NARS Daphne

4.1

15 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/10/2015 5:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am so sad to leave a negative review as the colour is stunning and I'm a big fan of Nars, but their shadow formulation is terrible. Difficult to get it to show up properly, inconsistent, sort of streaky and you don't remotely get the depth of colour that's in the pan. Nightmare to blend. It's such a shame as like I said the shade is beautiful, but for what they charge making such a poor formulation is criminal. I should probably be making this a one lippy review but I love Nars too much to do it. I expect much better from you, Nars.



on 2/1/2012 11:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This color is so unique and bold, I love it! At first I did not use it because I didn't realize it takes time and multiple layers and blending to get a even look. But once you do its sooo good! It is not the most velvety but it is definatly not chalky. Worth the splurge and I will most likely repurchase.


on 1/9/2012 5:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

love the colour payoff and the staying power of this eyeshadow. very ideal for dramatic looks but can be blended out to make a purple smoky look. however i have noticed that it is slightly chalky and does not blend as well as some shadows should but once you blend it out 2-3 times more its perfectly fine. and i love that it has no shimmer! NARS has so many shimmery things (coughOrgasmblushcough). will probably not buy again cause ill never run out of it


on 5/4/2011 2:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is probably the first time I have ever been disappointed by NARS. I had been pining for this shadow for a while, and since I am so partial to NARS, I kept hoping that it would get better... but it didn't. Unlike all the other NARS eyeshadows I own, this has no shimmer (not a negative, just an observation) and is quite chalky, making it difficult to apply evenly. Even with primer, the color payoff is not true to what you see in the pan (it is a vibrant, almost electric purple in the pan but it comes off as an almost dark grey-purple on your eyelid). To get marginally close to what you see in the pan, you really do have to use a good amount, and even then, it isn't even close and you'll probably be frustrated by then because you'll have spent 5x the time you would normally spend to blend it. The only good things I have to say are that I love the trademark NARS packaging as always and it will last a long time, so the price is justified. Also, since its a dark shadow that isn't on the cool side, it looks great when I use it to smoke out my eyeliner; it's nice and dark with just a hint of purple. Overall, I'm sad to say that this is the only NARS product I've ever tried and will not be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2011 9:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love NARS packaging and when it was released in the collection (can't remember which one) I bought it immediatley. It is a very matte eyeshadow and the colour is super cool and pigmented. My only problem with this product is that it can be applied subtly but when I want a more vibrant look it takes a lot of product to make the colour really stand out. I don't think I will ever reach the end of the product but if i ever do I probably won't repurchase.


on 2/15/2011 9:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I received this in a kit. Daphne is a pretty color in the pan, but I'm not too impressed when I apply it on my eyes. The color payoff is not as opaque as I'd like it to be. However, you can build the color on your lids by patting it on with a shader brush. Although the quality is less than I'd expect from NARS, I'll continue to wear. It's a fun addition to my makeup collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2011 7:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have had my eyes on this shadow for a while now, finally picked it up at sephora today. It is such a pretty electric purple, I used it with my urban decay naked palate ( sin and hustle ) <3 it!
Edit... brought it back to sephora today. Chalky and very difficult to work with. Love the color but for a bars product i expect it to be smooth and easier to work with :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2011 9:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Gorgeous color! I was drawn to it the first time I saw it, even though bright eyeshadows scare me. I currently use this is an eyeliner and it looks fantastic.


on 11/26/2010 11:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wow! Brilliant purple color and looks just as lovely applied as it does in the pan. Soft and silky and lasts a long time and is great as a crease color,smudge color or lid color. I'm loving it so far and have just only started playing with it. Expensive but one of my new favorite purples!


on 11/8/2010 9:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

As soon as I saw this - I HAD, *HAD* to have it.
I had to fork out a rather large amount of money for it ($48AUD) but...well...I'm glad I did. I love purple and had been looking for the perfect purple. And for now, this is it. its vibrant, but dark. Its. just. amazing. Its pigmented, and lovely to put on, especially for a matte!!
I use it with a base of course, because this colour deserves to be shown as it really is. I espeically love using a black matte in the crease with this just to add that sultry look to it.
So, lets get down to the point:

* I recommend this to anyone who loves purple.
* Its amazing.
* Just go and buy it
* Did I mention it was amazing??




Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Ita Brush

45 reviews
Back to Top