MAC • Satin - My Highland Honey (A Tartan Tale) • Blush

rated 4.0(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bluegreyeyes on 6/13/2012 10:05:00 AM more reviews by bluegreyeyes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE THIS. I'm NC25 for reference. I can get super tan in the summer (altho my face is usually never more than NC25-30) and I'm pretty pale in winter but this color works both seasons. It gives a really nice peachy glow to cheeks and works well with my dark auburn hair and blue eyes. Maybe this is a color that you need the right coloring for but I adore it! Too bad it's LE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelly_82 on 10/23/2011 8:42:00 AM more reviews by shelly_82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: So it turns out I was harsh on this product. It was the finish (ie. it being 'matte') that was the issue rather than the color, as well as me being too heavy handed with a pigmented blush.

I've grown to love this color - if this blush had a bit of sheen to it, it would be my HG. The color of the blush really awakens my face and when I add a touch of powder highlighter on top it looks amazing.

I'm upgrading this to 5 lippies as the color is well pigmented, lasts amazingly and gives a nice even finish (unlike MAC 'peachtwist' which leaves me with patchy skin and somehow removes my makeup!). Now my mission is to find this color and pigment with a little bit of a glow.
-----
I'm fair with a pink base and torn on how to rate this. Like most MAC products it has great pigment, however this can look too orange on my skin. I should of picked a more peach than orange shade so I guess it's my fault. Would buy another MAC blush, but definitely not with an orange base.... If you're fair you should probably avoid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mercurysmiley on 4/5/2011 5:27:00 PM more reviews by mercurysmiley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A matte peachy, orange blush. I really badly wanted a matte peach blush as a more neutral shade to wear. I was worried it would be chalky because it looks quite light in the pan. I am NC30, yellow undertone. Thankfully it shows up as a nice apricot color and is quite subtle, not chalky at all.
This is my first MAC blush and I found it wore great and was not powdery at all. This is definitely my go to blush when I'm in a rush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lola88 on 4/5/2011 1:37:00 PM more reviews by lola88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I found this recently at my CCO. Even at the lower price I am not liking this blush. It is a yellowish orangish peach. I am a pale Asian NC10 so I really don't need anything more yellow on my cheeks. I think this would look better on NW20 medium warm toned girls.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stephyrm12 on 2/26/2011 5:10:00 PM more reviews by stephyrm12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is actually not very pigmented. When i do use this, i need quite a heavy hand and i reaplly it mulitple times. I use this over my cremeblend blush in Florida and ... omgg. so pretty!
Florida is like my HG blush, but putting this over it, its a million times nicer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bennodalove on 1/18/2011 4:44:00 AM more reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I was not expecting to like this. I am an NC30 with golden undertones and was pretty worried this would like a yellow orange colour on me. However, I really like it! I actually prefer it a lot more than Peaches. It's a pretty pure orange colour that doesn't look too bright or garish. Peaches looks slightly dark/muddy on me but My Highland Honey doesn't. It doesn't oxidise throughout the day or get muddy. It gives warmth to my face without looking like I've slapped the bronzer on. I apply with my duo fibre 188 brush and find that gives the most flattering, natural flush to my skin. The texture is smooth and blendable, not to mention, the satin finish to this blush is really flattering. Wish it wasn't LE!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 12/28/2010 6:10:00 AM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I'd read loads of hit-or-miss reviews on MY HIGHLAND HONEY, so I didn't have high hopes for it. But I'm happy to say it is my current favourite.


I have neutral skin that is porcelain fair - about n10/15, so anything that's too yellow or too pink looks clownish on me. MY HIGHLAND HONEY is a happy medium; A cheerful apricot with the slightest hint of pink shade, with a glowing satin finish. It brightens and slightly warms up my lackluster skintone and is subtle enough for any MU combination.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pemily on 12/21/2010 8:55:00 AM more reviews by pemily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this is a pretty color... i believe light OR dark skintones can wear...apricot without too much pink very nice!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pepeleru on 12/19/2010 9:37:00 PM more reviews by pepeleru

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic blush (nc20 for ref) if Peaches didn't work for you (didn't work for me at all, looked garish orange on me) then try this, its softer and reminds me of a powder version of stila gerbera cc (my hg).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 12/1/2010 9:13:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

really MAC.. this was a really disappointing collection -- and the Blushes were bloody awful.

Azalea -- HBC oh yeah -- take the product out of the original line and re-name it. Highland Honey -- a wimpy Peachy/Gingerly... very yellow toned and not for everyone to use unless you want that just jaudiced look.

MAC is letting me down a lot recently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Blush products