Nivea • Essential Care • Lips

rated 4.3(67 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Steph7 on 4/5/2014 7:40:00 AM more reviews by Steph7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Have been using this for years! Can't live without it! So soothing on the lips and lovely clean packaging and scent free product. I buy multiples so that I have one lying around at all times! Great for smoothing on the nose if chapped during cold and flu season too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissKayleyKay on 4/3/2014 3:39:00 AM more reviews by MissKayleyKay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

HG lip balm for sure given the price, accessibility and formula that really works. I've tried more brands and products to deal with chapped lips than I want to admit.
Been using it off and on for a few years but this winter I've completely stuck to this on overnight, sometimes with a layer of Vaseline over top. I live in the north and I used to always battle chapped lips especially In the corners. This winter, I haven't struggled with that flakey burny mess except for the time I had wind burn from spending hours without balm on me out in the -39 with wind chill...but I deserved that one. When I use this every night, I can even use drying lip stains without a problem. It's definitely not a sexy product, likely not one you want to kiss someone with but it totally works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckylouie on 3/13/2014 10:06:00 AM more reviews by luckylouie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent no frills lip balm that protects lips from harsh weather and works well under matte lpsticks. The lack of sunscreen ingredients is a plus in my case as there are a couple of commonly added sunscreen ingredients that I am allergic to. I don't have particularly dry lips so I don't know how it works for someone with dry cracked lips, but it's enough for me during a hot australian summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheBanker on 1/6/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by TheBanker

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've used various lip balms over time. I recently picked up this one at Boots for about £1 ($1.64) and I have enjoyed using it.

On first impressions, the lip balm is aesthetically pleasing. It looks great and the packaging is very appealing. The first time I used it I noticed it was a little thick however this means you only need to spread it on your lips once or twice to get the effect. I woke up this morning with very dry lips, applied it several times (about 3 or 4) throughout the day, allowing the balm to sink in each time, and now I have very smooth lips. I also acquired a crack on my bottom lip the other day and this has helped with healing it. The product works great! There is also a faint smell but personally I like it. Others might not. Sometimes I like to rub the product into my lips and the wax doesn't stick to my fingers which is brilliant!

However the product will only work if you're not going to be doing anything involving your lips (i.e. eating) for a couple of hours. This is because the balm takes a while to sink in and wipes off easily, however, as long as your lips won't be touching anything for a while the product will work well! Your lips also get a slightly glossy look when using the product. As long as you only apply one coat it will be fine, any more and it will look over-done. I personally prefer a natural look and don't like the shiny look but others may disagree and prefer glossy look. The balm also melts a little when it's in my pocket all day. I am getting through the product rather quickly and I'll have to buy another one in a couple of months but the smooth lips I get after using it mean I will purchase it again.

To conclude, the pros weigh out the cons mainly due to the fact the balm does its job very well and the smooth lips you get are irresistible! I recommend this product to anyone with dry lips looking for a new lip balm.

Note: After some research I discovered this product is branded in the USA as "Nivea A Kiss of Moisture Essential Care" and in Canada as "Nivea Essential". I have no idea if all the products are identical or if there are some minor differences but they seem to be more or less the same.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rubymm on 12/28/2013 11:58:00 AM more reviews by Rubymm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this lip balm but if have a few problems with it! It kinda feels like wax on my lips by the time it's almost finished! It also is really messy because it scrapes on the sides when you twist it up and down! It's okay I liked it better at the start when I first got it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Azura2000 on 11/17/2013 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Azura2000

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I was a bit disappointed that I hadn't just stuck to a baby lips.

PROS

The packaging is really good. Solid, dependable and unique. A bit like a lipstick which is quote nice. I like the simplicity of it and it is a very nice shade of blue.

The product itself is top quality.
It is clear. It is easy to apply, not too solid, not too creamy. It is soothing on your lips and lasts for ages as long as you don't wipe it off while eating or something. It also makes your lips slightly shiny which I is good to wear to school or something. It's not as full on as lip gloss but still just noticeable.

You must be wondering why I was disappointed in it then.

CONS

I was disappointed by the smell. It's meant to be odorless but the smell is sort of chemically, I don't find it pleasant and prefer the smell of baby lips.
Also with baby lips I used to carry it round in my pocket at school all day and it was fine, but this melted and I just tried to put some on and a big glob of the stick came off on my lips yuck!

Also it won't last long, I've only been using this for two days and the sticks already noticeably shorter.
Oh we'll, that means I won't have to wait too long till I can get baby lips again. (I want to use it all up before I buy another one as it costs me a whole weeks pocket money)

Still a great product but don't carry it round in your pocket all day. And it won't last very long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifnisanders on 10/12/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by lifnisanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Amazing stuff, it makes your lips feel so smooth and ive been using this stuff for a month! The packaging is great i always carry it in my pocket! It doesnt have any color or taste. Always use this before you go to bed so your lips wont dry by the time you wake up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nikki620 on 9/18/2013 2:59:00 PM more reviews by nikki620

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing lip balm! Smooth, creamy and moisturizes your lips for a long time! Gives a nice subtle glossy look too. Great as a primer for lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nicola21 on 6/17/2013 3:51:00 PM more reviews by Nicola21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my go to lip chap, I always have a tube with me where ever I go, and I mean ALWAYS. I've tried hundreds of lip products and this one is my favourite it really makes my lips feel moisturized. I really wish it had cuter packaging because I'm a sucker for things like that but Its the product that really counts so I will probably keep buying this forever and forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Selly03 on 4/28/2013 6:50:00 PM more reviews by Selly03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This lip balm is fantastic and If you haven't tried it then buy it!! I assure you, you cant go wrong with this lip balm.

I have tried A LOT of lip balms ranging in price from $2 - $40 but the Nivea Essential Care is the best one I have used. Plus its only a few dollars and lasts a long time!!!!

I always go back to this lip balm. No matter how dry and cracked my lips are, this will fix it. It also feels great on my lips as its nice and creamy which I find soothing when my lips are really dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nivea products

More Lips products