Essie Splash of Grenadine

4.6

37 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Good nail varnish.
It needs 2 coats as per usual for nail polish for opaque coverage. This will come out as fairly bright pink but not 'in your face' bright. Slight purple undertone.
This is my first essie polish. I find it expensive. It's no better than other cheaper branded ones. I think the bottle lid (white) looks quite cheap. If you take out the brush and wipe it on the side of the bottle it can actually paint 3 (fairly short) nails. Sometimes you can get paint dripping down the brush.
It is a thin formula but this is good. No gloopiness. It's not too thin so that it runs.
The brush is about average as polishes go. Not especially wide or overly wide. If you make a mistake when painting (as in it being a bit uneven) it's actually forgivable due to the thin formula.
1 coat would be nice if you want something sheer but your nails looking a bit nicer (I know some lighter pinks/nudes can need a few coats).
The best thing about this polish is it is SOOOO shiny. I don't remember wearing a polish that looks so shiny. It looks like it has a quality clear top coat on.
It's a strong smelling/stinky polish!
I would recommend this and essie seems to have quite a wide range of colours.
However, I probably wouldn't buy it again as it is quite expensive and the bottle has a substantial amount in (more than usual, although it does not look especially big).



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is one of my all time favourites! Love that the colour is a little crazy yet so flattering. It's pretty easy to apply as well, doesn't go gloopy half way through the application, and if done carefully it looks perfect after just one coat. Wouldn't usually repurchase a nail polish but when this baby is gone I'm definitely getting another!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2013 5:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous colour! Love this on my fingers and toes! Can't wait till the summer to show it off in sandals :-)


on 11/21/2012 10:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Best color ever. It's a great summer and spring color, but could be used all year round. Not quite pink, not quite lavender, not quite fuscia; just the best of them all. I've had more compliments on this color than any other that I've owned. Wears great with any color for any occasion.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2012 7:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is such an amazing, unique color! I really love it, a bright pink, which is not too girly.
Every time I wear it, I can't stop looking at my nails.

As far as I've checked, I didn't find a similar color of any other brand.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2012 4:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this nail polish, has just enough brightness to get me excited. Perfect Spring colour although I love it that much I wear it year-round! a nice medium pink with purple-y undertones and in some lighting looks magenta. Although I do need quite a few coats - I do recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2012 12:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the perfect spring color; not to pink not too purple. I am constantly running into other people wearing the same shade. As with most Essie colors, the formula is pretty creamy, goes on without streaking and is opaque with 2 coats.


on 9/26/2012 11:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love this color. It's a very cool toned hot pink. It's blue based so its kind of purple-pink. It looks amazing on my cool toned pale skin. It applies smoothly and one thick coat is enough for me. It also dries pretty fast. It's comparable to other Essie polishes. Definitely something I will buy again and again.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/7/2012 10:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Soooo pretty! The color is a pink/purple shade that looks perfect on my medium skin tone. I don't look good in pale pink, Barbie pink, or frosted pink, but THIS is fantastic. It's a creme (no shimmer), & I need 2 coats to cover. I could easily wear this color year round on my fingers or toes. On me it's a very soft shade but still has some oomph & vibrancy. Essie wears well on my natural nails, & never dries them out. I love this color so much that I bought another bottle!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2012 1:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This color is a definite favorite for spring and summer and I have it on my nails now. My first encounter with this color was when I got it as a manicure about a year ago. I loved it, but didn't actually get it for myself until this spring. The color does not look like grenadine...haha. Its a pink with definite purple undertones. I don't tend to like pure "barbie" pinks, so this color definitely appeals to me. I think the formula is near-perfect. At first it seems a little thin, but only takes 2 coats to become opaque. The finish is shiny and almost doesn't need a topcoat, beautiful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Lady Like

64 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top