Tamanu Oil

4.5

50 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/19/2015 3:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I use this product from Shea Terra Organics and I cannot even begin to express how fast my skin is healing. I had a case of a few breakouts that came out of nowhere that were just not healing properly. I applied the tamanu oil directly to the breakouts twice a day for a few days and already after day one I could see a big difference. This reduced the size and redness of the pimples significantly. I only buy tamanu oil from Shea Terra Organics because I know that I am getting unadulterated stuff. The product itself reeks of burnt wood, so if you are using tamanu oil that smells pleasant, it has probably been mixed with other ingredients. This product is very reasonably priced and works wonders, so I will definitely continue to purchase this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/19/2015 2:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love Tamanu Oil! it is incredibly moisturizing, anti-inflammatory and soothing. For anyone that has acne prone skin- do not fear! This will actually work to heal breakouts and prevent new ones from resurfacing, while still providing your skin with what it needs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2015 3:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been using the New Roots - Tamanu Oil for a few months now. I have suffered with acne/combination skin my whole life. I tried accutane when I was 16 and it worked wonders. I took birth contro at the age of 18 and stopped taking it at the age of 26. When I stopped, my skin got really horrible again. I'm currently 6.5 months pregnant and there are a lot of products out there that you can't use as they are apart of the aspirin family, depending on the %. I find that Tamanu oil is natural and works well without making your skin peel like other harsh acne treatments.

Tamanu oil does not make your skin oily. It actually can make it a bit more dry however it works wonders on scarring and marks. I find that it heals any existing acne. I mix it with a carrier oil, either vitamin E or Jojoba oil. I only use a few drops for my entire face. I put it on at night as it does not work well under makeup, at least for myself. On a good day (with minimal breakouts) I find my skin is glowing and I have been asked several times what kind of skin care products I use.

I have also done a mixture with a bit of tea tree oil, tamanu oil and jojoba oil with a bit of lavender essential oil. It really takes down any red and angry looking break outs and heals them up faster with minimal scarring. Something that I only put on at night as well.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2015 2:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using tamanu oil for about 3 weeks. I have intense post-acne scars on my cheeks, which are dark red/brown, and my skin is pretty light, so the contrast make them very noticeable. Luckily for me, tamanu oil is the first product that made a difference in them, they are turning into a lighter shade and with my foundation on top , they almost disappear. One day I woke up and my boyfriend said that my skin was really changing and beautiful. I have oily skin , but I would recommend this oil to any type of skin. I apply it every night almost everywhere on my face, since it is also good to clear acne, and it won't clog your pores. I read somewhere that it is preferable to apply it after shower/bath when your pores are still open and your skin still a little bit wet. Also , I quit using harsh "unnatural" products and I use now mineral foundation . I changed my cleanser from neostrata oil-free with glycolic acid for lush fresh pharmacy. Hope this helps ( and sorry for my english , I am french).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2015 12:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

UPDATE: had to give it up: eyes started to really hate it somehow and I ended up with WHITE HEADS and active little pimples in places I never break out: cheeks, forehead.
Not impressed. Took a week but skin calmed right after I abandoned this oil

Bought at a rip off price and since found I can get better price.
Four lippies so far because I can't say its not good but I will update in a while.
Supposed to be THE BEST for ACNE and post acne SCARS.
That is the reason I am using it.
I am fairly new to the skin oils thing and have tried some pricey oils (Clarins, bugged my eyes; Nuxe, shady ingredients, NOT natural though I did love the scent and feel and did use it all despite it bugging my eyes a bit; also tried some local all natural face oils from granola hippy people that live around here).
I believe that proper use of face oil is a good plan and most of the planet does.
It's not expensive compared to the price we pay for face care that is pumped out of say L'oreal's numerous factories....

