The Body Shop • Ginger Shampoo Normal/Dry hair and Loose Dandruff • Shampoo

rated 4.0(80 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* camilla8 on 11/28/2014 9:05:00 PM more reviews by camilla8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't often repurchase a shampoo, but I really love this stuff. cleans my hair without stripping or making my hair dry. hair is left very shiny and silky. I don't use this everyday, but a few times a week, followed by a deep conditioner. Just bought three of the larger sized bottles I love it so much!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alliemarie655 on 10/23/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by alliemarie655

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Amazing product.

Suffered from severe scalp irritation and itchiness for years. At one point I can remember having SCABS on my scalp. Perhaps too much information, but the difference now is night and day.

After about a week of using this it COMPLETELY cleared up my scalp. I will never, ever switch from using this to anything else.

Smells amazing, makes me look forward to my shampoos. Also cleans hair very well (I have also always had oily hair and this takes care of that too)

No negatives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chickengifts on 10/1/2014 10:11:00 AM more reviews by chickengifts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I do not like this shampoo at all. It has reduced my dandruff only slightly, and after only 1 day my hair LOOKS very greasy, although it isn't much. I never had that with any other shampoo, where I could go 3 or 4 days without washing.

My hair is also very hard to comb through and is more knotted than with any other shampoo, sadly.

I've tried this product for a few weeks.. But sadly, another full bottle of a product I don't like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IHeartSteinbeck on 8/12/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by IHeartSteinbeck

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I recently switched to this shampoo after years of Head & Shoulder's Smooth and Silky. The latter shampoo seemed to hydrate my hair itself but did not do much to improve my scalp; in fact, I'd start to flake up the next day and it kept my hair feeling weighed down.
I am thinking that H&S might be a good shampoo but I misdisagnosed my scalp problem as dandruff?
Anyways, since switching to this Ginger Scalp Care shampoo, I have not had flakes appear at all! I alternate between this and Avalon Organic's Lemon Clarifying Shampoo through the week and I have not had any issues with flaking for the last few months. I have not, however, tried it in the winter so I hope it's just as effective then!
The only thing I'd say could be better is giving more shine, but as a flake-fighter, it really delivers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladyjadem on 6/28/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by ladyjadem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is just the most wonderful shampoo ever. It smells deliciously spicy, leaves your hair soft but squeaky-clean, prevents oil slicks and clears up dandruff. I've been using it for years on my hair (which is very fine but thick, with greasy roots and bone-dry ends) and it's practically perfect. I have absolutely no complaints about this product. It conditions, cleans, strengthens and reduces hairfall. What's not to love?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nippydips on 5/18/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by nippydips

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't feel that this product has lessened my dandruff considerably, I don't get flakes and it's not visible but yes it's still there. I feel like it works just like how any other organic shampoo would. Maybe I'd be more wow-ed by it if I had used it after long term usage of drugstore shampoos... It is very gentle, has a lovely scent but hasn't provided any miraculous cure for my dandruff. but then again, I live in uber humid Singapore where I guess dandruff and oily hair just occurs more frequently!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissBlueJay on 5/12/2014 9:17:00 AM more reviews by MissBlueJay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My hair changes with the weather and when I was in England last year my hair became flaky and dandruff plagued my hair (TMI... I know)

I tried the normal drugstore stuff but nothing worked.

Went to The Body Shop at Junction 32 and bought the Ginger Shampoo as a last resort and my goodness!

MY HAIR BECAME CLEAR, CALMED AND DANDRUFF FREE!!!

I was head over heels excited and thankful for this product!

I used it with the Banana Conditioner and my hair was beautiful! SALON QUALITY!

If you suffer from flaky scalp, I do think you should try the ginger shampoo and pair it with the banana conditioner too.

Smells amazing if you like that natural fruity or herby smells =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rebeccalexandra on 3/9/2014 6:28:00 PM more reviews by rebeccalexandra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product helped my dandruff within ONLY 2 uses. Only needed to wash my hair every other day (with my prior I had to each day). Will continue to use during the cold, harsh winter months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 1/15/2014 11:02:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because it was on sale and I like the smell of ginger. I do not have scalp issues. With that being said, I did find I did not have to wash my hair as often for the duration of my using this product. The bottle lasted for quite some time, as only a small amount is needed to develop a decent lather. (I have very, very long hair!) Definitely recommended to anyone! Love TBS products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fonz on 11/7/2013 6:05:00 PM more reviews by Fonz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

My scalp gets itchy and oily very soon, so I am always in desperate need of a good shampoo.

When I first tried out this shampoo, it made my scalp more itchy and my hair coarse. Then I used it again and again.

Why? Because I used Dove's shampoo, and they have silicone in it! I didn't know it was so harmful until I was told.

Then I reached the 3 weeks mark with this shampoo.

My hair turned strong and soft, my scalp doesn't itch anymore and I don't have to wash my hair every other day as it doesn't feel oily, limp or horrible even after 4 days!

I'd suggest most of the grumpy reviewers to give the shampoo some time, because if they, like me, used shampoos with silicone or other harmful ingredients (that admittedly made their hair very shiny, soft and easy to brush and slippery when wet), they need to wash out first and until then, until their scalp gets rid of the harmful stuff, it might itch more, like mine did.

Don't expect wonders just after one or two tries, you need to use it consistently for a few weeks for it to work, to have your scalp get healthy again. It's common sense, really.

My only concern is the price, as it's really costly. But then again, I stock up on it during sales, so there's that!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Shampoo products