Urban Decay NAKED


2273 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.


Gunmetal Ingredients: Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate,Polyethylene Terephthalate,Methylparaben,Acrylates Copolymer,Propylparaben Sidecar Ingredients: Polyethylene Terephthalate,Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate,Acrylates Copolymer,Methylparaben,Propylparaben Half Baked Ingredients: Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Talc,Zinc Stearate,Methylparaben,Propylparaben Sin, Smog, Toasted Ingredients: Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate,Methylparaben,Propylparaben Darkhorse, Hustle, Virgin Ingredients: Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate,Phenoxyethanol,Sodium Dehyroacetate,Sorbic Acid Buck Ingredients: Talc,Zinc Stearate,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Phenoxyethanol,Sodium Dehyroacetate,Sorbic Acid Naked Ingredients: Zinc Stearate,Dimethicone,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Magnesium Carbonate,Phenoxyethanol,Sodium Dehyroacetate,Sorbic Acid Creep Ingredients: Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate, Phenoxyethanol,Sodium Dehyroacetate,Sorbic Acid,Tin Oxide All shades may contain: CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), CI 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), CI 77000 (Aluminum Powder), CI 77400 (Bronze Powder), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 lake), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake) Cyclopentasiloxane,C11-12 Isoparaffin,Paraffin,Polybutene,Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil,Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil,Ceresin,Ozokerite,Cera Microcristallina (Microcrystalline Wax),Phenoxyethanol,Tocopherol ,Ascorbyl Palmitate,CI 77491/77492/77499 (Iron Oxides),CI 77019 (Mica) May Contain: CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyandie)

on 10/12/2015 6:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In short I am returning this. Here is a tale about a girl and her neutral eyeshadow adventures:

I requested naked 2 a few years back for Christmas, and was stoked to finally own a naked palette! I used it religiously for a few months--- then less so... Then less so. Then it sat untouched for like 6 months. I forced myself to whip it out again. Sat on the idea of purging it for another 6 months. Eventually I said goodbye to my naked 2 palette. Never a tear was shed.

In the end every "look" I attemped to do blended out into the same muddy mess. Time after time.

I sat on the idea of ever owning a naked palette again. I mean everyone and their mother swears they're amazing. So maybe n2 just wasn't the one for me.

Torn between naked and n3, I bought naked because I loathe chunky glitter... Like loathe it. I hear that is big in n3. And I thought naked would be just a nice neutral essential.

So it took me 2 days to realize how much I hate this palette. Basically for all the same reasons I didn't like naked 2

Like honestly there is 0 versatility.

Open the palette and problem 1-- there is no blending color. Like a bone color or a color like foxy is really lacking. The closest color is naked, but naked is a bit dark-- that's more for contouring the eye IMO (I am nc20). So, confusedly, I set my base with naked-- go to sin, contour more heavily w naked, sidecar on outer two thirds of lid, define outer v with buck, virgin to highlight.

Step back-- the result is a muddy mess. Like a mess. Of just shimmer and pewtery/bronze messiness.

Clean my makeup off-- try the same thing again without first setting the base with naked (I take note that sin, although swatches well, has like no pigmentation on my lids).

Again, muddy dead, flat, shimmery mess.

I pop some half baked into the center of the lid to draw a little bit of light. An improvement. But did I really just pay $55 for this? I used 5 shadows and my eye is just a mess of bronze shimmer. I'm not a noob to eyeshadow...

Ok ok. I whip out my NYX base in white. Throw a white base onto my lid. Start the look over. Still noting how sin is just not showing on my lids...

Wash it off. Try the look again but with toasted instead of sin. Somehow end up with the same result. Define outer v with dark horse instead of buck, same result (just cooler/more shimmer)...

You get the point. Long story longer-- every single look looks exactly the same. Just muddy, bronze shimmer.

I think the naked palette appeal is just lost on me (barring naked basics. I LOVE THAT ISH!!)

To make sure it wasn't just me, I went onto youtube and looked up a bunch of videos on naked palette "looks"

A- every look looks the same
B- it's not that great.

