MAC • Shock-A-Holic (Dare to Wear) • Eye Shadow

rated 2.8(13 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luxlover79 on 8/29/2012 3:53:00 AM more reviews by luxlover79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm on the fence on these shadows. I got 3 colors from this collection & I must say that they're very dupable. The texture will be a challenge to blend for the newbies in makeup. I had to pack on the color many times to get the color even and blended, it seems to set fast & it's hard to move the color once applied already. 'Can be frustrating to blend specially if you're in a hurry. Stays long on my lids even without primer. You can skip these and save money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 speedyjp on 2/21/2011 4:27:00 PM more reviews by speedyjp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful medium-dark matte purple. I haven't had the negative experience most other reviewers have had - I find the lasting power is excellent and the colour payoff is great, too! It's unfortunate they're having that bad experience, because it's a great colour (especially for brown-eyed girls).


If people are looking for a dupe because they're disappointed with this one, Lancome's Trendy is very similar. I would repurchase (except that it's LE and I don't use it very often, so I'll likely not run out).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rachchen on 10/24/2010 4:27:00 AM more reviews by rachchen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Gorgeous matte deep violet with a slightly pink base in the pot, but disgustingly chalky and unblendable on the skin with zero staying power. Indistinguishable from $2 eyeshadow found in the drugstore or on ebayland. Pretty shocked (no pun intended) MAC was asking this much money for such atrocious quality!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Markee on 9/4/2010 12:10:00 PM more reviews by Markee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was very excited when I bought this because I had been wanting to buy a good, purple matte eye shadow for a while & thought I finally got one but when I tried using this I was shocked (no pun intended, lol) at how crappy it was. I usually love mattes, but this just goes on sooo sheer and uneven it is ridiculous. So far i've tried putting it over UDPP, Mary Kay eye primer, Mac concealer, & NYX jumbo eye shadow pencil & I feel like I have to work my brush into the product so much to get even decent pigmentation. And I can't even return this product because I bought it as a B2M purchase. I think I will just go ahead & buy MUFE's 92 or SugarPill Poison Plum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lovemymakeup on 8/28/2010 9:47:00 PM more reviews by Lovemymakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This color is ok not my fav purple but not as bad as I thought from the reviews , I use it w my udpp and then apply it it is buildable I use my Mac 239 brush and then top it off w benefit she laq and it stayed on all day ;) I won't be buying it aging cause it's limited edition !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NotReallyAWaitress on 8/16/2010 7:17:00 PM more reviews by NotReallyAWaitress

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I agree with the others that rated this low!! It's not what I excepted from mac at all, just like the poster below said. It was so sheer, and there is no point in paying $17 for this if I could have gotten something that was $4 that looks and works just the same. It took A LOT of layering to get half the pigmentation that it looks like in the pot. I used my TFSI and Nars Base and UD Eden without any difference. This was the only color I was interested in the dare to wear collection and wow it was a big bummer for me. I love matte shadows and work with them all of the time but I have never had this kind of trouble with a shadow, except the cheapie drugstore ones that I've tried out. I know the color is very tempting to get just by looking at it but it's so not worth it. You can find something much better!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tishkaminx on 8/15/2010 1:22:00 PM more reviews by Tishkaminx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't understand the poor reviews- I love this shadow- it's the shade I have been looking for. I don't think MAC has done a shade like this and I've owned most of MACs purples. This one is a true royal purple- more blue than Fig1 but much less than Violet Trance. I don't think the texture on mine is chalky - but then I only use mattes- it's definatly buildable. This shadow really makes my teal-grey eyse pop and is best worn just on it's own in my oppinion for a burst of colour. Love it and would definatly buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 omeleko on 8/12/2010 10:55:00 AM more reviews by omeleko

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This shadow looks beautiful in the pot but it's extreamly chalky and hard to work with. You need to apply several layers to even come close to making it as vibrant as it is in the pot. MUFE 92 is much better but the best purple shadow by far is Sugarpill posion pen. Save your money and get that one instead. It's worth every penny. Shock-a-holic is going back to mac

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candyrivera on 8/10/2010 11:33:00 PM more reviews by candyrivera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This was the worst eyeshadow ever! I felt so ripped off after purchasing this. It's absolutely ridiculous that they even released this with the horrible pigmentation that it has or should I say doesn't have. Yes you can build this up but honestly you could find a drugstore shadow that is equivalent if not better than this shadow. After building it up to what I could, my eyes were sore from all the layering and blending I had to do with this shadow. I have very soft brushes and I've never had to layer something until the skin on my eyes were tender. The end result does bring out the green in eyes and the color in the pan is gorgeous but it doesn't show up like it does in the pan. I wouldn't waste your money on this shadow since you can find better for your moneys worth. If you want a "dare to wear" purple or a great vivid purple I'd recommend Make Up Forever shadow "92". This is a matte shadow but in the pan there is pink flecks but doesn't show on the skin but then again neither does the shadow it's self really. I expect more from mac. I understand you could spend extra time and work with this but for the price I don't think you should have to. Spare yourself the disappointment and spend a few more dallors on MUFE 92 or Nars Daphne.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 8/4/2010 11:35:00 AM more reviews by nola80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted this the second I saw this because of my obsession with purples!! Yes it could be a little more pigmented but it's definitely buildable and looks great as crease color with Going Bananas. The only reason I won't repurchase because it will probably last me a while!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products