MAC • Superslick Liquid Liner • Eyeliner

rated 3.5(51 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 soojiqxnyc on 6/11/2014 4:18:00 PM more reviews by soojiqxnyc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because my wedding make up artist used this on me and all of my bridesmaids and it did not budge. After buying it, there are definitely pros and cons to this but for now, it is my go to eyeliner.

Pros:

Does not budge. I wear it with Nars primer and it stays on all day long. I have oily lids and teary eyes and usually by mid day, the tails of my winged eyeliner are always melted off. This is the ONLY eyeliner that keeps all day. I have tried many, many, different types of eyeliners, from gels to pencils to Japanese ones and this is the only one that stays on.

Intense color. The black is a true, shiny black in one stroke and it stays that way. It is not for the faint hearted or for those who are looking for a more watery black.

Cons:

Flakes off it I curl my eyelashes after I put it on. My usual routine is line my eyes, curl my lashes, and put on mascara. But I guess because I put my eyelash curler directly on my eyelid, the eyeliner flakes off with it. So now I just curl my lashes and put on mascara before I put this eyeliner.

Clumps in my lashes. I can't seem to figure out a way to get this on without clumping in my eyelashes. Now that I have changed up my routine, it is a little less of an issue but I hate clumpy lashes and this creates them. Every time.

Difficult to remove. As with any long wearing liner, this one is hard to remove. I use Sonia Kashuk eye make up remover but this liner doesn't like to come off on to the pad. Instead it first comes off my eyelid, migrates to my eyelashes, clumps in there before I have to ease it off my eyelash. Annoying.

Tough to apply. The liner comes in two pieces, with a twist of lid where the applicator is. The tip of the applicator is a cone rather than a calligraphy brush so it's almost impossible to get a very fine line like you can get with a Japanese eyeliner like K Palette's 24 hour tattoo.

Even though there are more cons on my list than pros, the fact that this eyeliner stays on all day is enough to trump all others. Given my skin type, eye shape, and teariness, this one beats out all the others just based on that fact.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DamenesGirl on 7/27/2013 4:43:00 PM more reviews by DamenesGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this liner in 'Treat me nice' which is a metallic green colour and I love it!

The colour is lovely and although it takes a little longer to dry it stays put for the evening and doesn't end up down my face by the end of the night.

This is the only colour I have tried but I am looking forward to giving other colours a go. I also own Bobbi Brown's gel eyeliners which I hate and this one doesn't compare, I will definitely go back for more with this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 FloralRed on 5/5/2013 4:54:00 AM more reviews by FloralRed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, I was very intrigued by this product because I WAS looking for something that was very black. There are also metallic flecks that aren't discernible to the seeing eye which makes the color more vivid and eye popping. I definitely got what I wished for, however I realized that it was too pigmented for me and looked too harsh in comparison to what am used to (gel eyeliner). Therefore if any of you ladies are looking for an EXTREME & BOLD black, this is for you.

First application was a very frustrating one. When I applied the formula onto my lids, it burned! Also the brush really sucks for eyeliner in my opinion. The tip of the brush isn't fine enough and the formula's consistency is quite watery so the formula spreads a little; I can't draw a precise flick with this because the result of the line is too thick. It's hard to fix as well because when you try to take it off with any lotion (LADIES, USE OLIVE OIL! IT SEPARATES THE PRODUCT INTO PIECES AND IS MORE GENTLE ON YOUR SKIN) you're really rubbing your skin to take it off and it flakes off instead of glides away if that makes sense. Truthfully, I had to fix my eyeliner's shape more than 5 times and normally I don't need to fix it.

The price is too high. The formula irritates my skin and is too black for me. I can't create a good, precise eyeliner look with this. Will return.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 galexy15 on 4/22/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by galexy15

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

What a horrible product. I wore this on a night out, and it flaked off like crazy onto my face, yet it was so difficult to remove I literally had to scrape it off my skin. I've used other liquid liners before, and I can understand a bit of fading, but this product really was something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CocoaAddict on 4/18/2013 3:09:00 PM more reviews by CocoaAddict

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this eyeliner so much that I had to create a MUA account to review it :(

I have been using liquid eyeliner for a long time and tried many diffferent brands. This is hands down the most difficult to use.

The brush is too soft to handle, and the formula is way to runny. Apparently, the eyeliner thinks that it is a mascara, cuz everytime I try to apply it, I find more products on my lashes than on the lid!

Despite being runny, it drys instantly - so its extremely unforgiving. I used to spend 5 mins to put all my makeup on every morning, and now I spend more than 10 mins just to apply this eyeliner. Why? Because if u make one tiny mistake, you will have to remove the eyeliner and start over because there's no way to correct errors. And the worst part is, it just happen to be the most difficult to remove too!