So yes back to the store it goes. Debating on replacing it with too faced chocolate bar or lorac pro--

This palette came out 5 years ago and at the time there wasn't much else out like it. I have a theory that has a lot to do with the rave reviews---

I wonder if it came out today, how well would it rate against all the other options-- since every last company has a neutral palette now. Drugstore to high end and everything in between.

on 9/13/2015 6:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

(Naked 1) Great pigmentation definitely worth the money i use the virgin color as a highlighter and it works amazing

on 9/7/2015 5:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pros -
Gorgeous packaging (naked 1)
Nice selection of shades
It's just handy having a palette rather than scrabbling around for multiple individual eyeshadows

Good value for money

Cons -

The fall out! I always use primer & I've not experienced this issue with other shadows (the MUA dupe for example), but I end up with glitter everywhere when I use this.

I also don't find the colour pay off that fantastic.

I'm not sure I'd repurchase, although it's so handy to have all those neutrals in palette form. I held off purchasing for so long as I felt like it was overhyped & I think my initial suspicions were correct. It's nice, but not amazing.

on 9/3/2015 4:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

( This is a review of naked 3)

I have to admit that I accidentally bought a replica, for seventeen bucks on eBay, I figured it could possibly be fake but you know what? I compared it to my sisters authentic palette and the one I have is really, really great!!!

The colours are beautiful , as is the colour payoff ! This is a really well rounded palette and I imagine there is something in there for everyone. Even beginners to eye shadow can achieve a beautiful look with these super easy to use brushes and blendable shadow .

Next time I will buy the real one as I admire urban decays commitment to not test on animals .

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I get it. I get the hype. I love this palette. I'm a big fan of neutral eyeshadows. UD shadows are gorgeous: good pigment, easy to blend. I wish there were more matte shades in this palette, but that's OK. I literally do reach for this pretty much every day. This palette started my love for all the UD naked palettes. I have them all, and I love them all, but I think this one is my favorite and the one I use the most often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/25/2015 2:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this palette!! I love the colors and the texture of the eyeshadows.. They blend really well and does last on the eyelid far as I have observed. They are really pigmented and creamy to apply! I think I like this more than my naked 2.. but then again I might like both of them equally!! Worth the money in the end although I think they could bring down the price a litter more.. think its a little expensive.

on 8/20/2015 9:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This was actually the last urban decay palette i bought i had been given the other three as gifts and was just missing this one so i went out and purchased it and i haven't looked back since i personally love a good nude and brown palette and this is by far one of the best. Each color can be use unlike other palettes where you'd never dream of using some colors. This palette can be used for crearing a simple matte white lid with a defined crease, simple smokey eye to the biggest and most dramatic smokey eye and cut crease. This product is even better as it comes with a decent brush unlike most palettes it also gives you a sample of their primer potion one of my personal favourite primes this and nyx milk are the perfect base to creating amazing looks with this palette.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love all 3 of my naked palettes! can't wait to get my hands on the smokey palette. very pigmented but a couple of the colors have bad fall out which is expected for the shimmery/sparkly ones. love love love. hate the brush that comes with all of them. stiff and pokey. not a fan.

on 8/18/2015 10:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Loved the colors included, however, I ended up mostly using the first 5 or 6, so I have hit pan on those without touching the last few very often. Would not repurchase and would instead buy colors sportily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/18/2015 3:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I think I'm in the minority when I say I hated this palette. I bought it, played around with it for a few weeks, then returned it when I realised it was not the palette for me. I'm neutral toned, so I didn't think the warm tones would be a problem, but all of the colours looked horrible on me. I really wanted to love this palette but I just couldn't! I owned the Naked 3 before I bought this one and I adore that palette so much more. After returning the Naked palette, I ended up buying a palette from Superdrug that is considered to be a dupe. It's the MUA Undressed palette and I really like that one!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Video Reviews & Tutorials

How to Look Like Kim Kardashian- Smoky & Glowy Makeup Tutorial- Naked Palette! by OMGigi

Bronzed Naked Palette Tutorial! by fashionista804

New Year's Eve & Party Smokey Makeup Tutorial! 2015 by Angie Wilches

Urban Decay Naked Palette Neutral Tutorial by ShyGirlBeauty

Top Rated Urban Decay Products



143 reviews

Vice 2

45 reviews


331 reviews

Half Baked

197 reviews
Back to Top