NARS Douceur ] [DISCONTINUED]

image 1image 2image 3

4.3

92 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/4/2015 12:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

My cheeks are naturally quite red and I have yet to find something that will cover that up completely. For that reason, I never use blush for a flushed look, because I got that for free. I looked for something that would define my cheekbones a bit, without being a bronzer or a sculpting powder, but just something to blend those into my cheeks and makes it look more 'put together'.

This blush is absolute perfection. This will make my cheekbones stand out in a super natural way. It's a dusty rosy brown, so it doesn't give me that 'honey take off your sweater, you look like you're burning up' look to my face like other blushes do. It is completely matte but nowhere near chalky. Plus, it goes with absolutely EVERYTHING. Warm, cool, bright, neutral - it looks good with every look.

It looks so sophisticated, I can't get enough of it. I feel like a Parisienne with this, for some reason. The formula is so good as well. As I said, I don't have a lot of experience with blushes, but I can recognise quality when I see it. It blends out so well without blending into nothingness! I never pay much attention to my makeup when I take it off so I'm not sure about the lasting power, but seeing other reviews it's probably really good. The pigmentation is good. I think it is less pigmented than other NARS blushes - this is my first one - but in my opinion, it is perfectly workable.

I'm so so so bummed this discontinued, BUT, there are some dupes out there:
- Milani - Romantic Rose - Not living in the states so I can't swatch it, but I heard people say that it is a dead-on dupe! I will purchase that when I run out of this.
- MAC - Prism. I think that one is slightly pinker though.
- Tarte - Exposed. Also, pinker than douceur.
- Sleek - Suede. I do own this. Compared, it is less pink, more orangy/brown, but gives the same 'defined' effect!

BOTTOM LINE:
If I could have one blush for the rest of my life, this would be it, without a doubt! Great quality, so worth the pricetag. Would look good on so many skintones - except really dark I think - with so many looks. If you have the chance, buy it! You will NOT regret it. If you do, go send it to me becaus I want a never-ending collection of these.



on 1/29/2015 7:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Discontinued? What?? I actually was able to get my hands on this blush after patiently waiting for Sephora to restock. Gorgeous, gorgeous blush..basically everything Tarte Exposed wasn't...more brown and less pink and everything MAC's Blushbaby lacked..pigmentation and longevity. I prefer this to NARS Madly due to the absence of shimmer. This is a completely matte true pink brown blush that's very flattering to my NC25 skin tone. It can double up as a bronzer if you're more fair. At first, the product doesn't pick up much but it is buildable. Douceur and Sin is my favorite blush of all time. What would I do without you NARS? Get your hands on this before it's sold out again (it can also be found on beauty.com).


on 11/15/2014 9:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I didn't know this product was being discontinued! I bought it during the Sephora sale and just wore it for the first time. It is sooooo pretty. Sophisticated and subdued, but really gives a polished look. No glitter or shimmer, so great for when a matte blush is preferred. I love all of my Nars blushes, this one did not disappoint, I think it will see a lot of use.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2014 1:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am not a regular blush wearer, I'll usually favour bronzer over blush any day. But Douceur really changed my mind. It adds a bit of healthiness that bronzer can't do alone, but it doesn't scream OMG PEACHY PINK WITH IRIDESCENCE but a subtle whisper of sophistication. It is easy to use, its a sheer formulation unlike other NARS blushes, so I don't have to worry about over doing it. Like my bronzers, this also lends itself as an eyeshadow too; I work a bit of this into the crease to add definition or blow out a dark shade on the lid. This double duty product is a staple in my daily makeup bag in the bleaker months since it looks good with office makeup, dramatic lips, and no-makeup makeup days. Lasting power is so-so, better with a primer underneath, looks natural on my light-medium Asian skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2014 4:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Nars Douceur is hands down my favourite blush/contour powder. The colour in the pan is one I wasn't naturally drawn to. I usually tend to go for the peachy or pink blush colours, and Douceur is a true dusty rose/brown. As I said, nothing to stunning in the pan, and something I wouldn't have normally gone for. But Douceur is a transformative blush when you put it on your cheeks.

It defines and gives the right amount of colour, and without trying just makes your cheek bones stand out. It definitely is more of a blush and contour in one, because Douceur is the contour colour for girls who find the grey/brown matte contour a bit too much to handle. I would say the colour is comparable to Benefit Dallas, Nars Penny Lane Cream Blush, Tarte Exposed, and Mac Blushbaby.

If you are thinking of purchasing Douceur but don't want to because of its not so stunning pan presence, don;t hesitate because you definitely won't be disappointed. Will always repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2014 12:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is probably the most natural blush color you'll ever find, at least if you have fair to medium skin color. I have light to medium skin, but I think this would look the most stunning on very fair/ pale skin tones. The color looks so boring in the pan, but on the skin it comes across as a lovely natural flush, even bordering on an ethereal lit glow.
I own two Nars blushes and I'm astonishingly impresse with both of them1 and I well should be for the $30 price tag!
I will say though- Nars creates unique colors that you really can't find elsewhere, and besides that, the pigmentation and blendability are really what make them worth the price tag. I'll just warn you though- once you have one, you'll just want to keep adding more to your collection!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I am a redhead, blushes never work for me. They pull blue/pink/red, even orange. This, color is amazing - stays true - a nice fleshy neutral. I use it in the contour and, suddenly, my cheekbones pop. Works great with a basic cat eye and fleshy lipstick to create a polished, yet sexy, face.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2014 8:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Zoella & Tanya Burr (makeup artist) uses this product! And they look fantastic!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I was really disappointed in this blush. NARS blushes are usually known for being quite pigmented, this sadly wasn't. I don't know what is going on with NARS. He is making blushes that aren't quite as pigmented as previous blushes, it's like as if he is creating blushes that are only meant for a subtle effect. But why not create pigmented blushes, and just use a light hand? Anyways, unlike the other reviewers here with dark skin, I would not recommend this if you have dark skin, unless a subtle effect is what you are aiming for. This barely shows up on me. Maybe you'll see a slight hint of a pink, but then again barely. Even when you pack it on. I have always wanted a dusty rose blush, but having no such luck with my dark skin. The search is still on.


on 2/2/2014 3:06:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

You don't want pink? You don't want peach or brown? you want something in between.Then Douceur is your blush.Gorgeous colour that will suit most skintones.Compliments any lipstick as it is just that in between. Not matte not glittery just a nice healthy glow.I avoided blush for years as I hate the overdone "dolly" cheek look. But this is perfect, very natural.Love it, must be tried, I doubt if it will disappoint!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Popular Blush Products


Orgasm Blush
5138 Reviews
Contour Kit
90 Reviews


Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top