NYX • Winter in Moscow • Palettes

rated 3.3(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nikkybaby on 8/29/2013 11:44:00 AM more reviews by nikkybaby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Got this as a present and glad I didn't pay for it!
Personally, I don't mind the 2 powder blushes and actually liked the lip glosses (thick, balmy, moist nudey colors that go well with a Smokey eye look). My gripe is with the appalling eye shadows.
Horrid. Flakey fallouts, fast fading, feeble pigmentation. I have not yet succeeded in blending these shadows out without looking like a greying panda. Bc the pigments are so weak, they lose their distinct colours when blended, which is a shame, because they swatched so well on my arm in a stunning variety of warm and cool based greys.
The blushes:
1. Light peachy-pink with very fine, barely noticeable shimmers in the pan go on a light baby coral glow on me. Very natural, lovely color that fades too fast 3-5 hours depending on heart and humidity. Love the colour, hate the staying power.
2. A watermelon-raspberry with golden sheen. I really liked this colour too. Reminds me of a L'Oreal blush I reviewed here a looong time ago, great with bright lips. Lasts a bit longer than the paler blush but nowhere near my beloved MACs.
I'm hesitant to try other NYX products apart from their glosses and lipstick bc of this.




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amynono on 7/16/2013 12:48:00 AM more reviews by amynono

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I don't know if it's just my palette or what, but the eye shadows smell HORRIBLE. I mean that.
I don't think I will be able to wear them. The lippies...well...useless. You can't see them. The blushes are awesome, the packaging great. I'm so disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mandelinka on 12/28/2011 10:58:00 AM more reviews by mandelinka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ive had this for about 1 month. Ive been using mainly the top half of the eye shadow side, the bottom shades are far too dark and similar looking. Use those as a eye liner only.
Also, Ive been having problems blending the eye shadows, Ive tried finger and brush application and it still looks messy-dirty, no matter what. a bit dissapointing
On the other hand, I really like the lip glosses and the blushers are pretty too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hautiehippie420 on 3/21/2011 6:22:00 PM more reviews by hautiehippie420

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I will be repurchasing this for two reasons: 1) price 2) blush. I love shimmer but I only wear matte cheek color because I use other highlighting products where I apply strategically to contour, lighten, or soften, and blushes with shimmers interfere. In this palette, I use the blush on the left. It is definitely NOT the same as the other blush included (none of the colors in this palette are named by NYX which is one thing I don't like since you can't purchase separately or refer to online swatches very well) as another reviewer said. The left blush is really very light colored bright pink, in fact, I have a hard time finding a cheek color that is just light enough for my (NC20) winter skin but this blush is HG!!! The pigment is amazing and I have a mini Smashbox kabuki (I have no idea where I ever even got it?) which picks up such a small amount of product but wastes none of it and it applies perfectly on the apples. It's so pigmented that I never have to layer it. I have been using it almost daily for at least four months from the original palette I purchased for like, I don't even know, $14? I will say that the blush on the right is also gorgeous (but is significantly darker and contains a coral/golden shimmer...it reminds me of a Nars blush I used to have) although I think it would suit someone with a tan skin tone. As far as the many shadows, udpp is a must. They are less pigmented, lots of fallout from not only the glitters but the color itself, and it can be messy. I mostly use the large black pan with an eyeliner brush when I don't want a harsh pencil line. ***If ANYONE can recommend a dupe for the blush like the one included on the left in this palette, please please let me know! =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maggieyso on 12/27/2010 6:09:00 PM more reviews by Maggieyso

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I just got this palette at ulta. I wear a smoky eye a lot when I go out, so I figured this would be a good way to get a lot of shades for a good value.
First of all, the packaging. While its cute, the palette itself is super hard to get out of the box. That was pretty annoying, but forgivable.
I really like the eyeshadows in this palette. They come in a variety of finishes. My favorite shade so far is the greenish silver, the 4th one down on the right hand side. I also like that they included matte shades, especially the matte white and matte black (actually i think the black may be satin, but close enough). All the shadows are very pigmented when i swatched them, but i've yet to try them out in a look.
I personally really like the blushes, especially the matte one. Im really not a fan of sparkly blushes, so I was really pleased with this color. The other blush is pretty and very pigmented, but I doubt I'll be wearing it much.
The lip glosses - don't even bother. They, like most lip products that come in palettes, are a waste of time. I tried out the middle shade and it barely showed up on my lips.
Overall, I would recommend this palette. The lip products may be awful, but the rest of it makes up for that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girrl65 on 12/12/2010 5:15:00 PM more reviews by girrl65

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My first impression of this was how small it was. It is the size of a paperback novel. I bought it online from the NYX site and I kind of thought it would be bigger....maybe the size of a hardback book?
Well, anyway, this is pretty decent. The eyeshadows are not as good quality as the singles or my beloved Caribbean Collection palettes, which are like butter. It seems that there are duplicate shades in this palette, as well. It is almost like NYX wanted to fill it up with shadows, but didn't want to take the time to come up with different shades. There are slight difference, but on the eyes, they look the same.
Also, the brushes are absolute garbage. I immediately threw out all of them except the little lip brush. I was almost insulted that they gave a stupid little blush brush like you see in drugstore blush compacts! What am I supposed to do with that horrid little thing?
The two blushes included are fair, but they are both coral shades, which I don't particularly care for. I wish they included a rose or a highlighter instead of two of the same kind of shade. One is matte and the other has some shimmer, but they are both coral.
The lip glosses are good for what they are, but they are powder magnets. I don't typically use glosses that come with kits like this, but it is convenient for travel if you like that kind of thing.
Over all, this is SO NOT worth $20. I'm glad I got it for $10 during NYX's half off Thanksgiving sale. I would have returned it if I paid full price for it. It is hardly worth $10, IMHO. I would not buy this again, and I might have not even purchased it if I had seen it in person first. This is an OK palette, but I feel like NYX rushed it and didn't put enough thought into the color selection.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gizzyxx on 12/9/2010 12:06:00 PM more reviews by Gizzyxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think this a good overal palette, esp for the price and if you dont have many "smoky" shadows.

