MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Tamanu Oil • Skincare - Face

rated 4.6(45 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Olive11 on 3/5/2012 12:40:00 PM more reviews by Olive11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a person with lots of skin issues. Active acne, scarring, melasma ... yeah, it stucks. I have spent a fortune on all kinds of creams and treatments, from dermatologists, spas, department store counters ... we're talking Fraxel, chemical peel, etc. (probably all made it worse in the end). Almost a year ago, after the derm prescribed antibiotics AGAIN, and I ended up with new melasma due to sun sensitivity, I threw all the Retin-A, antibiotics, and chemical crap in the garbage. I had had it with all of the useless, harmful crap these so-called experts were doling out. I decided to go all natural and holistic. My latest discovery has been tamanu oil. After a week of applying it (after having a horrific breakout) my skin has never looked better. No acne, smoother complexion, and healthier looking. It is definitely healing and regenerating, as I read. It is worth every penny and I will never be without it, unless there is an apocalypse or something, and then I guess at that point I won't care what's going on with my face.

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rvmc on 7/19/2010 4:32:00 PM more reviews by rvmc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for pure tamanu oil.
I have not been able to find it in shops, only online at gonative.co.nz.
Previously I have been on Retin-A for wrinkles and acne. It burnt my skin and made it raw and thin.
I bought pure tamanu oil after reading about its medicinal and antibacterial properties. It is a thick green liquid which melts easily in your hands. Has a woody scent to it.
I have been using it for a month now and it has improved my skin more than any anti-acne stuff has ever before. My skin is smooth, my pores unclogged, my wrinkles fading. It's amazing. No wonder it has been used for centuries.
Trilogy has tamanu oil in their CoQ10 serum, I believe, but I don't know if the concentration is enough to deliver this kind of result. (And it's WAY more expensive.)
If you are at the end of your tether with sensitive skin that gets clogged and pimples - try this. It's amazing.
It may be worth pointing out that I don't use facial cleanser, just a facecloth, and only wash my face in the morning (occasionally at night with jojoba but I'm usually too lazy for that).

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 interpret2323 on 3/12/2011 9:31:00 PM more reviews by interpret2323

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love tamanu oil! I have tried a lot of different natural oils from jojoba oil to apricot seed oil. None have helped my acne and acne scars like the tamanu oil. Similar to what another reviewer said, I too was at the end of my rope trying to find a natural product that would help my acne. The other oils that I tried would work for a few weeks, and then would all start to break me out. I was almost going to admit that maybe natural oils weren't going to work for my skin, even though I had heard a lot success stories with jojoba and olive oil. I have finally found the oil that works perfectly for my skin type. It actually heals my acne, so I don't need to use anything else as a spot treatment. I also use it as my only face moisturizer. More people who suffer with acne, and acne scars need to know about this amazing oil. I have extremely sensitive/ acne prone skin, so for my skin to like this oil is amazing. The downside is that it is pricey, but a one ounce bottle will last me at least a few months because only a few drops are needed. I saw that someone else said that they were using pure cold pressed oil. That's exactly what it should be. The tamanu oil shouldn't be mixed with other oils, like olive oil. If it is, then it isn't pure tamanu oil. That's a scam to watch out for when you buy it. If you have acne, get tamanu oil. I think it has all the other oils beat hands down!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 drcotton on 1/18/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by drcotton

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've done a review to this product before; this is my update review. I've been using this stuff for more than 4 years.... I must say I'm pretty addicted to this stuff. Like I've said in my past review this stuff is the best beauty secret ever!!! Seriously this is TRUTH!! Lol. In the last review I indicated I used the New Chapter brand, I tried a new brand and I have to rave about it! It is so inexpensive, every beauty lover can afford and save their money in the long run! It's called Calibabe! I came across this while Internet buying through eBay and I must say.. I purchased this product at 4oz for $18! Ladies, I highly recommend the tamanu oil. Since using it, I can say my skin feels young, I'm near my mid 30's and I don't have a wrinkle. And I must add just because I'm Asian does not mean I look younger than other nationalities, I dislike when ppl say this. Like others we have the same skin... We age too! Lol. I do find other people shocked when I tell them how old I am. Shhhh my sisters would kill me if I blab about this... But ppl think I look younger than them and my baby sister is 4 years younger. Hehe I started out using this because of my adult acne, but never of thought that this product would help with youthful skin. <3 I use this stuff twice a day; morning and night. I recommend using this stuff on a clean face at night before bed. In the morning, I've watched on Dr. Oz that ppl shouldn't wash their faces in the morning because you will have much drier skin and your not allowing their own natural oils to moisten their skin. I use this product as my normal make up routine before putting on my face primer. This stuff will not make your skin oily. It blends in well, a small amount will do its job. I'm not a doctor but here is what I googled on the Internet of other benefits to Tamanu oil: 1. Relieves and protects the skin against inflammation, skin redness, sunburn and insect bites. 2. Has a regenerating effect on the skin (especially the epidermis cells) and so it effective for healing wounds, burns, cuts and bruising 3. Reduces scarring, especially the appearance of scars that are one or more years old 4. Is an anti septic and anti acne 8. Has anti ageing and anti wrinkle qualities - Moisturizes, nourishes and repairs the epidermal cells of dry and damaged skin 9. Increases microcirculation (heavy legs, bruising...) 10. Body hygiene (body odors, infections, skin rashes, dermatitis, psoriasis)

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rosse86 on 7/26/2012 8:42:00 PM more reviews by Rosse86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've used pure tamanu oil from a few different brands now, and it reduces my acne considerably! Be sure to only use a couple of drops and apply it to your wet face with wet hands - it can clog pores if you use to much or on dry skin! If you don't want to use it straight, you can just mix it in either your regular facial cream or a homemade one.

