MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

3.8

942 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 4.7% Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyl Trisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Tribehenin, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Bis-Peg/Ppg-14/14 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Phenyl Methicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Methicone, Tetramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Silica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Laureth-7, Hexyl Laurate, Xanthan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Propylene Carbonate, Alumina, Polymethylsilsequioxane, Dimethicone Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin [ /- Mica, Iron Oxides (C) 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (C) 77891, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288) [September 17, 2010]


on 7/29/2015 10:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wanted to love this, on first application I loved it but after a couple of uses, it broke me out terribly and I didn't feel it was long wearing at all, I have come to terms with the fact that I have oily skin and most products don't last but I was surprised that this reacted so bad with my skin. The colour was great at first but it also oxidised and went orange half way through the day. I ended up giving it to a friend.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used bare minerals for the past ten years until recently when I began to develop an allergy to it. And I am so glad I did because my eyes were open to this lovely foundation and I realized what a REAL foundation is like. I use this with the MAC moisturizer, MAC primer, sephora airbrush blending foundation brush #55 or real techniques stippling brush. It looks great no matter what foundation brush I use. It says it is medium coverage and it does cover quite well. If you need more coverage you can add another layer and it can become full coverage in my opinion. And the lasting power is amazing. I have normal skin so I cannot speak for people with extremely oily skin but this foundation looked like I had just applied it eight hours later. It is a little pricey but compared to all of the other high end foundations it is about average. I paid $32 for mine. And I love how they shade match you in the store and try the foundation on your skin. That way you don't have to guess your shade and what it will look like on your skin.


on 7/23/2015 12:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

First off I'd like to say that I have been wearing this foundation for the past six months. I have oily/acne-prone and extremely sensitive skin yay (note the sarcasm). When first using this product I thought that I was going to break out (much like everybody said what MAC foundations do), however, I was pleasantly surprised. The ONLY reason why this foundation claims to break so many people out is that they don't completely wash their makeup off and continue to put their skincare on top or go to sleep with foundation residue left.

This foundation has great long-wearing properties (even for an oily girl like me). Also the way you apply it is essential! I use my Real Techniques buffing brush and feel as if it works best - this is not a very BeautyBlender friendly foundation! Also I feel as if the coverage is Light-Medium, more to the Medium side. It can get cakey, but it depends on how much you put and how you apply it. Whenever I have blemishes I dot this foundation on top and use it as a concealer, however, if the pimples are too big its best to use a concealer.


on 7/7/2015 4:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My HG in foundation, especially when it's hot outside. I usually don't wear foundation on warm days but if I have to, it's this one. It's the only one that doesn't turn into a puddle of oil and stays put. During the summer I wear NC25, a perfect match for my skin tone. I like the packaging, it's simple and does the job without any unnecessary whistles and bells. The coverage isn't full so I use the Pro Longwear Concealer with this. Good product, would definitely buy it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2015 4:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I like this foundation. It's my first one from MAC because their foundations always look way too pink/orange/yellow for my olive skin. I'm still trying to find the best foundation for my green undertones, but I was surprised with how well this has worked for me thus far.

I purchased this foundation two weeks ago and it was about 2-3 shades too dark for me and I was really bummed since it's expensive and also had a good formula that worked well for my skin. After a week on vacation, it matches my skin really well. My skin is currently quite tanned and is likely the darkest it'll get. It's a really good colour for me in the summer.

I apply it using Sonia Kashuk's flat top kabuki brush (came in a set) and it works really well. I have tried the Real Techniques buffing brush as well as their sponge, and it made the foundation go on too sheer or a little streaky.

I apply it lightly on the areas where my skin is good and more heavily on the spots/acne that I have. I'm having a terrible break out right now so I can't say whether this foundation irritated my skin, but it's matte on my oily/combo skin. To make it more dewy, I apply a glycerin/(rose)water blend and it helps to add some dimension and shine to the foundation. Not everyone will like that but when dewy, it looks really natural on my skin and does give it a slightly airbrushed finish without looking cakey. Since it's the summer, the heat does make the foundation tacky and when I sweat, I can definitely feel a layer of makeup on my skin.

Would I purchase this again? Maybe, but I would probably only use it for the summer. I would look into getting lighter colours, but I'd like to try Face & Body first. I'm not a huge MAC follower, and I'm not loyal to the brand but this foundation does last well. Even in the heat, it can last me for a good 6-8 hours. I've worn it for 12+ hours and it definitely fades away but it doesn't bother me much. I like foundation to look natural and don't bother to touch it up.

Overall, a good product. Until I try lighter colours, I can't say whether this is a foundation I would buy again. I'd rather get samples next time since the undertones at MAC aren't the best for olive skin. It's good, but it's not the best.




on 6/29/2015 2:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Holy shit. I have spent months and months on makeupalley trying to find my future HG foundation. I have been using studio fix for 5+ years and was always too scared to try a new foundation. I tried true match foundation and it was rubbish on my skin didnt sink in at all.
Tried this instead of purchasing studio fix again and sooo blimmen happy that i did! IT IS SUCH A GOOD FOUNDATION!! it actually sinks into my skin and made my (what i thought was horrible skin due to the studio fix sitting horribly on my skin) sooooo smooth and airbrushed looked. LOVE LOVE this foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2015 6:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This was my first MAC product and I totally love it. I purchased the color in NC35 and it gives me a nice matte finish and it is definetly long wearing!


on 6/3/2015 6:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this product so badly.

The colour I got is NC20 and it's a perfect match. It wears beautifully for hours, and my touch-ups are minimal as I don't get too oily when I wear this.

The issue that I had was with application and that it broke me out. It's difficult to blend. Once it was on my skin it didn't want to move which I'm assuming is how it managed to stay on the skin for so long. However, because it was difficult to blend I ended using a lot more product than I needed to. My skin broke out and I was so upset because I really wanted this to work. So now I only wear it on special occasions or if I'm going to a party and need my make up to last all night long. I never wear this more than two days in a row so I can give my skin a break from this product.


on 5/30/2015 6:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this foundation! Finally I've found a foundation that doesn't wear off after an hour or two. This foundation feels nice on, looks nice on and best of all it matches exactly to my skin color so there is no foundation line. I apply this in the morning before work, come home and by night time it's still got full coverage. It's great! Defiantly worth the money


on 5/29/2015 7:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation has a nice finish, It definitely lasts all day. Has medium coverage, I have always looked for a full coverage foundation but realised with concealer and medium coverage powder it was a bit of over kill. This stops me looking cakey but provides me with enough coverage to hide my very pale complexion when my fake tan fades from my face.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Acne/Blemish Covering Makeup - Foundation & Concealer Tutorial by Lisa Eldridge



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top