Bobbi Brown • Hydrating Gel Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 lichi79 on 3/18/2014 4:43:00 AM more reviews by lichi79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It brightens the face and it is truly hydrating. This cream feels light and acts as a good base for makeup. It absorbs nicely and does not look shiny. There is no strong smell to it, and I have a very sensitive nose. The only thing I didn't like was that it does not contain spf. The other problem was that it caused small pimples here and there on the first use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Khandigirl on 2/8/2014 3:09:00 PM more reviews by Khandigirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was in Sephora getting my makeup done and the MUA used this on me. I loved it immediately. It absorbed into my skin quickly and moisurized my skin beautifully without a greasy feeling. It has a light and pleasant smell. This was one of the items I ended up purchasing. I hadn't checked the price before I decided to buy it and was sad to see that it was over $50, but I continued to use it every day and the jar lasted me about 4 months. I noticed that it helped to control redness/uneven skin tone around my nose/mouth. It also did not make me shiny in the t-zone, which is often a problem for me with moisturizers. After I used it up I tried other moisturizers to see if I found something less expensive, but nothing has compared! I finally repurchased and I'm so happy I did. Expensive but worth it. It works perfectly to balance out my combo skin. This also works for me year-round! No need to switch moisturizers depending on the season. The only big downside for me is the lack of SPF. When I use this during the day time I always apply an SPF lotion for the face and/or use bb cream and mineral makeup with SPF over it. The other (less annoying) downside is the packaging. A glass container is not ideal for traveling obviously, so I put some in a separate container to take on trips. Other than that, I've become a diehard fan of this product. I've thought about trying one of the BB face creams with SPF, but I'm afraid they will be too greasy for me as they sound like they are made for drier skin than mine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annie_b on 7/25/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by annie_b

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This has been a great moisturizer for me. I have combo skin with dry patches around my nose, and although this hasn't eliminated the dry spots 100%, it has helped a great deal. My skin is calmer overall. The cream absorbs beautifully and moisturizes well without feeling heavy. I recently discovered that I can apply my powder foundation without a primer when using this moisturizer. The scent is fresh but not overly strong or lingering. I've had no unexpected breakouts using this. I started using the hydrating gel cream in the summer, but I think it performs well enough to be a year-round moisturizer. Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GabbieC on 4/30/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by GabbieC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Purchased to use as a moisturizer/primer under the new long wear finish compact foundation (at the makeup artisits suggestion). Has a strong herbal smell, and applies nicely. However, after using a few times, it caused breakouts (and I very rarely get a pimple).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyfarrahfowler on 3/22/2013 10:19:00 PM more reviews by amyfarrahfowler

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this since gel creams are my favorite form of hydrators/moisturizers. This applies quite easily and absorbs rather quickly however it leaves my skin so shiny that I *look* like I applied a layer of vaseline - though it doesn't feel greasy. In fact it leaves my face feeling quite good Overall, I can't recommend this because of the grease-slick look and that's also the reason I rated it only 3 out of 5. I wanted to really like it but in the final analysis it's only a bit above average.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Bellavistarn on 3/15/2013 12:49:00 AM more reviews by Bellavistarn

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This left my face feeling really soft and hydrated but after 30 minutes I had to wash it off. I am very sensitive to smells and this cream had a very strong unpleasant odor. It smelled like dirty gym socks to me and it lingered until I couldn't stand it anymore. Glad it was a sample so I didn't have to deal with returning the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fabulousjason on 2/27/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by fabulousjason

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really love this moisturizer. I usually only buy my eyeshadows from BB, but I got a sample and really liked it. I am now on my second jar, because it works so well for my combination/oily skin. It smells pleasant, doesn't cause breakouts, and leaves my skin feeling moisturized and dewy. I don't really like the packaging, hence the four stars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bink180 on 2/25/2013 9:24:00 PM more reviews by bink180

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was a sample I got when I was getting Pretty Powerful signed by Bobbi in September and I just chucked it in my bag thought "Oh this is nice, but I'm not sure if I would use it since I have bountiful amounts of creams"

Fast forward to December, Texas weather is constantly changing and it was dry and cold as can be and I didn't feel like using my primer. So I couldn't find my "good occasion" gel moisturizer I looked for this one and... it feels pretty nice actually.

Now I blend it with my liquid makeup to give it that nice dewy glow, and for some reason I really like this smell it's not offensive, it smells like there's like a white pepper scent to it? It's light, you might not tell.

Good thing is, it doesn't break me out, especially weird since it comes in a jar and they're not the most hygenic. I like the way it feels, it's light, can be used for any skin type just have to apply it right! Not really sure if I can speak for the tender-skinned because I don't have sensitive skin but most Bobbi products don't bother people. I use it underneath my makeup, swirl it in with liquid base. Done. Healthy skin.

If you're looking for some miracle properties in this, skip it unless you just need some good hydration. I'm glad I got this as a sample 'cause I cannot afford a full size. haha.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pink02 on 2/9/2013 10:26:00 AM more reviews by Pink02

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Great product. Hydrates my skin without leaving it greasy. Perfect way to prime my face before applying makeup. Though expensive, it lasts for a long time, as I need only use a small amount to moisturise my entire face. Also very gentle on my sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 doris98 on 1/25/2013 1:52:00 AM more reviews by doris98

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this as a gift and have been using it off and on, mainly when I need extra hydration. I wake up with great skin that's hydrated but not greasy. It also seems to calm down my redness. Agree with other reviewers about tube packaging being more hygienic, but it sure is a pretty jar. Expensive, too. It has a distinctive scent that's a lot like the Kiehl's Cryste Marine which I also like, but which I think is discontinued.

Overall, a 4 rating. And yes, if I had $40 to burn, I'd buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Moisturizers products