not sure yet as it's only been three weeks, but of all the oils for face out there that I'd call treatment (not base) oils, this seems to be the best for me.
It is supposed to be good for scars, discoloration, UV damage, acne etc
I have had acne and still fight with white heads and finicky skin and scars and discolored skin from treatment.
I now use the tamanu on my damp skin (after my neostrata glycolic toner) at night and first I do a spritz of witch hazel because I've let the toner totally soak in and dry.
then I apply about three or four heavy drops and really work it in for a minute.
For my experiment, I am not diluting it in carrier oil, just using it straight.
I LEAVE IT for 20 minutes then apply my night cream glycolic from neostrata.
I do believe it is helping my skin be less dehydrated from the glycolic and I do feel it is fine for my eyes not being bothered. I don't know yet about the skin improving dramatically.
I have seen a few white heads come very big to surface and then suddenly vanish. THat NEVER happened with other treatments for me.
And I do see that I do not have more or less pimples than usual, just one or two very small, very easy to cope with , not like when I had acne with ten or more big and red.
The SMELL is def a turn off. Even my man said you smell like celery. It's true it does smell like vegetables! LOL Someone reviewed that here and I thought, celery? Really? And she is spot on. So I don't love it during the day, it really sticks around....
I have mixed it one part to three parts grapeseed oil as a facial blend and that is very nice for day time. But the smell....still there.

I will report back on this curious development:
Whiteheads coming up from deep, stubborn very old acne beneath the surface at the sides of my mouth hormone area where things never totally cleared up, I WILL NOT PICK. I will let this run its course. I am hoping the tamanu just slowly takes care of these guys.
I'll update in a few weeks, for those with acne/whiteheads so we can see if this is the acne miracle it's supposed to be.


on 10/15/2014 4:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

update 12/03/2015: I still use this on days where my skin is irritated or tempermental or if a painful small crop of TTOTM zits pop up. I have upped my rating to 5 lippies as this is so darn calming for my skin as a rescue remedy. I never want to be without it. I also found it helpful in healing annoying finger cracks I get along the sides of my fingers when the skin has gotten too dry (hand sanitizer is awful to my skin, but sometimes you just need to use it). I massage this into my sore fingrtips at bedtime and apply a heavy cream and cotton gloves and it seems to accelerate healing of the skin.

