Origins • Brighter by Nature SPF 35 skin tone correcting moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 3.0(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Griffin13 on 5/7/2014 10:29:00 PM more reviews by Griffin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as a daily moisturizer and top it with hydralife BB cream.
I agree it can be a bit greasy at first but absorbs quickly and moisturizes well. I love the SPF protection and quite like the vitamin c smell. I haven't noticed my complexion to be any brighter or more consistent, no changes in dark spots, which is a bit of a let down but its a great moisturizer and is affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 justelle on 1/17/2014 9:58:00 AM more reviews by justelle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is very greasy and not moisturizing. I love Origins, but this is a miss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ham409 on 1/9/2014 11:39:00 AM more reviews by ham409

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't really like this moisturizer. I used up the big sample size moisturizer that I have, and the impression is it's oily and makes my makeup slide off. I'm not really sure how to make it work well during the day with make up, but applying it right after I wash and tone my face is fine for a while, but as the day continues, I can feel the oils coming out. I don't mind the scent but I just don't like the product and I have tried my best. I now use it as a hand cream so as not to waste it, but I still don't like it that much. I think it's kind of expensive too so this moisturizer with spf is unfortunately not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RosaRose89 on 11/4/2013 1:09:00 PM more reviews by RosaRose89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Origins, but I'm not convinced by this moisturiser.
I have not noticed any difference in my skin tone. I will finish the pot since it is so expensive, but I am looking forward to finishing it.

PROS:
If I were dedicated to only using purely physical UV blockers, then I would probably repurchase this, since SPF 35 seems to be the maximum physical SPF that I can use without my face looking shiny all day and my makeup slipping around too much.

CONS:
This product is not suitable for my eye area, as it makes them sting and water.

This feels greasy on my skin all day, and I'm pretty sure (cannot prove) that it gives me blocked pores that look like colourless bumps all over my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Puresimple1 on 6/5/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Puresimple1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I bought this in a set they had for Christmas where you got deluxe samples of other products for the price of the moisturizer. It's okay, nothing too special. I, like some other reviewers bought it for the high SPF in it. I wouldn't use this if you have dry skin, it's not very moisturizing (bc of SPF). I haven't noticed a difference in skin tone yet. I actually only use this if I'm not wearing makeup because it makes my makeup slip and shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 2/6/2013 12:01:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not a winner for me. I decided to try this as a potential alternative to my Clinique Even Better Moisturizer SPF20. But I didn't care for it at all. It's very greasy and yet my skin still didn't feel hydrated or moisturized if that makes any sense. And it didn't live up to its claims of brightening or making my skin tone more even. Inoffensive fragrance, okay texture and application. Did not break me out or cause irritation. In short, unimpressive and I would not buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 doris98 on 12/23/2012 8:00:00 PM more reviews by doris98

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I needed a sunscreen and got this because it supposedly 'brightens and tones'. I didn't really expect it to do that but thought it wouldn't hurt. It's on the greasy side and I have oily skin, so I need to wait a bit before I apply makeup when I use this. As all Origins products, I like the scent. Other than this, I wouldn't repurchase as I know there are other better ones out there to try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hulakids on 12/8/2012 9:29:00 PM more reviews by hulakids

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

I am on my third pot of this and have found it to be a reasonably decent for my combo, slightly sun splotched skin. Not so sure about preventing new spots from forming as a any good spf should be able do that...Nonetheless, haven't had any noticable sun blotches appear since using this.

PROS:
-three in one product, moisturizer, evens overall face skintone color & SPF
-applies very easily
-agreeable scent
-minimal product needed for application
- evens overall face skin tone color :) A+
-minimally clogs pores
-no parabens
-relatively high SPF (35 SPF)

CONS:
-moderate price range $45.00 for 1.7 oz
-leaves a SHINY finish :( ,using finishing powder would be recommended
-leaves a slightly greasy feel on face (may not be good for those w oily skin)
-comes in a pot/tub container, using a scoop is necessary to keep moisturizer clean
-if you expect skin discolorations to lighten, I really haven't seen this to my skin ( for me the pricey $79 Caudalie vinoperfect radiance worked for this )


While not exactly a HG for me, it is a product I will continue to purchase until I find my HG SPF moisturizer.


ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: avobenzone, homosalate, octisalate, octocrylene
INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: water, butyloctyl salicylate, methyl trimethicone, jojoba esters, polyester 8, ethyl macadamiate, butylene glycol, lauryl peg-9 polydimimethylsilloxyethyl dimethicone, peg 100 stearate, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), glyceryl stearate, citrus aurantfolia (lime) oil, citrus grandis (grapefruit) peel oil, cymbopogon scheonanthus oil, mentha vidis (spearsmint) leaf oil, salvia sclarea (clary) oil, ormenis multicaulis oil, pelagonium graveolens flower oil, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) oil, thymus (thyme) oil, coriandrum sativum (coriander) oil, citral geraniol, linalool, citronellol, limonene, gentiana lutea (gentian) root extract, hordeum vulgare (barley) extract, paeonia albiflora (peony) root extract, sanguisorba officinalis, cucumis sativus (cucumber) fruit extract, hydrolyzed rice bran extract, scutellaria baicalensis root extract, triticum vulgare (wheat) germ extract, polygonum tinctorium leaf/stem extract, curcuma longa (tumeric) root extract, palmaria palmata extract, trametes versicolor extract, micrococcus lysate, mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, silica, potassium cetyl phosphate, cetyl alcohol, ethylexylglycerin, arginine, ascorbyl glucoside, caffeine, lecithin, phytosterols, salicylic acid, cholesterol, behenyl alcohol, tocotrienols, lineolic acid, sodium hyaluronate, squalene, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, elaeis guineesis ( palm) oil, squalene, phospholipids, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, caprylyl glycol, tocopheryl acetate, glycyrrhetinic acid, dehydroxanthan gum, sodium hydroxide, tocopherol, stearic acid, sodium dehydroacetate, phenoexyethanol, mica, essential oil
(sorry if missed typos!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SsjAnimeGW on 8/19/2012 11:54:00 AM more reviews by SsjAnimeGW

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Origins - Brighter by Nature SPF 35 is incredibly expensive and did not provide any long-lasting noticeable results. There was no stinging or harsh reactions to this product although it might clog pores a bit. The smell is nice and the SPF 35 seemed to provide adequate protection. Also, I'm generally not a fan of pot containers. After sitting on my vanity for two months, the product began to separate. This may have been due to the all-natural ingredients but there was a lot of product that was rendered useless. I will not repurchase this, as there are probably better products out there for cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 suukyi on 5/22/2012 8:56:00 PM more reviews by suukyi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It really did help me erase some of my acne marks over the long run (after a few months I noticed a big difference). My brown discolorations from acne faded slightly. Now all that I've on my face are red discolorations.
I don't like the texture too much, however. It's not moisturizing enough during the winter when I travel. Also, it smells pretty much like a sunscreen. I switched the Origins' A Perfect World SPF moisturizer, and these two are similar in consistency. Maybe A Perfect World is a bit more moisturizing.
Also, at one point, when my moisturizer is about 90% finished, I had to shake the jar in order for the product to not look like a white liquid mess inside a yellow liquid (yuck). I told an Origins SA, and she told me to shake it. It didn't seem like anything abnormal to her.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Moisturizers products