L'Oreal • Voluminous Million Lashes • Mascara

rated 3.4(892 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 BandNerdChic on 7/27/2014 2:16:00 AM more reviews by BandNerdChic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a first impression that will be updated, but my initial opinion is pretty strong. So you know, my personal tastes in mascaras are for a lengthening and defining mascara - I am not too worried about volume - I am more looking for a feathery, 100% clump less look.

Pros:
Lengthens and separates, but not as much as my HG Dior Diorshow Iconic

Cons:
SMEARS AND SMUDGES AND FLAKES like craaazy. After about 6 hours of wear in moderate heat, my eyes looked like I had been crying and mascara had ran down about a cm, and there was flaking abound.

At this point, the lasting power of this mascara is intolerable. I'll give it another chance, but no me gusta...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maddielaurie on 7/26/2014 3:52:00 AM more reviews by maddielaurie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Just got this 2 days ago and still not sure how I feel about it. I have average lashes and so far they've made them look a lot longer and fuller than my past mascaras. I like the formula as well. So far it's not flakey and doesn't weigh my lashes down at all. Only negative thing I have to say is the brush has short rubbery bristles I don't like that much but they seem to be working so we'll see!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 7/25/2014 1:12:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I gotta say, this is a darned good mascara. I wasn't in love with it at first, but the consistency of the formula seems to have hit its sweet spot in the last week and it's GREAT. My fave mascara is Mally Volumizing, but I'm trying to pinch pennies.

For reference, I have relatively long, curly lashes. Nothing to write home about, but I think whether a mascara works for you has much to do with what the lashes you're born with. What I look for in a mascara is for it to look like I have MORE lashes, fan them out well, and thicken without clumping. Million Lashes adds great volume without getting clumpy after two coats.

The brush is thick, and the rubber bristles are in even rows, not spaced apart like Lash Blast's wand. It's a unique wand, and it took me awhile to figure out how to get great definition with it. Most mascaras have a little learning curve these days since all the brushes are so different, but Million Lashes feels a little fussy to me.

Staying power is fantastic, and it doesn't go anywhere. It stays black as black can get. It flakes a teeny, teeny bit, but the flakes are super tiny and there aren't many. But I wonder how bad it would be if I did multiple coats. Keep that in mind, if you're a multiple coats kinda gal. It will definitely smudge if you rub your eye, and if your eyes water--fuhgeddaboutit! But it's not waterproof, so I can't penalize it for that. Just wanted you to know.

I'll always compare any mascara to Mally's, so it's a lot to live up to. I get great results from Million Lashes, but working with the brush is a little annoying, and I don't like to having to do two coats. So just one star off for it being kind of high maintenance and taking some extra minutes to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lvrgurl77 on 7/25/2014 4:51:00 AM more reviews by lvrgurl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's ok more to define lashes . Does not thicken lashes. Had to go over lashes like 20 times just to be able to see the mascara.. Would not spend $9 again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennic44 on 7/24/2014 3:25:00 AM more reviews by jennic44

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG mascara. I've tried numerous drugstore mascaras but this one is truly the best. It holds curl amazingly well, doesn't flake, doesn't clump, and the brush is easy to use on both top and bottom lashes. I do notice that the waterproof formulation is a bit less emollient than the regular one. I went swimming, wore this around Disney World for hours in heat and humidity, etc. and the waterproof mascara held up the entire time, with no smudging or flaking. I can finally only wear mascara and feel confident!
The packaging is nice looking and it can last a pretty long time without drying out. I'm surprised that there are any negative reviews on here, to be honest. I would definitely recommend at least trying it, although it is on the more expensive side of drugstore mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bdawn on 7/7/2014 1:27:00 AM more reviews by bdawn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised that this mascara has so many poor reviews as I really like it. I recently bought a MAC mascara and a Christian Dior mascara. Both were expensive and both were huge disappointments. Since I couldn't wear either one of them and I needed a mascara I picked this Loreal Voluminous mascara up on a whim one night and was pleasantly surprised.

First of all I've no issues with clumping with this mascara. When I slide the wand out of the tube the lip towards the top seems to really grab the brush and remove the excess mascara so that when I apply there are no gobs or clumps. It gives great length and pretty good volume. I've always found it difficult to find a mascara that excels in both length and volume but this is one of the better ones. It also holds the curl nicely. The MAC mascara that I recently purchased seemed to remove the curl from my lashes but this mascara appears to add curl. I've always heard that curled, mascaraed eyelashes opens up the eyes and makes them bigger. I never really noticed that effect until I used this mascara. Once applied my eyes just look brighter and more awake and my lashes are long and defined.

As with everything there is a couple of cons. First it is a wet formula and therefore easy to make a mess with it while applying. I suddenly blinked hard once while putting this on and Holy Mascara Batman!! It was a disaster. Also the lashes tend to dry a bit stiff and hard making it difficult to apply additional coats. I find I have to brush on all I want in the first application because I can't add more later without difficulty. Overall I consider this mascara a great find for a inexpensive drug store brand and I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SashaKHolt on 7/3/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by SashaKHolt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Simply put, I love this mascara. It takes virtually no effort to attain even, clump-free lashes. I can't remember a time when I've ever needed to go back and separate my lashes or remove clumps after applying it. I've also been asked on occasion if I wear false lashes, which tells me this mascara is doing it's job. It gives the perfect amount of volume and length! **Side note ** It is definitely more "wet" than other mascaras I've used & I've read many reviews that people really don't care for it. I personally have found the extra "moisture" to be a useful feature; it's easier to coat my lashes and the product glides on smoother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 p29003 on 6/23/2014 8:59:00 AM more reviews by p29003

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is oniy average for the price you are paying. I've used the regular Volumnious mascara and liked it, although it wears away in a few hours and you will get panda eyes. This formula is average quality, coverage and staying power. I could get a Maybelline mascara that does the same and pay less. Overall poor overpriced product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 biancabayleaa on 6/16/2014 1:59:00 AM more reviews by biancabayleaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Worst mascara I have ever brought & worn. Being a hairdresser, I'm usually in a hot environment with hair dryers going all the time. The mascara smudged, flaked, didn't volumise, just made me look like a panda after half an hour of wearing. Definitely would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DARBSI on 6/10/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by DARBSI

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There is a lot of great mascaras out there but this is a fantastic drug store brand. Doesn't clump and separation is good. I recommend this if you already have some lashes to work with. Everyone always asks if my lashes are fake when I use this. Never heavy feeling and doesn't flake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products