MAC • Matte - Carbon • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(490 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 prettysaysay on 3/25/2014 9:01:00 PM more reviews by prettysaysay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Eh, Carbon. Formulation has changed significantly over the years, not nearly as pigmented or smooth as it once was. In order for me to even get a somewhat decent smoky eye with it, I have to use Blackground paint pot as a base & load TONS of Carbon onto a brush. With so many other better black e/s on the market (Sugarpill, Saucebox, MUG, even Milani for half the price MAC is), MAC better step their game up, in a hurry!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/25/2014 1:40:00 AM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this eyeshadow for years, and it's not even close to showing pan. It isn't my favorite matte black eyeshadow to use, because it's not very pigmented, it's fairly patchy, and it can be hard to blend. If you want to use it for a smokey eye, you really need a dark cream eyeshadow as a base first. You're better off using Urban Decay's Blackout.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ninnu on 11/18/2013 4:53:00 PM more reviews by ninnu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use this as eyeliner with wet eyeliner brush. Carbon is very well pigmented eye shadow, but requires primer to stay in place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 greenbird on 10/9/2013 4:14:00 PM more reviews by greenbird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Emily Noel said that the black shade in the Wet N Wild Blue had me at Hellow palette was blacker than Carbon. She swatched it-and it was noticeably darker than Carbon. I have that palette, and the black alone seems worth it to me to get the whole palette (however, I like blues). If you want to buy the single dupe-Wet N Wild Panther was recommended. Carbon is not the blackest black color you can find-however, some fairer skin tones look very harsh with a super black eyeshadow. Perhaps if you only use it wet or dry as a liner on the lash line-it's not so overwhelming to go black. I have medium toned skin (like an NC35) and I can handle color-like a blacket black shade. I have tried Carbon and it is not so unique that I would keep shelling out for it. But its not glittery, and makes a wonderful accent color to deepen your smokey eye. Even when I wear other colors-brown, grey, blue, green, purple, pink on my lids-Carbon deepens the color. However, you can find better or very similar replacements for a fraction of the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babyjane14 on 9/4/2013 10:43:00 PM more reviews by babyjane14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

'Carbon' looks in the pan to be a deep true matte black and even though I bought it knowing it wasn't very pigmented I didn't prepare myself for how translucent and patchy it was going to be!

The actual texture of this eyeshadow is completely different to my other MAC shadow's which I love. It just doesn't work! I thought I could use this as a subtle black outer v or lash line colour but I find it doesn't blend out nicely at all and it comes off patchy and uneven. I have tried different brushes to apply it but it still doesn't apply nicely. I wouldn't recommend this unfortunately.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissMissyPerez on 6/21/2013 12:54:00 AM more reviews by MissMissyPerez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this eyeshadow!
This is definitely my most used eyeshadow out of everything i have.
It is a very matte black. It says put all day, and blends great! I never have any fall out when i use this. A little bit goes a long way.
I have been using carbon everyday for 2 years now and still have not hit pan.
This color is great for a smokey eye and like i said, with the correct brushes and techniques, this blends beautifully and does not fade after a long day.
I have black hair so i also use this to fill in my eyebrows.
This color is also great to set your black gel eyeliners with.
I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great matte black!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShwetaDewan on 6/18/2013 4:48:00 AM more reviews by ShwetaDewan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this eye shadow. I have been using this for almost a year now, and ever since i found this I have replaced my kohl pencil with this. I use it to line my eyes (MAC Brush 263) and just use a little below my waterline. It does not smudge and stays in place even after a long day at work. I apply it after using a base on my lid as my lids are oily. And just because of its texture, it feels very light, unlike kohl pencils. What i love most about this is that i do not have to use a make up remover to get rid of it, I just wash my face with a face wash and it disappears like it was never there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiara85 on 6/13/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by tiara85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Best black eye shadow I've used!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 6/8/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the three previous reviews. This shadow is nothing special and its difficult to blend. I will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 GabyTee on 5/31/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by GabyTee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand the hype with carbon. It's such a mediocre black eyeshadow. I have found many drugstore black eyeshadows that make carbon look white -__- seriously not worth the money for the quality. I recommend spending the $14 on a unique eyeshadow that can't be found anywhere else. Like Club or Motiff.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products