Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15

3.9

856 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active ingredients: Octinoxate 6% Titanium dioxide 5.6% Inactive ingredients: Aqua, Methyl Trimethicone, Alcohol, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Talc, Butylene Glycol, Isododecane, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate PEG-10 Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Alumina, Aluminum hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Magnesium sulfate, Parfum, Nelumbo Nucifera Flower Water, Methylparaben, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Sodium Hyaluronate, Silica, Tocopheryl Acetate, Dipropylene glycol, Polyurethane, BHT, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Tocopherol, Propylparaben, Ultramarines, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77891, Mica


on 8/30/2015 11:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was the first makeup item I ever purchased. I was suffering from the worst case of breakouts and felt the need to conceal them, and I happened to chance on Lisa Eldridge's video where she mentioned this was a very lightweight foundation that works very well on combination / oily skin types. Boy was she right! I wear the shade B10, and it just about covers the redness of the zits and evens out the skin tone beautifully. I do apply a light dusting of powder after, but that's only because I've got incredibly oily skin. The foundation takes on a slightly yellow undertone, making it wonderful for getting rid of any redness, yet not enough yellow to make the complexion sallow. On me, it wears beautifully, and I never need a primer when wearing this as it just becomes second skin. People are often surprised when I tell them I'm wearing foundation as this just looks so natural on me. I hear it oxidizes on some people but it doesn't for me. Then again, I do powder after application and perhaps that stops the foundation from oxidizing! A wonderful product, I've gone through two bottles of this and I can see myself repurchasing for the rest of my life. A little comparison of this with Bourjois' Healthy Mix Foundation (Bourjois makes Chanel makeup, by the way)... The Healthy Mix foundation gives out a slightly more dewy finish, and the fact that it's more moisturizing means it has a tendency to slip off my face. I wear the Vitalumiere Aqua on days when I know I will be out all day and don't want the hassle of having to touch up, but the Healthy Mix works beautifully for an evening out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/29/2015 10:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Omg! I love this foundation, when applying it feels like silk going onto your skin.It's a lightweight makeup but covers like a dream,I was pleasantly surprised! It only takes a little to cover any skin concerns. After 8 hours it still looked good,and I didn't have to touch up throughout the day.I'd definitely recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2015 9:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Absolutely beautiful. Gives skin a gorgeous glow and lasts all day with a light dusting of powder.


on 7/23/2015 8:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is perfection. I have always worn Estée Lauder double wear foundation and although it covered well I suffered with ongoing acne and I discovered it was because I wasn't letting my skin breathe. When I first tried this the lady at the counter said it was light to medium coverage . Now, it doesn't cover as thick as estee double wear but it covers enough redness and blotches. I used a concealor on top to cover pimples. I have now used this for 3 months and all my pimples have disappeared so I now have glowing skin. This makes your skin glow, it has enough coverage and yet looks so natural and never caked on. I wish I started on this earlier because when I switched to double wear again on a night out it felt so heavy and thick like a mask. Definitely recommend. Shake bottle well. Use fingers.


on 7/10/2015 7:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really love this foundation - its has the most beautiful natural finish. The texture is the nicest I've ever come across - its pretty watery so give it a good shake before use. It glides onto the skin and is basically imperceptible, also its very easy to blend. I have fairly dry skin with quite a bit of redness to conceal, so initially I was concerned that this would be too light in coverage for me, but actually I find that I can build it up on the areas I need to a good medium coverage - if I have any particular blemishes a bit of pinpoint concealing sorts that out.

With my previous foundation (Laura Mercier Moisture Supreme) I found that my dry patches would be emphasised by the foundation, which was annoying as they tend to be the areas that are also more red. But Vitalumiere Aqua covers dry patches beautifully - they are really minimised in appearance, in a lovely semi-matt skin finish. The lasting power is reasonable, but with a little translucent powder over the top I get a good working day out of it before needing to touch up. Honestly even if the staying power was less I'd still buy this again because I love the finish of this foundation SO much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2015 8:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wanted so badly to love this, this cost $98 NZ dollars, but this foundation was such a let down. Colour wise and also caused a break out. Pale girls beware, B10 was too orange, especially considering this oxides badly-In a few hours it looked a shade darker. It also broke me out in my t-zone badly.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been wanting to get this for months and finally splurged. Its a really nice light foundation that looks like skin. It sets pretty powdery/natural matte on me which is actually surprising because I have combination skin. I wish it had a more yellow undertone however :(


on 6/21/2015 9:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really love this foundation. I was wary of trying it because a lot of people with oilier skin types have said it isn't great for them, but after trying a sample I purchased.