Tamanu oil is one of those "miracle" products straight from nature, and can be used on a variety of skin conditions. At first I thought it smelled weird, sort of like parsnip or some other root vegetable, but I quickly got used to it and now I hardly notice the smell when I put it on. Only drawback is the price, but it lasts very long and gives great results, so I think it's worth it.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pugsrule on 10/4/2012 12:34:00 PM more reviews by pugsrule

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Wow is all i can say! I have lots of different oils i use,seabuckthorn,rosehip,avacado but they all seem to cause cloggs or pimples after a while so i only use them around my eyes.I baught my tamanu oil at the health food store.In the 9 days of useing this my face is completly clear.It has gotten rid of a few pimples is fading some old scars and taken away a lot of any redness on my cheeks.I use it morning and night and like others will never be without it.I am 48 years old and nothing has ever worked this quick and given such great skin,even my retin a and azelac creme which ive been using for 3 years has never cleared me like this oil has.A must try!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sass74 on 11/6/2011 9:04:00 AM more reviews by Sass74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product out of complete desperation. I was advised to use Neo Strata products for sun damage and all I can say about that is the sun was the least of my problems after 3 weeks of Neo Strata. So in order to try and fix the damage done by the excessive drying I went for a vitalize peel. Total waste of money as it just increased the drying and broke me out (which never happen to me) So I was at my wits end and I went back to my old routine which kept my skin smooth and soft but didn't tackle the hyperpigmantation. Dark spots are easier for me to accept than acne. So I went to buy my regular Rose Hip oil when I came across 100% Tamanu oil and I thought I would try it with the Rose Hip oil. My goodness !!!!!!! In 24 hours the painful dry flakey skin on my face was soft and smooth again (and I am talking 4 day after a peel) the red spots that the peel caused were about 75% gone. Amazing stuff :) I am only 4 days into using it so if anyone has more experience I would love to know if on the long term it helps with skin tone and hyperpigmantation ? I would definetly recommend this for anyone with issues, especially dry skin. Love it and will never be without !

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 idiBibi on 7/1/2011 7:38:00 PM more reviews by idiBibi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I'm going to smell like skunk pretty much every night for the rest of my life.
Tamanu oil smells yucky, kind of like skunk.
Why would I do this to myself? My hormones have gone completely haywire; and with them, my skin and hair. My mostly acne-free skin has developed daily breakouts on my forehead and under my jawline.
I'd heard rumors that tamanu oil was good for treating skin issues, and I had nothing to lose! I bought it at Whole Foods.
Holy cow, it works!
At night, I spray rosewater toner onto my hand with three drops of tamanu oil and spread all over my face and neck. It doesn't smell good, but on nights when I forget to do this (or am too lazy) I can sure tell the difference the following day!
If you aren't too sensitive to smells or if youve tried everything else, I HIGHLY recommend trying Tamanu oil.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugie67 on 11/8/2010 11:41:00 PM more reviews by sugie67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Tamanu oil is the strangest thing i've ever come across, we have a love-hate relationship! I bought a bottle of pure cold pressed tamanu oil 3 months ago because I read it was a great anti ager. I'm 43 and can use all the anti aging I can get. I used a few drops and was soo overcome by the horrible smell that I stuffed it in the back of my cupboard never to be seen again! Then I was reading again how great it is, so out came and I slathered it all over my face and neck, on my hands and in my hair. The smell is wreched, the color, a horrible grey when on the skin. But I did it anyway and went to bed. Holy cow if I didn't wake up looking ten years youngers! Wrinkles remarkebly lessend, hair way less frizzy and sun damaged hands looking youthful. So I have no idea what i'm going to do now but the results are amazing. Warning for you all,,the stuff smells disgusting..but the results..awesome!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IrisTree on 12/9/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by IrisTree

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've had a small but very visible icepick scar on my cheek for a year. It got inflamed easily and never showed any signs of fading. I began to use Tamanu oil about 2 months ago, and after a month the scar was fading fast. Now I can barely see it! I can't think of any other changes in my skin care, diet, climate, anything, other than starting to use Tamanu oil. Just incredible, I never thought it would be so effective in reality.

My pores get clogged all the time, but this oil doesn't do that any more than other oils suitable for my skin. As for the scent, it's pretty strong but not exactly bad, just takes a little getting used to. This oil is so good that I wouldn't mind no matter how repulsive it was!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Skincare - Face products