LUSH • Gorilla Perfume - Lust • Fragrances

rated 3.8(66 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oubliette on 8/14/2014 4:46:00 PM more reviews by oubliette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this, a no-holds-barred unabashedly jasmine jasmine, but alas I can't do it. Each time I've sampled this I've sprayed myself once in the shop and then gone for a walk. It's just too over-the-top indolic to be fit for public consumption. The last sampling session, I brought my husband with me, and he was literally repelled by me for the next hour or so. Like literally pushing me away and embarrassed that I was in public reeking of Lust. I wear a lot of weird scents but none has provoked such a strong reaction. If you love this scent (and I enjoy a little jasmine but waaaay dialled down from this) then do the public a favour and bask in its glory at home!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aj226 on 8/3/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by aj226

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love the solid version of Lush's "Lust" perfume. The main notes are jasmine, ylang ylang, rose, vanilla and sandalwood. I am not usually one for floral perfumes, but I rubbed this on my wrists and found that the effect with my chemistry is that it is lightly sweet, warm and complex. I purchased it a couple of days ago and find that just a dab on my wrists well blended and rubbed into my neck is perfection. Just enough to smell and feel sexy and confident without having people be able to smell me from a mile away. The price is $10.95 which I feel is very reasonable - particularly in comparison with other perfumes. I'm a little conflicted about the packaging. It looks cute and travels well. I also find it very useable. The salesperson at my local Lush showed me what to do so that I don't accidently "push up" too much product. I would definitely prefer a twist up version of the packaging though. Overall 4/5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amiablealligator on 6/14/2014 4:46:00 AM more reviews by amiablealligator

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Two words best describes this: STRONG and FLORAL

I adore this perfume. It is all heavy, luscious floral notes with no chemical afterburn. It's like dipping your head into a blooming Jasmine shrubbery with secondary notes of rose, vanilla and sandlewood. This stuff packs a hell of a punch, so one spray rubbed behind the ears and on the wrist is all you need. The smell is almost overpowering when applied but it mellows out nicely within the hour and lasts throughout the day (It interacts with my body chemistry well but this may not be the case with someone else, so you may want to buy the tiny bottle before commiting to the larger one).

I hate most perfumes, especially strong ones because I get an allergic reaction but I am crazy about this one and it doesn't give me the sniffles!

I know that it's not cheap, but most perfumes are expensive anyway so you might as well splurge on a great one. The packaging is nothing special but when it comes to perfume it can come in a 99 cent spray bottle for all I care.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lanuzzo on 5/30/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by lanuzzo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have been in love with Lush's Happy Happy Joy Joy conditioner, and was SOOOO happy to find this perfume, because it smells almost identical on me!

I am not crazy about the scent on initial application, since it has a very strong plastic-y smell to me. But that wears off within a minute or so. Longevity on me is very good, as I can smell it the next morning as i wake up :-)

Packaging wise, I am not crazy about it, but given how affordable it is, I'll take take the generic, no-frills packaging.

If you like Happy Happy Joy Joy, or a sophisticated take on Gardenia, give this one a sniff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lydiaie on 5/17/2014 4:24:00 PM more reviews by lydiaie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

HOLY GRAIL this makes me feel confident and gorgeous. it's sexy...and wow, just perfect. i love jasmine smells, and this is outrageously jasminey. everyone who i am around when wearing it says it smells sexy, which makes me feel even more wonderful. i love it, it makes me think of a femme fatal in a tight floor length burgundy dress who has diamond jewels... this literally makes me feel like i'm in a film noir. people on here are saying it's tacky and pornstar like....NO, it is sophisticated. what sort of porn star would wear something so grown up and sensual?
give it a go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Avja on 4/30/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by Avja

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have very mixed feeling about this Perfume!
I absolutely adore the scent in itself. The pure heavy natural jasmine wrapped in other fine essential oils. I think it beats Chanel no 5 and many others!!

But I can't stand the name "Lust", the red colour that have stained my clothes, wall and now some drops on my Mapple bathroom floor, because I tried to spray the perfume into another prettie glass bottle because I don't like the black painted bottle either and the black paint have started to peel off.
I think it is the name and the red scilly colour that makes.the scent "cheap"!
Give it a new name ...PLEASE. A new simple beautiful bottle and make the colour more amber like and Lush would make a masterpiece in my opinion!

OR make it in a refill bottle so I can pour it over in amother bottle, so I don't have to hide it in my bathroom closet, afraid someone might get the idea that I bought it in a porn shop :$
....Just do something, because the scent in itself is beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 zee140 on 2/6/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by zee140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Umm I really adore the smell but :( it doesn't last.. I put it on and it's pretty strong but it vanishes after maximum an hour :( I really love the smell but I have to keep putting it on all day. And I actually love the packaging hahah. Pretty expensive for Sth tht won't last long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ju1i9 on 11/14/2013 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Ju1i9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for the solid version of Lust. I smelled this in store ages ago, liked it but didn't buy it. I ordered it recently without remembering what it smelt like just remembering that whatever it was I liked it. I came on here & read the reviews & was terrified at people harping on about how loud & in your face this scent was. Someone said they smelled like a porn star! I was suddenly wishing I ordered vanillary instead :'). anyways it arrived today & whilst it is definitely a richer, deeper, more exotic & vampy scent than I normally wear I really like it & it's not as pungent as I was expecting. In the tube yes! by god it's strong! But on my skin it mellows out & it fades softly whilst staying true to its original scent. Now I know scent smells different on everyone so I'd definitely advise a tester in store before you commit & I wouldn't advise buying this blind online. I'm going to reiterate a lot of reviews here & say that a twist up too would be far better than a push up. Other than that I'm happy. But I can see how this is a love it or hate it scent! I have yet to wear it out so will update with any reactions I get :')

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pillager13 on 8/5/2013 4:55:00 PM more reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Honestly, I feel so ambivalent about LUSH Lust that I probably shouldn't even write a review. I tried it when I was in London and just couldn't stop walking around sniffing my pulse. It's a scent unlike any I usually wear and it just kept growing on me until I purchased it. A year later I'm still using it, although very sparingly and not very often. If I put on too much, I get a headache and feel like I smell like an old lady stripper LOL! But just a touch is ok. No one has ever complimented me on this scent nor have they run screaming from me. Think I might like the scent better as a soap or bath gel. I enjoyed reading the reviews of this fragrance and think the mixed (often funny) reviews pretty much sum up how I feel about Lust.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Khiandra on 5/15/2013 10:00:00 PM more reviews by Khiandra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Well, I'm more so partial to higher end perfumes but I just love Lust. It's loud, obnoxious, smoldering, and definatly not a pretty fragrance but I just adore it. I use it more so like aromatherapy. If I'm feeling stressed out, moody, or a little low I spray this and it instantly gives me a jolt of positive energy. I also like wearing this to bed. Definatly an interesting scent worth trying out. We need a Lust Massage Bar Lush!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Fragrances products