I find it applies light-medium coverage but is build-able. I makes the skin look lovely and have a nice sheen for the finish. It has a lovely texture, runny but not so funny that it leaves the back of your hand and a slight scent that I can't describe but it isn't unpleasant.

I apply to the skin in blotches and blend with a damp beauty blender. I do find that I need to powder a couple of times throughout the day but if I do this it lasts well and doesn't look cakey or slide off.

I used this almost every day for 2 months before it ran out. I have repurchased this since running out of my first bottle.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Definitely the worst foundation I have ever tried. It gave me acne cosmetica. If you have sensitive skin (not necessarily acne prone skin) stay away from it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2015 2:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This has replaced my previous HG foundation - YSL touche eclat. Vitalumiere aqua does everything I want from a foundation and more.

Firstly, some background information. My skin is combination, oily t-zone and dry cheeks. Otherwise, my skin is far from perfect but I have no serious issues with pigmentation, scarring or acne. My face becomes more oily in summer and drier in winter, which is why I strayed from my usual HG to try this. YSL teint touche eclat foundation is perfect in winter, but it melts off my nose in summer. I read the reviews for this thinking that it just wouldn't work for my skin type, or provide enough coverage. I have very fair, cool toned skin (NW15ish), but I wear this in B10 despite that it's intended for warm/yellow undertones. I find the colour to be quite neutral as it's not particularly yellow, and it blends into my skin perfectly. I think that this also helps to colour correct the redness in my face, as it really covers it better than any other lightweight foundation I've tried.

I like my foundation to look like skin, I don't like anything that is clearly visible on my face. This fulfils expectations here, it is undetectable on the skin with one layer. The coverage is light, but you can absolutely build it up to a good medium. I have some small blemishes and redness in my cheeks, and this evens everything out. It doesn't make everything dissappear entirely, but that's what concealer is for. After applying a second layer or more, this ceases to become completely undetectable on the skin, but only with close inspection. It still looks perfectly natural, and to the untrained eye it won't be obvious that you're wearing foundation.

In terms of finish, this is just like skin. It is neither completely matte nor dewy like YSL touche eclat is. However, the more you apply, the more matte this becomes. It is in no way flat, and more of a semi-matte finish, but after a layer or two I do notice a difference. To me, this is a good thing as it means I can build up coverage in the areas I need it (especially my nose) and the matte finish means that it won't highlight my imperfections.

I've heard a few people say that this foundation could accentuate dry patches and pores. I have moderate dry patches on my cheeks, this does not make them visible at all - rather it seems to make them less visible. Though I do use a good moisturiser before applying any foundation (Clarins hydraquench). Likewise, I have some enlarged pores around my nose and cheeks, and this does not make them obvious. Though it doesn't make them less visible either. However, I only use one layer on my face (I apply with my fingers or a RT buffing brush), as I think that is how this foundation is intended to be used. If you usually apply more than one layer, then this may well highlight dry patches and pores a little.

If you have oily skin, don't rule this one out straight away. Sure, if it's exceptionally oily then you will absolutely have to work with it. I don't think this is intended for extremely dry or extremely oily skin. But this has amazing staying power - so much so that it appears to defy all logic. Foundation always melts off my nose within an hour when it's remotely warm. Not with this one, even without powder. I do set with a light dusting of rimmel stay matte in my t zone, but my foundation lasts all day - which does not happen. After a long day, foundation tends to go patchy in my dry areas and shiny where I'm oily, so much so that I regret having worn foundation at all. Again, not with this one.

The packaging put me off buying this foundation for a long time, which isn't usually a factor in buying foundation. But for the price, I've come to expect luxury packaging and a fancy glass bottle rather than plastic. Even so, I like it more than I anticipated. It's sleek and sophisticated, as you might hope from Chanel. It's also much smaller than my foundations from Dior and YSL, despite containing the same amount of product. Thus, it's perfect for travelling. You could even put it into your bag for touch ups during the day, given that you can apply this with fingers - not that it really needs touching up all that often.

As for the price itself, this is expensive. No, bourjois healthy mix is not a perfect dupe (I own both) - though I would recommend you try that one if you're on a budget, it's good. So do not be afraid to ask for samples. In my opinion, the more you pay for a product, the more right you have to try it out first. If the Chanel counter you visit refuses, go elsewhere or ask them to apply it to your face so you can try it out for the day instead.

One last thing, although this foundation contains SPF15 it is safe to use in photographs. A lot of makeup artists recommended Chanel foundations for bridal makeup for this reason.

Update: I recently travelled to Cyprus (mid-Summer there) and this foundation held up beautifully. Although, I did get a little extra dryness around my nose (caused by environmental issues) and noticed that they were visible with this foundation, but not exceptionally or unbearably so. I think I will repurchase a backup of this as soon as I can afford to.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top