***************************************************************************************************************

I have been using this for about 3 weeks now. I have the New Roots brand pure Tamanu oil (with vitamin E as a preservative?). Got it at Whole Foods, 1oz dropper bottle for about 14$ cdn. I needed something to help after straying from my routine with new products that gave me a crop of clogs and zits (one of those products was a reformulated spot treatment that now gives me new spots, the other was a mineral sunscreen that left a tonne of clogged pores that are slowly blossoming into little baby pimples. Argh). I am pleasantly surprised by this oil. It's a pretty moss green colour. Quite thick (not as thick as castor oil) and has a scent almost like old celery/vegetable cripser drawer or very burnt maple sugar. It's honestly not as unpleasant as it sounds, and fades very quickly. I have been appliying about 2-3 drops of tamanu, mixed with 2-3 drops of water to my skin after cleansing morning and night and am quite pleased with the results. Massaging it in, as opposed to just applying it is the key for me. My active acne is fading a bit faster than it would if I wasn't using this (I do use an 8% glycolic at night), and while I am noticing some skin peeling at the sites of old spots, I think it's just skin cell turnover happening a bit faster than normal. My skin tone is a little more even, and even a bit glowy. While I don't think this prevents new acne (I got 3-4 new zits for TTOM), it does help heal them quickly and it's very soothing. It's not a moisturizing oil I find, but am able to apply a bit less moisturizer than I usually do over this. And I think it is helping my nighttime glycolic sink in a bit more than it had been, which in turn is finally bringing up all the clogs I was left with last month when I tried a new sunscreen. I'm not sure I will continue to use this as an all over oil once my skin clears up again (I'm about 75% there now), I will definitely continue to use this as a spot treatment or as needed. I may even add a bit of tea tree oil in a separate phial with this, to specifically use as a spot treament. I also found it great for bug bites and the little scars left behind and supposidly this is good for nail fungus (don't have this, so can't say, but good to know). As with any oils, YMMV. I was quite hesitant to try this despite the rave reviews for acne because it's slightly higher in oleic acid than linoleic acid (which is meant to be lacking in acne prone skin), but I'm really glad I tried this.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2014 1:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this Tamanu oil particularly for my eczema. I suffer from it on my hands, and at times when the itch gets so bad I can't help myself but scratch it, it gets oozy. This oil dries it right up, takes away the itch and burn and heals the eczema patch. It is a bit of a drying oil, so I do find I need to apply a good moisturiser on top (cocoa butter, shea butter or even just olive oil/coconut oil).
I bought it at an outdoor market here on the West Coast of Vancouver BC, Canada. So I think it's a small independent brand, called Healing Scents. The ingredients are 100% pure organic Tamanu Oil. It comes in a pump bottle, which I love, makes it easy to get the desired amount out with no waste. The color is green/gold or amber and the smell is lovely to me. All natural! No artificial chemicals here :) It is reminisce of curry, like another user said. It made me laugh because my boyfriend actually pointed it out when I started using it. Lucky for me, I love curry :) It also smells slightly nutty/earthy. Personally I find the smell fine, I'm more bothered by artificial fragrance in cheap products by mass cosmetic producers like L'Oreal, Lancome etc.
If I get a pimple I put this on overnight and within a day or two it's gone and healing. I have mild rosacea on my cheeks/nose and have dehydrated skin so I think I would find this too drying for the entire face. Maybe I'll try it though and see what happens if I layer another oil on top like Marula etc.
Overall, I would repurchase this. It's wonderful to find something that heals my eczema without having to resort to steroid/cortisol cream!
I would highly recommend anyone with acne to try this on their face, it works wonderfully.
EDIT - 11/14 - I wanted to add that this product is AMAZING for healing rashes and other skin ailments. I recently had a horrible allergic reaction to Dermalogica Essential Cleanser. It broke out my entire face in a red, bumpy, itchy rash. The Dr said it's Contact Dermatitis and will take 2-4 weeks to clear :( I tried a ton of different stuff to heal it and soothe the rash, but nothing was really working. So a few days ago I remembered my Tamanu Oil and that it apparently is good for rashes, so I gave it a shot. Now, 2 days later, the healing is AMAZING! My rash is subsiding and the redness is gone, the welts are still visible but shrinking every day. I am totally in love with this oil and will never be without it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/10/2014 9:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Tamanu oil is worth every drop since I've been using it since late December 2013. I was worried to start using oil to moisturize my skin but I am so glad I went ahead and bought the product. I use to have greasy, clogged, rough, pimply skin. Furthermore I use to have many dark spot/ discoloration from years old acne scars. Now my skin is so hydrated (therefore less greasy) and even toned. I also notice I have less breakout, and clearer pores. Overall my skin looks much healthier! I use this product 5 minutes after getting out of the shower every other day. I noticed using it every day makes my skin over hydrated, oily and thus breakout.

Tamanu is a natural affordable non drugstore product that smells nutty and a herbal. At first the smell was OK to me, but I love the smell now. My middle eastern friend said it reminded me of her mothers herbs. :) My favorite is the Aura Curia brand, but the NOW foods does the job too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 2:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Oh my lord, I looooove this stuff. I bought it on a whim after a review by @acnesufferers on instagram. I honestly didn't expect this to do ANYTHING for my skin, but I was pleasantly surprised. I have finally, FINALLY found an oil that works with my skin and helps combat acne. I suffer from mild cystic acne, and this is the only thing that I have EVER found, that actually heals them. It's not perfect, I still have breakouts, but it really does help a lot. I just can't say enough about this oil. I love it! And I've already bought 2 of them ;)

(For reference, I got the Aura Cacia tamanu oil from iherb.com)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2014 9:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This oil is great for many things. It is green, thick and has a nutty smell. It leave a green colour on my skin. It stings my eyes. But it makes my facial skin smooth, hydrated and helps with some scars I have on my chin. I also use it on my body. Great oil!


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
Turmeric Mask
185 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
Rosehip Seed Oil
107 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
Rosehip Oil
286 Reviews
Unblemish
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top