Every morning, I say to muself that I will have to throw this away return it, I can't continue to treat myself like this

But every evening, I change my mind because so far, for me, this is the only eyeliner that doesn't smudge after 8 hours wiyhout UD all nighter. Lancôme, Bobbi brown, UD's products all failed the test

I hate this eyeliner with a passion

I hate the fact that I have to use it even more

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yc01 on 4/12/2013 6:06:00 AM more reviews by yc01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My daughter recently bought one of this and it was a real disappointment. It has very bright colours but its plastic like formulation is very bad.When it dries, it peels off and the remaining part on the lids seems so ugly. Buying this instead of a fluidline liner, costs us 53 TL (almost 29 USD).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ivana89 on 3/19/2013 9:57:00 AM more reviews by ivana89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this stuff. The texture is very thick and runny, and when the eyeliner dries it becomes flaky. The brush isn't the best either. When I use make up remover I need to scrub my eyes to remove the chunks and clumps of dry eyeliner. I really don't recommend this product. I regret having bought it, teaches me to stick to my good old l'Oreal super liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asherzoby on 2/25/2013 2:15:00 AM more reviews by asherzoby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think the formula for the different colours differs so i will do my review in parts instead:

1. On the hunt (black). the black does not go on perfectly. and if you attempt to redo your eyeliner, it smudges some of the existing eyeliner off your eyes. the formula is not very smooth and tends to be a little too thick at the beginning. The black is very strong, and it is a pure sooty black. good if you prefer that. for me, it is too strong a look. overall, i find the formula for black does not work as well. it also tends to drop off sometimes during the day, especially for me since my eyes tear up more in the morning, so i get left with half an eyeliner on during the day. it is not very obvious since my asian eyes tend to have a very deep crease very near the eye, but it is annoying when i close my eyes coz you can clearly see that half my eyeliner has fallen off, especially since black is such a strong colour.

2. signature blue (blue). The formula goes on better. and blue is pretty cool colour. less fall out, and you can touch up a couple of times without removing the original blue colour, unlike the black eyeliner. not too bad but blue is rather obvious, so more suitable for night out rather than a day in the office.

3. desires and devices (olive). this is the best and one of the reason why i keep buying this eyeliner. the formula is smooth and consistent throughout for all the two tubes i have bought so far. it is dark but not too dark and just right for my NC20 skintone. there is way less fall out, and it does not smudge and does not take as long as the black one to dry up. easily removable with warm water so no need to meddle around with oil and stuff. love, love, love this. it cost me around SGD25 if i buy this in US, but around SGD35 if i bought this from the local MAC shop in Singapore. Definitely buying it when i go US, not in Singapore. Even a maybelline or revlon eyeliner goes for about 20 SGD here, so paying 25SGD for a MAC definitely makes sense.

4. pure show (gold). love this colour and formula! it tends to be a little more clumpy than the olive one though, but its very difficult to find a gold eyeliner that is easily removable by water. please pm me if any of you know of any good ones!

overall - i love pure show and desires and devices. on the hunt just does not work. i love the fact that you can easily remove the eyeliner with just warm water! that is a mega plus point for me and the reason why i am willing to spend more money on a product that you have to throw away after 3-6 months. i would consider MAC eyeliners expensive in Singapore since it cost me 35SGD, but would definitely get some in US for only 25SGD. overall, i like this eyeliner but am still looking around for a good dupe. Unlike fibre mascaras, i don't have an issue with this fibre (i assume its kinda the same formula since they wash away with warm water) irritating my eyes. have tried the rest of the eyeliners colour on my hands, but pure show and desires and devices win hands down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chuichi on 1/29/2013 11:36:00 AM more reviews by chuichi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in "Marked for Glamour". At first, I didn't like this eyeliner. Yes it stays put all day, but it's not the easiest to apply. I was more used to "normal" liquid eyeliner which isn't a felt tip soaked with colour. However, with practice, I was able to apply carefully and thinly above my upper lash line and I found it's by far one of the best liquid liners I've used. It really stays on all day (provided you do not have a habit of rubbing your eyes, as it may flake off!) unlike some other eyeliners which get transferred to my upper eye lids after thousands and millions of blinks in the day. I also take care not to apply the eyeliner too close to my inner eye and outer eye, because those places are easy for the colour to flake off. Removal is easy for me, as I use cleansing oil every evening and it comes off easily. Yes it does seem harder to remove compared to other eyeliners, but cleansing oil removes it completely. Overall I'm pleased with this eyeliner, and with lots of practice you can master the perfect eyeline that stays put all day, thanks to this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 1/27/2013 11:51:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I’d always been loyal to the MAC Liquid Last liner in 'Coco Bar’, but since MAC decided to discontinue all the colours except black, (Why MAC?!) Defiantly Feline is a chocolate brown with gold shimmer. It looks like a lighter brown than my old favourite Coco Bar due to the shimmer, whereas Coco Bar was completely matte. Instead of having a brush tip applicator, it has a narrow felt tip pen which is saturated with the liquid.The liner has quite a watery, thin consistency to it, but is very pigmented with colour. I have to say I much prefer a brush tip applicator in a liquid liner, as sometimes the felt tip doesn’t apply evenly, but I don't mind the applicator. Depending on your personal preferences, you can either get a nice thin line (using a light hand and light strokes), or a thicker line, complete with flicks. I’m much more of a person who likes just a thin line of liner on the upper lashline, so I just shake the liner, and apply it in a smooth motion on my eyelid. No dragging either, because the felt tip feels smooth against my skin.Compared to the Liquidlasts, I would say that the Superslicks dry quite easily, and once they are dry they are very crease, smudge and water-resistant. It stays on for as long as you want them to. I do much prefer my Fluidline in Rich Ground as brown liner though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products