NARS • Strawberry Fields • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 paulamarie on 9/18/2011 10:21:00 PM more reviews by paulamarie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Admittedly, I'm a sucker for marketing. I'm a Beatles fanatic and just had to get this new shade. Luckily, it works pretty well on my pale (NC30) skin. It's a little more dramatic/opaque than what I usually look for in a gloss, but for a more dramatic look I go for this. It's a nice raspberry shade for my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AQuestionofLust on 1/11/2011 4:10:00 PM more reviews by AQuestionofLust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with others-- the name of this product is a misnomer. I expected bright but deep strawberry and got deep raspberry.

Again, I appreciate that NARS doesn't abuse shimmer and sparkle. This gloss doesn't have that. But it's just too much pigment for me. It's quite dark, nearly opaque. Good for enhancing similarly toned lipsticks, but I generally like my darker colors as satin or matte, personally. If you like darker hues and would like one in a non-staining gloss form, then this is for you.

It's got that sticky-but-less-sticky-than-MAC-gloss texture I'm not terribly fond of(but will put up with for shades I like) and lack of fragrance typical to NARS, which I am fond of. At $24, I certainly would not re-purchase, and have decided to swap mine. It's not a bad product, however, it's not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 11/5/2010 5:09:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The name Strawberry Fields is misleading IMO. This is more of a deep raspberry color. I researched this lipgloss before I ordered it and was highly disappointed when it arrived. It was much darker than I expected, and only showed up magenta/deep pink when photographed with flash. Many bloggers have swatches of photos of themselves wearing this lip gloss, and I suspect they used flash because it's much pinker on them than it is on me! On my pigmented lips it was bordering on NARS Dolce Vita in coloring, but with less brown. I was hoping to get a dupe of the fuscia lip color Bethenny Frankel wore on her TV show but this isn't it. It should've been named Raspberry Beret or something berry because it's definitely not the girly pink/fuscia/magenta color I expected from the name Strawberry Fields. The quality and pigmentation are excellent however, and the texture is slightly tackier than other NARS glosses I've tried (Frisky Summer, Chihuahua, Giza to name a few).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 achyo on 9/29/2010 5:37:00 PM more reviews by achyo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up at a Sephora in Vegas over the weekend and instantly fell in love with it. Then I came home and ordered another one so i have one for my purse. LOL. It is the most lovely berry shade and has just enough pigment that it can be worn alone (i typically like more pigmented glosses). Texture is nice, a little sticky but nothing unusual for lipgloss. I have medium skin tone (MAC C40). I am tempted to buy one more since this is LE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 citygirl05 on 9/26/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by citygirl05

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had no intention of buying another lip product esp. since I had recently purchased Basque Rouge but the NARS counter at Saks in NYC was calling my name...I don't even remember why I stopped by the counter to begin with b/c I was looking for GA counter.
Anyway, saw the display with this lipgloss and had to try it.
Very, very pretty and very pigmented as others have noted.
It is bright but deep if that makes sense to you. Not very sticky which is what I like about NARS lipglosses. Color is somewhat 'fruity' but very grown up-looks like a raspberry red on my lips which are pigmented to begin with. I would be okay with this at work and in the evening.
Because of brightness I would definitely keep eyes and face toned down otherwise it might slip into clown-ness.
Am in my late 50's and color and texture of this gloss are not excessive for me.
Am glad I got it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* natalielouiseee on 9/21/2010 12:31:00 PM more reviews by natalielouiseee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Hmmm, I assume that maybe I got a bad one?
It's sticky, needs reapplying constantly and has a funny smell and taste. Colour doesn't really show up either.

I assume I got a bad one like I said. Hmm....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chivis22juan on 9/21/2010 12:15:00 PM more reviews by chivis22juan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

this is imo the absolute gem in the nars fall collection, so so nice and flattering. it goes on like a dark strawberry- almost berry color. perfect for the new season. i cant get over how pigmented it is, its like a Chanel lacque but lightweight. it is really longlasting too, if you like this kind of colors grab it while you can, its already sold out online

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kcooke on 9/13/2010 8:46:00 PM more reviews by kcooke

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I loved this lipgloss! First off, I am a sucker for limited edition items, and I love berry liglosses/lipsticks, so I had to get this. It's not too sticky, and the pigmentation is nice. Over all, I would buy this again. =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkyparadise on 8/26/2010 8:48:00 PM more reviews by pinkyparadise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this lipgloss! So opaque and pigmented, the color is absolutely beautiful. Not sticky, no typical nars plastic scent, and after wearing it for a while it leaves a nice berry stain. It is such a good fall color, I am loving red/berry lips, no more nude! Definitely a must buy, especially since it is limited edition. I would recommend to anyone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AprilRosex on 8/23/2010 4:17:00 PM more reviews by AprilRosex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I'm the kind of girl who sticks to nude lip colours so buying this was completely out the blue - but I love it ! I think the deep colour adds warmth to my face ! Its a very sophisticated colour - I call it my 'grown up' lipgloss ! Overall I love it, and think its perfect for winter..! x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lip Gloss products