LUSH • Colour Supplement • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(132 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 megsmcc on 12/17/2014 4:50:00 PM more reviews by megsmcc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This review is for Light Yellow. I'm a white girl on the pale side with yellow tones, and Light Yellow is a 100% perfect match for me.

I'll admit I was dubious about this product when I bought it, because it's so dang small, and I couldn't imagine I'd get more than a couple weeks' use out of it. But I'm happy to report that this will last me MONTHS, and I love it! You only need a tiny bit. It blends really well and doesn't oxidize--I've never had it turn orange or dark.

Now, there are cons; it's not perfect. First of all, it's a natural product and since it's not full of chemicals, it can tend to get shiny and sink into creases by the afternoon. I find that this effect can be mitigated with a light dusting of powder in the morning and some quick blotting late in the day. The other annoying thing about it is the packaging. You have to stick either your fingers or your foundation brush directly into the pot. Not too sanitary. I've taken to storing the little pot upside down in order to collect the product on the lid, and then the next morning I can dab my brush into the lid and it's basically just the right amount for my whole face. However, there are still germs being transferred, and I really wish they could find a way to stick this in a tube.

But back to the good stuff: I love how the color is buildable, and how well it sinks into my skin and looks natural. I also like mixing it with a touch of moisturizer (I use Skin's Shangri La) on the weekends when I don't want as much coverage and want to look "fresher". Applying it with the brush gets super even, perfect coverage; however, it also goes on pretty thick with a brush and definitely looks like makeup, so when I want a more natural look I just dab a few dots all over my face and rub it in with my fingers.

Best of all, there is no crap (and tons of awesome ingredients) in this foundation, so I've found I can even sleep in it with no ill effects. Skin doesn't break out or look dull. Great for those late nights when I can't be bothered to do my wash/tone/moisturize routine.

I will definitely repurchase this as long as they make it. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gudewife on 12/13/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by gudewife

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this. I am glow-in-the-dark pale, especially in winter, and this is NOT yellow or orange on me. I usually use mineral powder foundation, but my skin is just getting too dry in the winter for powder alone, and this stuff is brilliant. Light-ish coverage, I dab on and blend with a flat powder brush, then add a small bit of mineral powder to set. The smell takes some getting used to (slightly sour and oat-y), but worth it. I have a spare stored in the fridge in case I run out. Also, I bought a small painter's mixing trowel and scopp out what I need, mixing with moisturizer on a homemade palette if needed. Less mess, more sanitary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Okiidoke on 10/13/2014 9:29:00 PM more reviews by Okiidoke

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I have very sensitive, very pale skin. I'm always looking for the perfect match for my skin tone because usually I find the correct lightness but there's always a yellow undertone and I have more of a peach undertone so I never find a coverup I like. Plus everything I found was too cakey in the past. When I went into lush and found this product I immediately gravitated to the shade Jackie Oats, the lightest shade. The sales guy said he thought light pink was more my colour so we tried a small amount on each cheek and sure enough light pink was just slightly too dark. Jackie oats was perfect ! I bought it and a few weeks later tried it out for my graduation... At first I found it too thick by itself. It left cakey residue. But I took some of my cosmetic lad moisturizer and put that on top and it blended perfectly! It got rid of the redness in my face and even gave my skin a dewy glow. It looked healthy and felt so light and heavenly. This is perfect if you pair it with a moisturizer, otherwise you may find it too thick. It also comes with quite a bit because a little goes a long way, so I really don't think I will be finished this by the expiry date. My only bone to pick with this product is that there aren't many dark colours. I don't need it myself but it was impossible for my best friend to find her shade because everything was fair-medium toned. It would be nice if they had a more diverse set of tones.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 10/9/2014 10:52:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I went out and bought this because I had a LUSH card and I read the review a couple slots down that suggested it for pale, dehydrated, sensitive skin...and, as usual, MUA did not lead me astray! I'm a huge foundation junkie and I've tried everything under the sun that even remotely seems like it would work with my skin type, but I always shied away from Jackie Oates because I felt the staying power would not be ideal. However, it stays comfortable AND stays put for most of the day. Really, really pleasantly surprised.

