very luxe so it is such a beautiful pen to have in a collection. I'm happy I finally gave in because this is a gem! It does what it says and does it well. I couldn't be more satisfied in a highlighter because for me I can see the difference verse other brands. Love this! Highly Recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2014 6:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a really nice highlighter. (See comparison with L'oreal Lumi Magique below)
+ Glow-y and light reflective without being shimmery/glittery.
+ Easy to apply
+ Portable
+ Creamy
+ Does not stick on dry patches and is moisturising
+ Luxe packaging
+ Does not become globs on oily skin

- Needs to be cleaned once a week, or the product will go off or get stuck
- Expensive
- Not one shade suits all

Many people give this low rating because it has no coverage, but it is not meant to be! It is a highlighter that is undetectable but is still glowy. It is very easy to blend with finger (I prefer using finger than a brush). It is also very moisturising and it does not stick on my face oil.

I am MAC NC/NW20-25 (fair to light Asian skin with neutral undertone) and this shade works well on me, it is a neutral without looking yellow/pink on me. When I tried this on my friend who is probably NC 44? (She has deep olive skin), this is streaky white on her, no matter how much I blend it, it ended up looking grey. For ladies with deeper skin, I suggest looking for different shade of this highlighter, probably something more golden instead of champagne coloured.

I have a dupe of this, the l'oreal magique. People say that l'oreal made an exact copy of this and there is no need to splurge on this, but I actually found a difference. Despite my skin being oily, underneath the oil, some area on my face are dry and flaky. When I put l'oreal on, it looks okay but when I blend it, it sticks on my patch and leave white ugly residue.

Touche eclat does not do any of that, it is a dream highlighter for dry skin, it does not highlight those patches and actually moisturises it. This is what I think separates Touche Eclat from its competitors, I had tried a few other dupes sample including Maybelline's, this one is still better, it is much glowier without any shimmer, looks really natural and does not highlight my flakes. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top