MAC • Bad Fairy (LE) • Polishes

rated 3.6(57 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Weigela on 2/24/2012 5:04:00 AM more reviews by Weigela

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm always searching for a good deal on rare/hard to find polishes and when I recently scored a bottle of the elusive Bad Fairy at a great price on Ebay I couldn't wait to get it in the mail. While I was waiting to get it I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed with it. If you've ever bought a polish because of all the hoopla about it and when you tried it out you kinda wondered what all the fuss was about, then you know what I mean. Well, I'm very happy to report that Bad Fairy does live up to all the hoopla surrounding it! This polish has the smoothest, almost mirror like shiny finish of any foil polish I've seen. The depth of the sparkle is amazing, and the duochrome flashes from this color are just stunning. This was opaque in three coats for me, a top coat really lets the foil finish shine. I love it, it's definitely one of my faves!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 peppermintpolish on 10/28/2011 6:18:00 PM more reviews by peppermintpolish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I really like this color. It's nice and glittery, but fine glittery, not chunky glittery (you know what chunky glitter is...the glitter that gets caught in hair. Ew!) I like the way that it changes from orange to gold to red depending on whatever light you are in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yumifishie on 4/30/2011 8:06:00 PM more reviews by yumifishie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going to forgo describing the color and all, so look to the other reviews here. This nail polish needs way too many coats to get the opague look that you see in pictures and swatches. The first coat is super sheer. For myself, I need up to 4, probably more sometimes. And even with serveral topcoats, it doesn't last very long before the inevitable chipping begins, either. I was lucky enough to not have received a "mangled" brush in mine. My friend got one with random hairs splaying out everywhere. The brush tends to pick up a little too much polish as well. All in all, it's very pretty of course, but I don't know if it'd worth buying into again. For me, a lot of work went into, well...making it work, and even then, I don't know if I succeeded.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Periwinkle604 on 4/15/2011 2:05:00 PM more reviews by Periwinkle604

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I first saw this on thedailynail blog last fall and have wanted it ever since. I managed to receive it in a swap last week and didn't hesitate to wear it.

At first, sitting at my dining room table, I was a little underwhelmed. It wasn't sparkly, it didn't have that amazing duo flash that i'd seen in swatch photos. It took 3-4 coats to be opaque, but THEN I went outside and BAM! I was smacked in the face with it's awesome sparkly, orangey, goldy, red awesomeness.

This polish is gorgeous. It's definitely in my top 5 favorites of all time. I've had it on for three days and only noticing minor tip wear (I used LA calcium builder as a basecoat and Seche Vite (2 coats) as a topcoat). The brush/handle is a little more awkward than the other polishes I own (this is my first MAC polish) but it was easy to get used to. dry time on this was fast, and dried to a smooth and even finish even before I used the Seche Vite.

I love it. I'm going to wear it as often as I can. I've gotten more compliments on it than any of my other polishes. Even while lunching with a friend she stopped me mid-conversation and said "I'm sorry, I can't focus on what you're saying, your nail polish is too pretty. What is that?" ha!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupaddict92 on 3/13/2011 12:49:00 AM more reviews by makeupaddict92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first time trying out a MAC nail polish. It is such a beautiful, unique color. I find that I can see the dual-chrome when it's on my nails..although I need 2-3 coats. I'm extremely dissappointed with its staying power. After 1 day of having it on, it started chipping on 1 nail.. it's been 2 days that I've had it on now and so far 7 nails are already chipping. Almost makes me wish I didn't waste 15$ on a nail polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jakelovesmakeup on 2/4/2011 2:17:00 PM more reviews by jakelovesmakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

While MAC nailpolish is not well known for its wearing power, I often use their polishes for photo shoots for the beauty of their colors. This color is FAB and photographs well. Dries quick...does the job I need it to do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tartlette on 2/2/2011 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Tartlette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

On me, Bad Fairy is a shimmery red (sometimes looks reddish-pink) with coppery/orange duochrome. It looks mostly red, the duochrome isn't as obvious on my nails as it is in the bottle. I really like the colour - it's like nothing else in my collection. I only needed to use 2 coats for perfect coverage and the polish did dry fairly quickly. The reason why I rated this 3 and why I would not repurchase is because of staying power. This polish chips almost INSTANTLY on me. I'll still wear it but it's definitely not a polish that I can wear all week with minimal chipping. Removal was ok, I did notice a lot of reddish shimmers on my nail after I *thought* I was done :) Not a big deal though. Very pretty colour, I am glad that I got it but I like my polishes to last longer than this one does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bittersweetmoment on 1/5/2011 9:50:00 PM more reviews by bittersweetmoment

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I was quite happy with this nail polish after I purchased it but have since used it several times and I just don't see a WOW factor anymore. I'm not sure if it is me becoming used to seeing it once applied or if something has changed somehow about how it looks. I didn't buy the other two nail laquers from the VV collection but I am not so sure I'm happy I got this one anymore either. I think I'll use it for pedis over manis now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* triotrio on 10/24/2010 12:01:00 PM more reviews by triotrio

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not disappointed with this product - the cherry pink colour is nice and not that common. And it doesn't bother me that it's a 3-coater. Many polishes are. My brush was OK in this one too (though my brush with Mean 'n Green was all splayed so I know what people mean).

But it's not half as duochrome as it looks in the bottle, so don't get it if you're expecting the major orange flash. It's difficult to see in real life. Only get it if you like the cherry pink colour, cos that's what you're gonna have to live with.
I haven't experienced any chipping, but it is quite tipwear-y. That doesn't bother me that much though as no-one else is likely to notice it.

A tip for those who are disappointed with the duochrome - layer Sally Hansen Hidden Treasure/GOSH Rainbow over it. It is absolutely STUNNING! It turns into the polish that perhaps MAC intended it to be - all cherry/orange/green duochromy goodness.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ginny133 on 10/22/2010 7:36:00 PM more reviews by ginny133

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this nail color from Venomous collection. It's a metallic ruby red color with pearly shine. It is very festive, perfect for the holiday. It's not dramatic so I can wear it to work. It stays on pretty good, didn't see any chipping after two days. I'm glad I got it because it's sold out everywhere. Very happy of the purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Polishes products