I think the quality of the shadows is better than the ones in the Runway palettes and the trios - I am not impressed by them but I really like the NYX single shadows a lot. I would say the shadows in this palette are not as good as the singles but not as crappy as the the trios/runway shadows.

I do wish they had one or two more highlight colours in the palette- there is 1 but its rather matte and a little chalky. I have lots of highlight colours so I am okay, but its annoying- if you intend to take this with you when traveling you need to take additional highlight colours too!

The blushes are okay but nothing fantastic, I find the quality of them to be a little inferior compared to the single blushes, which i really like.

The lippies are kind of a cross between a lippy and a gloss - they are okay but rather sheer.

I bought the palette for the shadows so the fact that the blushes and lippies are not all that, doesnt concern me. You can always use the colours in this palette in conjunction with other shadows and use the blacks to darken other shadows or contour the eye socket etc

Overall, I really like the compact small palette which is good quality, albeit heavier than I thought it would be.

This is great to take away on vacation or a lovely gift for someone.

I have put I will repurchase b/c i like the product but I dont think I actually would repurchase as I dont think I will ever finish it. I have a lot of eyeshadows and I love bright colours, so whilst I do a smoky eye on occasion, I think I will use my colourful bright shadows a lot more than the ones in this palette.

Would recommend to friends etc. Thank you NYX!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jejkim on 9/16/2010 3:10:00 PM more reviews by jejkim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is the one makeup investment you should make for this Fall/Winter. Just got mine from rock-the-catwalk.com (super inexpensive...the best price I could find and also picked up UD Midnight Cowboy and Midnight Cowboy Rides Again at riduculously good prices). The colors are superb and range from cool to warm, pink beige to purple tinged to various grays and black. Of all the makeup palettes out, this is the one that has it all.


The blushes are really great as well although the lippies are useless - could just be used as balm or mix in some of the blush and it's a tinted balm. Brushes are a great addition as well and the entire item is super convenient sized - excellent for travel. This is the first NYX product I've purchased and I love it: design, quality, colors, functionality, value for the money. I have everything to look like a Russian doll with this palette. They make great gifts too!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StilaKat on 9/8/2010 5:26:00 AM more reviews by StilaKat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this palette!! Containing 12 eyeshadows ranging from pale green through to silver and smokey black, two blushers (which initially look a little garish in the pan, but fabulous once applied), five cute lipstick-shaped lippies, two eyeliners and some tiny brushes/applicators, this really is excellent value for money, especially if you're on a tight budget. It's small enough to fit into your handbag, or even a pocket it it's the right size. The eyeshadows stay put all day, without creasing, smudging or 'travelling'. They're also more sheer/translucent than they appear in the palette, so don't be put off by the initial density of some of the darker ones. I also love the '70s style make up the model on the packaging is wearing, all smouldering eyes and pale lips - very Dr. Zhivago. I'd definitely recommend this product, as it's worth every penny.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lexijojohnson on 9/4/2010 8:31:00 AM more reviews by lexijojohnson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a pretty good palette. For those of you who bought and were not happy with the NYX Smokey Eyes palette of 10 shadows - this palette might give you a little more to work with, and some better quality.

Some of the shades are similar to each other - but when applied, maybe just enough different. 3-4 of the shades are pretty shimmery, more like MAC lustre eyeshadows. There are maybe 2-3 that are frosty, and the rest are satin/matte (I know satin and matte aren't the same thing, but it's too hard to figure out!).

The price was $18 + tax and shipping at cherryculture.com. They have a sale right now for 20% off for Labor Day. If you don't catch this sale - they have others, and so does nonpareilboutique.com, where you can also buy this.

On the other side of this palette are the two blushes and the lip products. I don't know that I'll ever use that side...we'll see. I will test them.

The one thing I will say about this is that the palette is HEAVY! I was surprised. A bit tall and bulky, I had to seriously rearrange my stash to fit this in.

I'll come back for an edit sometime soon when I've had more time to play, but for now - I'm happy. I think you get a lot for your money.

OK - EDIT TIME! The lip stuffs are strange - not l/s, and not really gloss. And the colors are kinda bronze-tinged pinks, which it a little weird for me. The blushes - one is a brightish pink, kinda like the CoverGirl Rose Silk color, and the other color I think is supposed to be a NARS Orgasm dupe - brightish pink with gold flecks. I'm not digging either of them.
The shadows are fine - I think better quality than the Smokey Eyes palette by NYX, but still not as good as the singles. So...this palette goes up for swap, and I've ordered some smokey NYX singles from the nonpareilboutique's Labor Day sale. I plan to depot them and put them in my palette with their cousins.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NYX products

More Palettes products