The Body Shop Ginger Shampoo Normal/Dry hair and Loose Dandruff

4.0

84 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamide DEA, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Polysorbate 20, Piroctone Olamine, Sodium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Panthenol, Propylene Glycol, Dimethicone Propyl PG Betaine, Honey, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Citric Acid, Sodium Salicylate, Methylparaben, Glycerin, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA, Linalool, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Limonene, Birch Bark, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Citral, Citronellol, Oakmoss, Benzyl Alcohol, Eugenol, Geraniol, Isoeugenol.


on 7/1/2015 6:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a very special shampoo. Read carefully if you are having hairloss issues.

There is an ingredient, rather high on the list that removes DHT-the chemical responsible for hair loss in men and women in those cases where the hormones are out of whack. Its called Piroctone Olamine.

Ive been using this for years. I'd tried Nioxon, REdken Intaforce and Kerastase. This is the ONLY shampoo that has stopped my hair loss *cold* and has helped it grow.
No joke, this is my HG shampoo and I shan't redact.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/12/2015 6:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this shampoo! Have been using it for years as I've had such a dry scalp for a while. Would recommend highly if you have a dry scalp. I paired it with the banana conditioner too. Made a amazing combination and got multiple comments on how shiny it looked.


on 4/25/2015 8:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this shampoo for almost 2 months now. At first, I have those flaky dandruff in almost every inch of my scalp. But I kept using it. And then after a few weeks, the flakes were starting to appear less and less. And now it's gone.

It doesn't feel as soft as my previous shampoo (Dove). But I overcome this problem by using banana conditioner (also from The Body Shop). I seldom comb my hair to make them look naturally messy.


on 3/29/2015 12:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I felt I had to write this review to help out anyone else who is searching for a good shampoo.Those of us with sensitive scalps and delicate hair know how impossible it is to find a good product.


The verdict: amazing. Best result I have ever gotten with respect to my scalp and hair.

Scalp: I just started using it, but so far flakes are more diminished than with anything I have tried, and no iching or irritation even on the third day after washing. Unheard of!


Hair: if you have fine, dry, wavy hair that still gets oily at the roots, you know how hard it is to find a shampoo that keeps your roots from looking flat or greasy while not stripping your hair, let alone a scalp shampoo. This did the magic of cleaning the roots, leaving them light and fluffy yet not overly drying my hair. AND I am on my third day of not washing, which I have not been able to do with any other shampoo, or even vinegar rinses. I think it somehow cuts oil production.

Products I use/have tried: all drugstore scalp shampoos, nizoral, vinegar rinses. The last two work pretty well, but this is better and leaves my hair less heavy than nizoral, less dry than vinegar. and scalp feels betters.


Conclusion: if you are wondering if this shampoo could really be so amazing, try it! For me it is:)) so grateful for the reviews here

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2014 9:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't often repurchase a shampoo, but I really love this stuff. cleans my hair without stripping or making my hair dry. hair is left very shiny and silky. I don't use this everyday, but a few times a week, followed by a deep conditioner. Just bought three of the larger sized bottles I love it so much!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2014 3:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Green

Amazing product.

Suffered from severe scalp irritation and itchiness for years. At one point I can remember having SCABS on my scalp. Perhaps too much information, but the difference now is night and day.

After about a week of using this it COMPLETELY cleared up my scalp. I will never, ever switch from using this to anything else.

Smells amazing, makes me look forward to my shampoos. Also cleans hair very well (I have also always had oily hair and this takes care of that too)

No negatives.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2014 10:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I do not like this shampoo at all. It has reduced my dandruff only slightly, and after only 1 day my hair LOOKS very greasy, although it isn't much. I never had that with any other shampoo, where I could go 3 or 4 days without washing.

My hair is also very hard to comb through and is more knotted than with any other shampoo, sadly.

I've tried this product for a few weeks.. But sadly, another full bottle of a product I don't like.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently switched to this shampoo after years of Head & Shoulder's Smooth and Silky. The latter shampoo seemed to hydrate my hair itself but did not do much to improve my scalp; in fact, I'd start to flake up the next day and it kept my hair feeling weighed down.
I am thinking that H&S might be a good shampoo but I misdisagnosed my scalp problem as dandruff?
Anyways, since switching to this Ginger Scalp Care shampoo, I have not had flakes appear at all! I alternate between this and Avalon Organic's Lemon Clarifying Shampoo through the week and I have not had any issues with flaking for the last few months. I have not, however, tried it in the winter so I hope it's just as effective then!
The only thing I'd say could be better is giving more shine, but as a flake-fighter, it really delivers.


on 6/28/2014 11:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is just the most wonderful shampoo ever. It smells deliciously spicy, leaves your hair soft but squeaky-clean, prevents oil slicks and clears up dandruff. I've been using it for years on my hair (which is very fine but thick, with greasy roots and bone-dry ends) and it's practically perfect. I have absolutely no complaints about this product. It conditions, cleans, strengthens and reduces hairfall. What's not to love?!


on 5/18/2014 10:34:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't feel that this product has lessened my dandruff considerably, I don't get flakes and it's not visible but yes it's still there. I feel like it works just like how any other organic shampoo would. Maybe I'd be more wow-ed by it if I had used it after long term usage of drugstore shampoos... It is very gentle, has a lovely scent but hasn't provided any miraculous cure for my dandruff. but then again, I live in uber humid Singapore where I guess dandruff and oily hair just occurs more frequently!




Top Rated The Body Shop Products

Back to Top