Supergoop! Face and Body Moisturizer Spf 30+

3.3

22 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Doctor T's SUPERGOOP SPF30 EVERYDAY FACE & BODY MOISTURIZER with PARSOL 1789 PLUS. VERY WATER RESISTANT with ANTIOXIDANTS. UVA & UVB Protection for Sensitive Skin. NO PARABENS, NO OXYBENZONE, NO FRAGRANCES. A Thaggard, MD.--- ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Homosalate (10%), Octisalate (5%), Avobenzone (3%), Octocrylene (2.8%). --- INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Water (Aqua), Diethylhexyl 2,6-Naphthalate (Sunscreen Stabilizer), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Acrylates/C12-22 Alkyl Methacrylate Copolymer (Waterproofing), Dimethylpolysiloxane (Mineral Based), Acrylates Copolymer, Polysilicone-15, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Cyclotetrasiloxane, Glycerin (Plant Derived), Sodium Polyacrylate, Ethylhexylglycerin (Plant Derived Preservative), Dimethiconol, Aminomethyl Propanol, Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Acetate), Vaccinium Angustifolium (Blueberry) Fruit Extract, Helianthus Annus (Sunflower) Seed Extract, Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C Palmitate), Lecithin, Glyceryl Stearate (Plant Derived), Behenyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid (Plant Derived), Cetyl Alcohol (Plant Derived), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (Plant Derived), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A Palmitate), Alcohol, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate --- Ingredients identical for the 1.6 oz EVERYDAY UV SLIM TRAVEL TUBE, 5 oz ALL-OVER EVERYDAY UV REFILLABLE SPRAY, and 24 oz ALL-OVER UV EVERYDAY PUMP


on 1/23/2015 11:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Sticky and... just no.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product claims to be without nasties but it made my facial skin shiny, irritated and itchy. The tube makes it easy to spurt out way more than you need as the liquid is quite thin.

On the positive side, it is thin and absorbs easily. It smells good and doesn't leave a white cast, so if you have very dry skin that is not sensitive, you may even like this.

UPDATE: In an effort not to waste this product which didn't work on my face, I tried using it on my arms - still itchy!

Last ditch effort to use it on my legs and feet - I only remembered that I HAD a couple of days later when my legs felt uncontrollably itchy. I have never known a product to create senstitivity in my legs. Absolutely unforgivable. I guess "Supergoop" is not an ironic name.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2014 6:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have thin, sensitive skin, that reacts poorly to most sunscreen. I use this as a daily moisturizer, and sunscreen (I use cellex-c if I need something more heavy duty). It is amazing! This lotion does not make me break out... Not even on my face. The only issue is that it is slightly expensive, and was very hard to find. The huge Nordstrom in downtown Chicago had only 1 bottle, which is ridiculous considering that it is a huge store in a major metropolitan area, in the beginning of summer. Anyway, I digress. This is a nice product. Try it! If you can find it, that is.


on 3/12/2013 5:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this from the Space NK website (not the factor 30 but factor 50), it had mixed reviews but it was billed as good for sensitive skin.

OMG, it make my skin BURN. In the beginning it felt fine, non greasy and comfortable. Within 4-5 days I had small bumps on my face, then my whole face turned red and scaly, now I'm peeling.

NEVER EVER BUY THIS.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2012 8:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE 2/28/2015
After wearing this for a few months, I threw it away.
I came to realize that it actually has glitter/shimmer particles in it, which is not something I want or need in my sunscreen.
Also, it badly stained my car and a leather handbag.
I prefer my Banana Boat sunscreen.

ORIGINAL REVIEW:
I've been using this for at least a month. I bought a big jug of it at Ulta. I purchased it based on the fact that it is made without a lot of the toxic ingredients found in drugstore brands, but the price is very reasonable.

It works very well and did not break me out, but the downside is that it's very sticky. Other reviewers have said that it aborbs in time, but I did not find this to be the case. In this dry winter weather, it does dry down to the point where it just leaves my skin looking hydrated. But in warmer weather, I felt like it never dried or absorbed.

My skin is normal and not prone to excessive shine; however, I used to have very oily skin and I know that I would not want this on my face if my skin tended toward shine. It's your typical heavy sunscreen consistency.

But with my dry-ish winter skin, I find it works great under makeup. Still, I'll be looking for something lighter and less sticky for my next sunscreen purchases.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/10/2012 5:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wish I could say more good things about this - but I just can't. Granted, there are several formulas, and I only tried one - the SPF 30 Face and Body - but I can definitely say I am completely underwhelmed. The product sinks in, but leaves my skin very shiny. I think the sun protection is decent, but I felt greasy. The big problem, though, was how my skin behaved over time. I went through 2 bottles, wanting to give it a decent chance, and I'm sorry I did. I broke out some, but the worst was that my face just looked congested all over, with larger than usual pores and a definite loss of glowiness, mostly because I then overcompensated by over cleansing!
Like I said - just not impressed. And the price is ridiculous. I went back to my usual Aveeno - half the price, twice the product, better performance.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/6/2012 3:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love SuperGoop! I couldn't find it in CVS so I bought one bottle cheap off Amazon for $17. I was reading about it in a magazine and I liked the name and I needed something like this for the summer. It works well. It's not greasy and it does the job. Check out the article:

http://www.lipulse.com/health-beauty/article/slow-the-signs-of-aging


on 3/12/2012 10:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product from the Space NK website thinking that it was sure to be a good quality product due to it's high price and the credibility of the store. I was very disappointed to find that first of all, the cream smelled unpleasant and second of all, the texture was not as light as promised in the product description. Much to my dissatisfaction, this SPF cream actually caused my skin to sting and has made the surface of the skin on my face flake - obviously an allergic reaction. I do not have particularly sensitive skin and have used all different SPF creams as moisturisers and never had a problem like this. This was a sale item, however, when I purchased it and I think this is probably why. Would not recommend this to anyone, even at it's sale price (original price 25)!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Its sticky, makes my face looks oily. I have to use makeup primer after using it. I like Peter Thomas Roth Uber Dry than this one :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2011 11:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like this product as a body sunscreen, primarily for myself and my kids at the beach. It goes on clear, isn't too thick, spreads easily, and is tenacious in water. I've found it protects us well from burning/tanning/pigmentation even on very hot and sunny days. I agree with other reviewers who feel it's not the best choice for the face because it is a little sticky/shiny (though since I don't care about that at the beach, I do use it on my face there). It does have a "sunscreeny" scent, but to my nose, it's quite faint and doesn't linger, so it doesn't bother me.


Another reviewer mentioned that this s/s has a low PPD. I'm not sure what the PPD is, but Supergoop does contain stabilized avobenzone, so I surmise it at least has a higher PPD than all-physical s/s. It is also free of the controversial ingredients oxybenzone and retinyl palmitate. In the US, it's extremely difficult to find a stabilized avo sunscreen without oxybenzone; the only other one I'm aware of is Coppertone Ultraguard spf 30. My guess is the two products are similar in terms of protection. Since I avoid oxybenzone, especially for my kids, I'm satisfied with this product and will repurchase.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top