Took off a lippie because it performs just absolutely horribly over my sunscreen, but I'm OK with that -- this isn't a full coverage product so I'm likely to use it on skin-relaxation days anyway when I give my face a sunscreen break. And that way I can have the nice soothing ingredients next to my skin. Multitasking!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ladyhecate1992 on 9/29/2014 10:12:00 AM more reviews by Ladyhecate1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is surprisingly incredible. I went vegan around 8 months ago and I was looking everywhere for a foundation that was not only not tested on animals and completely vegan, but that actually worked, I tried a couple of "natural" foundations and they were all a big fat joke, and none of the higher coverage vegan cruelty free foundations were what anyone would call good for your skin. then I found Lush's colour supplement, I thought I had hit the jackpot, unfortunately my skin colour is too light for any of the vegan colour supplements and the only one available in my skin shade was Jackie Oates, the ONLY colour supplement that wasn't vegan due to it containing lanolin -,- just my luck. I quarreled with myself for a week or so over this, because I really like Lush and everything they stand for and I wanted so badly to try this, from what I had read it seemed like a much more nourishing and natural skin foundation than typical chemically infused foundation and tinted moisturiser blends, while still providing good coverage, being the crunchy gal I am, this was truly torture. I decided to go ahead and buy it anyway, despite the lanolin in the product, I'd rather give my money to a company like Lush over say Nars *cough shiseido cough*, Mac or even The Body Shop *cough L'oreal, and I'm very very glad I did. This stuff is the best, and being a more naturally derived product I shamefully admit I was expecting it to suck a**. WRONG. It sits on my skin better than any other foundation or tinted moisturiser I have ever used, it lasts ALL day when I use with concealer and powder without budging ONCE. Applying this over moist skin without concealer or powder and it perfectly melts into my face, I apply with my fingers and rubbing it in like it's moisturiser works best I've found, and when it's all rubbed in it just looks like it's my skin, but better. I've never had much luck with tinted moisturizers, and most foundations wreak havoc on my sensitive skin, but this stuff is AMAZEBALLS. I don't have to use primer, just a bit of coconut oil on my clean face and VOILA, china doll skin. I love this stuff, I'm really hoping Lush can reformulate this without the lanolin while still keeping the same quality, for me that is the only con.


EDT: After researching toxic chemicals in skin care and makeup products I was forced to face the reality that was reading the ingredients list on my makeup products, as it turns out Lush's "natural" motto, isn't so natural after all, I have news for you Lush, adding beetroot, carrot juice and oats to your creations does not dismiss the hazards from the multiple chemicals you add and it definitely does not a natural product make! This skin supplement contains parabens, PARABENS! (methylparaben and propylparaben to be exact) which are absorbed by the skin, causing endocrine disruption and have been found in biopsies in breast tumors. No. thank. you. Their Veganise conditioner also contains Sulfates and silicones, so much for natural. Your best off DIY'ing. Very very disappointing. I give this 3 stars because while it does work very well, it's a complete lie in advertising. There are many other foundations and tinted moisturisers on the market that are cruelty free and actually made from naturally derived ingredients. (and are paraben free). I'll be looking into those instead. Bubye Lush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PureSimple on 9/21/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by PureSimple

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have sensitive, pale, mature skin. I can't wear silicone or SPFs so my range of choices for tinted moisturizer is pretty narrow.

Lush Jackie Oats appealed to me because of the ingredients and the perfect match shade for my skin. I have found it to be a bit too oily for Summer weather in VA. I can use it on my dry areas for a light conceal, but my nose and chin shine quickly even with translucent powder.

However in the Winter it is my go-to quick product to get me out the door when I don't have time to do full make up. Jackie Oats makes my skin feel and look hydrated and has just enough color to even out my skin tone. One tip, I have learned that the product dries out and when it dries out it makes a great concealer. I put a tiny amount in a smaller container and use it for concealing around my nose year around. I have drier skin there and it works nicely to conceal and not be flakey.

If you have pale, sensitive skin and find yourself parched in the winter months give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nicolarob on 8/31/2014 1:06:00 AM more reviews by nicolarob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVELOVELOVE this! Was tired of putting stinky, weird chemicals on my face everyday, so I wanted something more natural for day-to-day wear. Mix it with moisturiser/a light sunscreen for a light coverage, or I use it straight as an undereye concealer. It looks SO natural! I look like I'm wearing nothing and just have naturally wonderful skin! It also feels like i have nothing on, which is really important to me as I hate feeling like I've caked on makeup. Not bad on price, the tub is a bit small, but a little goes a loooooonngggg way.

Overall, very, very happy and will 100% buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Natitashii on 7/4/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by Natitashii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Not impressed with this at all.. I've tried to like it but it just doesn't have enough colour for me and i find that it just looks patchy and dry even though its a tinted moisturiser kind of thing. I would not buy it again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KiddieLitre on 6/19/2014 3:51:00 PM more reviews by KiddieLitre

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not too sure about this product.

I have sensitive/combination skin with HUGE pores on my cheeks and nose and this stuff just seems to sink right into them :( I really wanted to like this.
I bought it in Jackie Oates and Light yellow. The Light Yellow seems to be a little worse at showing the bad texture of my skin/seeping into pores as it has a different formulation than the Oates.

I'm going to lay off and try again when my skin is in better condition.

For now, 2/5 lippies! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JoieDeLaMusique on 6/17/2014 8:53:00 PM more reviews by JoieDeLaMusique

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very impressed with this product. I have extremely sensitive combo skin and it's hard for me to find a foundation that is gentle and more on the natural side. I stopped into Lush to try it out and am pleasantly surprised! I always get some shine in my T-zone during the day but I just blot and I'm all set. The color stays on well during the day and is a nice medium coverage. Way to go, Lush! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Tinted Moisturizer products